Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
53
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2017
Beautiful and timeless drink
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
Nice price, fast delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 December 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A rich, warm and very drinkable whisky with hints of honey make this the perfect accompaniment to the festive season. The gold bottle reflects the Christmas lights as it dresses for the occasion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Best value Johnnie walker, the big blue is great but at this price gold.....5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
Not quite sure how to rate it but this whisky just ended up not being to my taste. Reading so many positive reviews and mainly drinking single malts I wanted to try a high quality blended whisky , and this certainly seemed to be a good candidate. The taste certainly has complexity and depth but it leaves my palette unsatisfied and the aftertaste is a bit rough for my liking. My favourite single malts are lagavulin and talisker, and I got on quite well with the blended chivas regal. I will qualify that I am not an extremely experienced whisky drinker and as my adventure continues I will definitely come back to the bottle to give this another shot, with an updated review if my opinion changes!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 November 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
So, cards on the table. I very rarely drink blended scotch. I like a nice single malt. Glen Elgin is probably my favourite, but I like a range. I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this blend. I'll be honest - I would usually avoid Johnnie Walker in a pub, so was slightly nervous about this.

But it's rather nice. It's very smooth and almost sweet. I do get the honey they talk about. There is a hint of smokiness at the end, but it's a very mellow finish. I thought about describing it as "inoffensive" but that's unfair. It's better than that. There are things to like and little to dislike.

I think it's probably an excellent introduction to scotch for people not used to the more Marmite qualities of single malts. A lot of good things, a couple of excellent ones, but nobody is going to dislike it. All in all, Coldplay.

Would I buy this for myself? (I was fortunate enough to get this for free) No, not for that price. For that you can get a fabulous single malt. Would I buy this as a present for someone whose tastes I wasn't sure of? Yes, definitely. It's a nice drink

But one star off for the ridiculous bottle. It's completely coated in gold which means a) it looks very naff and b) you can't see how much you have left.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 7 November 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a nice smooth whisky. It has the distinctive JW flavour, but is much more mellow than cheaper alternatives. I have recently tried a limited edition spice trail JW, which is cheaper than this version, and to be honest the Gold Reserve is not that much different. I've also recently tried a couple of single malts in the £40+ price bracket, and would say that this Whisky does not quite live up to the same level of complexity or smoothness. Don't get me wrong, this whisky is nice and smooth and drinks very very well, I just feel you can get nicer whiskies for the same price.

However, what I absolutely LOVE is the bling gold bottle. It really is something to behold! The poker boys love it!!

So I would definitely buy it again; as much for the sheer pantomime of bringing out the bottle than for the drink itself. Perhaps if you're looking for a pure whisky drinking experience, this ain't the bottle to choose.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I'll say right now that for me, single malts have been disappointing. I have never found one that I particularly like and this has suppressed the urge to experiment. But given the opportunity to try a bottle of this blended top quality Johnnie Walker Gold is not something I am going to say no to!

I have always thought that whisky is Single Malt at the top of the tree and Blended at the bottom. I asked my dad, a regular single malt drinker and he corrected me by pointing out that the better blends use the better single malts as the basis and then adjust the flavour to make an entirely new taste. This Gold edition is such a drink. I personally loved it and given it as a present (as I was) it was a fabulous gift. Would I buy it for a single malt drinker? Yes I probably would. It tastes great and I would be sure that they got something nice. This was confirmed by people who have tried it who were very impressed.

A great whiskey and a great present. Why only 4 stars? It needs a box! The bottle looks like Goldfinger got hold of it and it needs a box to make it look as expensive as it tastes.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2017
This is a scam (or a fake!). I've been drinking Gold Label for years and this does not taste anything like it! Extremely disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 October 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
For any whiskey drinker, this is really good stuff!

The bottle is a shiny gold all over and looks quite spectacular. It is impressive before you even open the bottle. It would make a lovely gift for someone on a special occasion.

This is a very easy to drink and enjoy whiskey. There is no unpleasant burning sensation. It is smooth and slightly creamy tasting with a hint of honey. It goes down very nicely - even my partner who doesn't like whiskey finds this pleasant. It is one of the best whiskeys I've tried, and I would certainly consider buying this in the future.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here