Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
99
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 December 2011
I was thinking the other day, this garment must represent about the best value for money I have ever spent. They are totally reliable for the purpose and just keep on going. I have two long sleeved and one short. I've had them about ten years. They have been on countless camping trips, fishing, snowboarding and hiking expeditions. When its cold in the winter I just wear them day to day under ordinary clothes for extra insulation. I've been doing a lot of winter running lately. They go on under a normal running top and a windproof shell and its perfect even in the Scottish December. They always keep me warm, dry and comfortable. After a decade they show no signs of wear other than the lettering fading on the washing label. They look exactly like they did when I bought them despite being washed at all sorts of temperatures with all sorts of other items. I can't think of anything else I have ever bought from curtains to a car that has kept doing the business for ten years with no signs of giving up. No bobbling, no loose seams. Its extraordinary. And they are pretty cheap.

There are thicker and warmer base layers available from HH and other manufacturers incorporating marino wool, silk and all sorts of luxury. But for me the point is flexibility. I'd rather wear more fine layers and remain flexible as to what I can take on and off. There is nothing to these but they give you that layer of extra insulation that covers most eventualities, and when it doesn't you can wear two.

Bloody marvellous base layer. So good you probably won't even realise as you never think about them. They are just always there doing what you bought them for.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2010
Excellent base layer. Fits nice and tight and wicks away sweat. Keeps you cool during the summer and keeps you warm if worn under anything else during the winter. I ordered the white and the only negative comment I can make is that it does look slightly see through and so would be careful as to what colour to buy. Otherwise, its great. Wouldn't bother spending any more on the more expensive base layers as this does the job.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
HH are the best non merino wool base layers around in my opinion.
I am a size M in most clothes. However, with HH I find that a size M is very tight fitting and a size L is close fitting without hugging the skin.
I would say that if you have a slim/skinny upper body go for your normal size. If you are muscular or broad than go a size larger.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
I'm a great fan of Helly-Hansen base-layer garments, but then so is the whole outdoor pursuits community. The fit is good, the look is good and wicking is impressive. So "what's not to like?", as they say.
The weakness lies in the flat-lock stitching: if caught on a branch, etc, it's very easy to pull out a thread, which always results in the appearance of a small hole, or run, in the garment. I have several Lifa T-shirts, and two have developed such defects within a few weeks of normal outdoor use.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2016
HH Lifa was the first of the technical base layers. I first use Lifa in 1979 for BSES expedition to Norway. Products since then I discovered are made in different countries. May be is contributing factor in different batches are different sizes. I have ordered large in 2010 and it cuts into arms pits. Other years, the shirts fit fine (2013 - 14) Found 2015 small again. No, it is not because my body is changing size because I still have new ones from different years of purchases to compare one on top of another. So if you are unsure, order 1 size larger.
Also go for short sleeves if you are in doubt; Norwegians tend to be long limbed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
The Helly Hansen Lifa Dry Stripe T-Shirt (short sleeve) is the best sports t-shirt and compression top money can buy - PERIOD!

I have bought all other makes from Second Skin to Canterbury to Nike to Adidas and Helly Hansen wins hands down.

I wear mine for Trail Running, hiking and as a compression top under my cycling jersey. The tops wicker away sweat superbly, feel very light and comfortable and last for ever (and you think I am joking).

I will only buy Helly Hansen tops for sport and will use no other make.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Very impressed with this top. It is true to size, the colour is as displayed online. The fit is as a muscle type top, looks really flattering and is long enough, sleeves a good length too.

Temperature is kept at optimal levels when wearing for leisure or playing sport, it's been worn whilst playing tennis and felt great, kept skin dryer and temperature lower.

Once washed the top has retained shape and size, it's been washed on a low, gentle cycle but still had creases that needed to be ironed out, that's my only disappointment, but on a cool iron it's easily restored to being crease free, not enough of a reason to knock a star off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
I have the long sleeve in black/high vis.
If I order one more then thats me all set for Le Mans in June.
These tops are ideal for exercising as you quite simply stay dry, used as part of a proper layering system you will be comfortable for as long as you need to be. They look reasonably presentable, pack down to nothing, they are very durable and they don't smell too bad after you cool down. A company like HH don't get the reputation they have for nothing, I don't have a go-to brand for my outdoor gear but Helly Hansen is a brand you can have genuine confidence in.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
Fantastic. The go-to base layer. In my honest opinion nothing surpasses these base layers from Helly Hansen. I first purchased one back in 2003 for use in Duke of Edinburgh expeditions. Today I still have that baselayer and use it regularly. It has endured and shows only the slightest sign of wear.

I've since purchased another 3 and the quality remains just as good. There really isn't anything else like these in terms of quality, even amonst the other big brands.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
Great feel and definitely did a good job over a very hot 21 mile tab but within 5 minutes of wearing it brand new the whole front material started bobbling up. I would recommend trying a different brand for baselayer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)