Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 November 2011
This rattled a bit when delivered - confirming that it was `flat-packed' and the frame/fittings were loose inside the tub.
My experience wasn't the best; as part way through the assembly, the nasty thing attacked me, biting my leg. The assembly time doesn't include that taken to swear at it and bandage my leg

I think the person who put this together in a quarter of an hour was a bit of a genius - it took me over an hour. Although that does include the time to work out what was what. Helpfully the nuts and bolts were shrink wrapped onto a card - unhelpfully, the instructions were all wrong:-
Step one - take two bolts - (where are they?), no step one on the card.
Modified step one:- count the number of bolts, count the number of holes and see if they match - they do.
Step two:- ignore step one and use any bolts in any hole - except the two hexagonal bolts which go on the steering (they are out of sight on the finished cart).
Step three: - bandage leg after violent attack (you can miss this step if you have a more friendly cart).
Step four: - follow the instructions from now on as they do work.

Problems: - Most of the bolts are round head slotted types. The nuts are all Ny-lock, self locking, anti-vibration type. Great. No nuts falling off in use. The only thing is - the Ny-locks resist turning; and with only a screwdriver to hold the bolts, it's a bit of a struggle. The tub on my cart was distorted a bit and had to be held against the frame while inserting and holding the bolts, engaging the screwdriver and doing up the nut. Whew!
A second pair of hands would have been useful, but apart from the previous problem I managed without any further ado.
The stub axels and tipping mechanism should be greased really, but none was supplied. Trip to the nearest motorist shop on the `to do' list.
On completion, the front and rear frames rubbed against each other - another greasing point?

Just how good is the finished product? Not at all bad actually - but I still haven't forgiven it for biting me!
I don't have a large garden; just a small one front and back. To move between the two, I have to go along a public pavement; hence the choice of an enclosed tub rather than the wire sided alternatives, to ensure nothing falls out en-route.
Conclusion. Pump up the tyres, grease the necessary bits and this is a smooth running useful addition to my `toolbox'. Works well saves time and effort, and, ultimately, worth the price; and yes, - the pain, I paid for it.

Incidentally:- The problem with the `flat' tyres is probably due to the use of inner tubes. When these are pumped up; there is air trapped between the tube and the tyre. As this air leaks out, the pressure within the tube falls, giving the impression that the tyres were not inflated properly.
55 Comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2016
Great for the garden - not a problem to put together if you have a socket set and large flat head screwdriver. Took me about 30 mins. Good capacity and easy to move around the garden, with the tyres and grip on handle making even heavy loads no problem. Another use I discovered recently is by filling with ice and water to keep all your beers and ciders cold at a party... then tip the water away without having to carry a huge bucket!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
Having assembled and used the tipper truck I can thoroughly recommend it. The item came with an instruction sheet and the nuts and bolts shrink wrapped to a card in assembly sections (steps) order. The instruction sheet was slightly out of date as some product update had taken place however the instructions were generally clear and easy to follow and shown in steps. Assembly took exactly 1 hour and 46 minutes for one person but approx 15minutes were wasted because I assemble the rear axle the wrong way round (my fault) and had to redo. The truck max weight rating of 275kg is if the tipper is not used, the weight rating for tipper use is approx half however I would be very surprised if anyone could place such a heavy load in the cart (lead bars perhaps). If you consider a large bag of compost weighs appox 20-25kg then the cart, weight wise, could carry approx 7 bags at a time however the plastic barrow of the truck is relatively shallow and will only hold about 3 bags although you could balance more on top. Overall this truck is strong, easy to pull aound and ideal for garden job. Look on it as a super large sturdy, manoeuvrable and easy to pull wheelbarrow and you will not be disappointed. I suspect most of the 1 star ratings are more to do with assembly problems than the product. One rating said it would only cope with the weight of a few leaves, this is nonsense, it is fairly described as a heavy duty and is up to the job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
..the barrow arrived ok. Putting it together was a different matter, the instructions are useless, difficult to identify from the illustration and the description. i suggest you have a look and see if you can put it together . having drafted in my daughter in law who is a whiz at putting items together, she called the instructions useless, disgusting. when it finally emerged it is great and is ideal for me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Very useful around the garden, but severely let down by useless tyres and tubes. I spent more time fixing punctures than actually using the cart! I took it to the tip yesterday!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
We now have 2 of these and I wonder what we did before we bought the first one! Such a great bit of kit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2010
I had low expectations when I ordered this item, because of the previous reviews. But it was delivered promptly, so that was a start.
And I was not the slightest bit put off when the listed contents, and actual contents, were clearly two different things. Given one reviewer's frustration when she got in touch with the company, I decided that I wouldn't waste time on them, and got on with building it. If I had to go out and buy the correct length bolts, then so be it.
In all it took a couple of hours to construct. It was fiddly, but not taxing. It probably would have helped if there had been a second pair of hands, as it was a challenge to hold the nut in place with a spanner, on one side of the 'tub', whilst using a socket set to screw the bolt in, from the other side. The fact that the bolts were all one (shorter) size, and not two different lengths, didn't become an issue, in the end.
The verdict, now it's built?
It is a great little truck, and very easy to manoeuvre, with its fat tyres and front wheel steering. And the tipper function means it does what I bought it for: moving a huge pile of flint stones.
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
I'm very pleased with this purchase. My local garden centre has an identical cart for sale for £129.

