Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 19 January 2015
Very confusing on the units mg/L.....and how to interpret in respect of the Scottish new limits. Also prone to give spurious WARNING signals....I don't trust it!

Stevef
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2011
A few weeks ago I wrote a review of the Alcosense elite, which I decided was probably not reliable. So, after reading reviews here, I thought I'd try one of these.
Now, it's simple to use and quite sturdy, although I did find the instructions sparse and it reads in mg/l and not in bacs as stated.

The thing is, though, that the AL6000 reads consistently higher than the Alcosense Elite. In over 20 tests, performed less than a minute apart, the Al6000 gives reading averaging around 15 mg higher; agreeing on only one occassion, and on another giving a reading 36 mg higher! Like the Alcosense unit, a second reading is inevitably quite a lot lower than the first.
Which is the more accurate? How can a home user know? One unit will tell you you are safe to drive, and another will tel you to stay off the road. Both will agree if you are well over the limit (although you would probably be able to work that out for yourself) and both will agree when there is no alcohol in your body. Other than that,which one to trust is hit and miss, unless you can find a police officer prepared to let you test these units against his £700 machine. In short, I am a confused consumer.
0Comment| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2007
I've been using one of these for the last couple of years and thoroughly recommend it. I initially bought a cheaper one which I since got rid of, but this is much better.
Breathalysers need to be recalibrated every few months depending on how much they're used. This can set you back £20-£30 and you have to send the unit away. The AL6000 prestige has a sensor module wich you can snap out and replace it with a pre-calbrated one.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
I wanted to write a review for this product to possibly help others make up their mind, as there are limited numbers of reviews for these units on the net.

Firstly, it is easy to use and gives clear warnings, I wanted to use mine to ensure I was under the limit the morning after a good night out.

On two occasions since my purchase, the unit has warned me and I have made other arrangements than driving, it has taken the guess work out completely.

The first after New Years Eve showed me over the limit until 2pm the next day which shocked me a lot.

It is a professional model and gives me the confidence of accurate readings which I don't believe you will get on cheaper units, and the sensor can be easily changed rather than sending the unit back for a service.

I like to think I am a responsible driver when it comes to drinking and driving and this unit helps me to be sure I am OK.
0Comment| 105 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2007
Got one of these recently just to keep a check on my alcohol levels - one of the best things I have ever bought. Very easy to use, great instructions from seller (Breathalyser Direct)and arrived really quickly.
I would recommend this to anyone and will be buying again for my father as a present very soon.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2007
I bought one of these some time ago and haven't stopped using it. It's great for making sure you're ok the-morning-after-the-night-before. I was surprised how long it takes my body to disperse alcohol and this devce has saved me from being over the limit whilst driving.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2012
I have owned several of these units and currently own two. I have carried out many tests and bought many replacement sensors. The results of my tests show that two different units with the same sensor give different readings and the same unit with different sensors give different readings. Through the UK supplier I purchased from, I have tried multiple units and multiple replacement sensors and the results have so much variance they are meaningless. I have raised this through the UK supplier and they cannot "understand" the variance. I can get readings from 0 to 50 mg/l when I have not touched alcohol for days to over then ten times the UK limit, an hour after drinking one pint of 4% ABV beer. One of my sensors counts down quickly from 250 to 30 then slowly to ready, the other quick to 100 then slow to 30 then quick to 0. These units and sensors in my view have not been calibrated to even 10% accuracy and as such are unfit for purpose. DO NOT buy these to see if you are fit to drive and risk your licence or antoher persons life.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
What can I say ? Not a lot negative. Very well made and very repeatable and sensible results over the last few weeks. Recommend this as a must have !
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Read about poor customer service with the other seller called Home Health and rather than save myself £1 I wanted the amazon support. Not needed as it is a great quality breathalizer. Very clear instructions and accurate results. Nice one.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
Best price and arrived in two days! Perfectly happy with the product, Very well made and very repeatable and sensible results over the last few weeks. Recommend this as a must have!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)