Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 October 2011
I purchased two of these fittings to install in my workshop. They arrived in good time and the protective packaging was well done.

The fitting:
The main body and diffuser are constructed of what appears to be a polycarbonate type material, so very robust to knocks. Each fitting includes fixing brackets and water resistant glands to allow cable entry/exit, plus a couple of clips to attach to the component tray to allow it to hang whilst connections are made. There are 10 clips to secure the diffuser to the main body. Screws and rawlplugs for fixing.

Installation:
This was relatively easy. Fix two clips to the ceiling and the main body clips in to them allowing for some end-to-end sliding adjustment. If installation within a conduit system or where cable entry from either end is intended, it may be wise to drill out any access holes as necessary before fixing. The connector is located at one end. Once connected, the main tray is clipped into place, as is the diffuser.

Pros:
- An OK fitting.
- Relatively easy to install.
- Electronic ballast unit (no problms with starters) and almost no flickering when switched on.

Cons: (hence the 4 stars)
- Could be a little less expensive.
- Although the main tray has clips to allow it to hang, the diffuser does not. So when you need to change a tube you have to remove the diffuser completely.
- The diffuser clips are quite fiddly to insert but are ok once fastened. Tip: insert the diffuser clips before fixing the base.
- The end caps which connect to the fluorescent tubes are made of the lightest materials and don't seem to be of good design. Whilst twisting a tube into place one of the black inserts in an end cap connector fell out exposing very thin contacts, easy to reinsert but not a very positive fit.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
Fitting Diy was simple. However the first time is going to be slower. Tips.... Attach all the plastic retaining clips before hanging light. Retaining clips are plastic and not metal as shown in photo. For indoor use should be fine. Not aware of the uv protection for clips but they are flexible so unlikely to go brittle. Comes with two sylvanian tubes in good condition. I am not surprised they get smashed on deliveries as they are in cardboard attached to outer box of lamp fitting. Be a good idea for seller to put them inside the lamp as plenty of room. The light is silent and bright enough for my kitchen. I have it over sink rather than in middle of ceiling. Fitted a new pendant fitting and ran cable to light. The quality of this item is very good considering the low price. Very easy to fit. Make sure you bend in a little the two metal clips you attach to ceiling as they are not quite closed enough and you may find like me you have to catch the lamp while fitting. One up its going to stay for many years. I got a waterproof fitting because i have a bath directly above. The kit comes with a proper waterproof cable inlet. See photo for fixings i used. I used two metal cavity fixings and two screws which went into wooden joist.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
I bought this item to put up in my Man-Cave as I do a lot of craftwork and DIY in the evenings. Very easy to assemble with easy to follow instructions. I had never fitted anything like this before and am not a confident person when it comes to electricity but the ease of use helped me overcome this without seeking the usual help from the brother-in-law.
Gives off a good amount of light and is perfect for what I need.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
Didn't really need a water proof lamp but it was for my garage so the extra protection to the bulb would be a benefit, it was very easy to fit (instructions included) and when switched on is very quick to start up
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
I bought this to place in the loft as i had been using an extension lead with 60w bulb.
It arrived on time and was well packaged. The light fitting was easy to put together and fit in the loft. NB I do have experience of electrical wiring and am a competant Diyer.
The light from it is excellent and lights up the loft of a 3 bed semi a LOT better that a 60w bulb.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
Have just fitted these 3 fittings in the loft, to replace some 40year old ones. i am well pleased with there Quality & ease of fitting, & will be ordering some more later this year for the garage. Top product
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
When I removed the cover to wire in the terminal block as you would small screw driver undo small screw push wire in and turn screw to tighten the wire every time i tried to power up the dam light would not so i removed it from its fixing and noticed that the block connection had a crack or it was just to thin and the screw kept falling out good job I had a spare in the tool shed never mind
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
this is a 5 star light,if there is 1 criticism,it's lack of instructions for the diy? But don't be put off as this is a very good light, for a very cheap price, and you do figure out how to put it together.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2015
A general all round good product for the money paid
PROS
Easy to install
Easy to wire up
Easy to install/change tubes
Immediate start up, no flickers or buzzing sounds
Nice and compact
Quite robust and appears to be waterproof

CONS
A bit bendy so needs to be installed on a flat surface so that the cover seals
Poor assembly instructions, diagrams not very clear. For example inside the lamp there are two ties with clips and it doesn't say what they are for. I assumed that once the back of the lamp was installed the clips and ties hold the lamp holder and starter late up so that the wiring can be installed easily? Worked for me anyway and once figured out for myself easy to install.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
Even though the delivery was late and had to chase it up. Im really happy with the product. Light is powerful good for outdoors strong. Really good value for money. Will recommend it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)