I must agree that the assembly instructions are bordering on the worthless, but it's not that hard if you take a few minutes to look at the parts, the diagram, and the picture on the box to figure out how it all goes together. The nuts and bolts were supplied on a shrinkwrap card in separate sets with the correct washers and nuts for each, so nothing can really get lost.

Assembly took me approximately 40 minutes. In case it helps someone else, here's how I did it:

There are three types of bolts: a single long one to fasten the handle to the steering bar, a pair of hex-heads for attaching the steering mechanism to the front frame, and the rest are all the same slot-headed type and are used to attach the body to the frame. There are also four big nuts and washers to fasten the wheels on.

You will need a nice broad-tipped screwdriver and some small spanners, preferably sockets with a ratchet handle, but it can be done with open-ended spanners if that's all you have. I found it easiest to hold the nut with the spanner and turn the slot head with the screwdriver until it gets firm, then give a final tweak with the spanner to get it nice and tight.

When fitting the slot-headed screws to the body, make sure that the head is on the inside and the washer and nut are on the outside. Tighten the bolts just to the point where the parts can still move until all the bolts are in place and then tighten them fully. Failure to observe this is probably what caused some people to think that the holes were not aligning properly. The rear frame came already loosely attached to the body by means of two additional bolts on either side that are the pivots of the tipping mechanism. You can safely leave these in place until later.

My assembly order was: bolt the steering mechanism to the front frame with the two hex bolts (check the supplied diagram for correct orientation) and use two of the slot-head bolts to attach the angled bracing piece. Next I fitted the tipper release bar to the front of the body with four slot-headed bolts.

Next, attach the rear axle to the body with two more slot-headed bolts, then fit the two bracing pieces. These have a large hole at one end that goes over the axle and a cranked end with two smaller holes which should be bolted to the frame and body using four more slot-headed bolts. If they don't line up with the holes, check that you have them on the correct side and the right way up.

At this point I fitted the wheels to the axles, but before they go on, just check that all nuts holding the wheel to the hub are tight - some of mine were very loose. Put a wheel onto the axle with the large side of the bearing inwards. The washer goes on the outside, but its hole is larger than the outer threaded part of the axle, so as the nut reaches the bottom of the thread you need to make sure the washer is centred so that it can engage over the wider inner part of the axle.

Now, with the body standing on its wheels I lifted it into its "tipped" position and attached the front frame assembly with the two loose bolts on each side of the body. These need to be tightened just to the point where the front frame is firmly attached, but can still pivot freely.

Attach the handle to the front of the steering mechanism with the long bolt, check the tyre pressures and you're all done.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2012
FANTASTIC
READ REVIEWS & THOUGHT IT WOULD TAKE AGES TO PUT TOGETHER

EASY TO PUT TOGETHER TOOK ABOUT 15 MINUTES
EASY TO USE
MAKES LIGHT WORK OF MOVING ANYTHING IN THE GARDEN
SO MUCH EASIER THAN A WHEELBARROW
GRAND CHILDREN THINK IT'S A GREAT CART.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2012
I've had my truck for over 6 months now so it's had a good trial.
The instructions for assembly were a bit "iffy" but anyone with a little DIY experience shouldn't have any problem putting it together. What you really do need when assembling the truck - unless you have arms like a gibbon - is a second pair of hands to hold a spanner on the nut while you screw from the other side.

Once assembled and you've had a bit of practice, it is very easy to manoeuvre. Unlike a wheelbarrow, there is no lifting involved and you just pull the truck along and you can move quite heavy loads with ease. It is very stable and if you have back problems, it is wonderful because very little, if any, strain is put on the spine.

An added advantage is that because there are 4 wheels as opposed to one on a wheelbarrow, the load is spread and any tendency to sink into or possibly damage soggy ground is reduced.

As I have already mentioned, I have had my truck for a while now and I have to put it down as one of my better buys.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)