Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
38
3.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 September 2012
Not a RTS for those looking for that or fast action game play. This is a turn based game.
It is essentially the Risk board game against AI players. It is a good implementation with reasonable and pleasing graphics. The rules and logic are those of the original Risk board game and includes the extra army cards. It is so close to the original board game that it even includes the tedious but necessary step of placing extra armies on the map in the first stages. Those new to the game should just place the armies and get on to the game, it gets better.
I really enjoyed playing it for the nostalgia and of course winning.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
I grew up playing WADDINGTONS RISK!
Christmas wasn't Christmas without a world war here, there and in Kamchatka! GREAT STUFF

The app version based on RISK is good, and has all the merits of the original game.
But, the computer always wins on strategy!!!

I must UP my game strategy, what it has done has made me get the original game of RISK down from the attic, in doing so introducing my Boys to want to DOMINATE the WORLD!

PROS::
Great Game
Has all aspects of the original game of RISK

CONS::
Depending on the SIZE of screen you are using this game is either GREAT or awful

Only feally a single player game - but assume you can play with other players

IDEA::
Would be GREAT if you could play ONLINE or via BLUETOOTH between 2 3 or 4 tablets or phones.
Now that would be AWESOME
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
... to when I played it as a board game. This is good representation of the board game and enables you to play the "classic" versions as well as the more modern ones (which I never really liked...). There aren't any instructions on how to play the game, so you'll need to be a "old timer" and already know the rules. Downloaded and worked first time on my kindle hd
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
If you enjoy the classic board game 'Risk', then you will enjoy this app.

The gameplay and rules are very similar, and the AI players provide a challenging game. The graphics are great, and the controls are simple to use.

This strategy game is turn based, and the basic premise is to conquer Countries, Continents and the World. On your turn you can reinforce your armies, battle your opponent and redeploy you troops.

Highly recommended for fans of Risk, and also for those not familiar. For the latter the game may take a little while to master, but if you persevere this app will provide hours of enjoyment.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
This is an immensely enjoyable app on Kindle Fire and recommended for all Classic Risk fans. It has a novel selection of alternative maps to play on too which brings new elements of fun to the proceedings in the Theatre of War that is Risk.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
To be fair I hated this so much I didn't play for long, but it just seemed silly. We tried playing with 2 players, but there is no way to know 'who' you are, which colour you are using and the second player never seemed to get the chance to play. The start when you place armies is slow and looooong!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
Ok, so those unfamiliar with Risk may be a little confused to start with, but there is a manual so perhaps those complaining about lack of instruction should try reading that first. This implementation of the game works very well on the Kindle. Throw in all the tried and tested game modes and a variety of maps and what's not to love? Be warned, though, even at default difficulty the AI is pretty challenging and you may find yourself losing hours in search of that elusive victory.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
Excellent. Just like the original board game. Good clear easy to follow instructions. Just click on the ? at the bottom left of the screen.

Has loads of different options for changing the settings, levels, number of different als, abilities and speed of play from normal to lightning to instant.

Really enjoyed playing it and would recommend it to anyone of all ages.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
The game works fine. Had no issues with using diff we rent maps and modes. But found the dice rolls almost entirely against me all the time. Ten games I had tried and only won once because of the uneven rolls. Many times 18 against 10 or lower constantly lose the rounds. Different maps are cool though. Still agitating due to rolls. Fix that and will probably be upped to a three or four.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
Easy to use,the AI is quite good for an app, the different views available make it better than other versions of risk. I played
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)