Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 24 November 2012
I like this jacket's light weight, good wind protection while cycling, and adequate waterproof property (in addition to the L size being a perfect fit for me). I also agree with most of the good qualities mentioned by numerous reviewers, but one niggle that prompted me to write this review is the pocket zip mechanism.

I only had this jacket for a few days, and nine out of ten, the pocket zip catches the soft inner lining (and yes, takes a while to dislodge the lining caught by the zip). If the lining is stitched or glued around the pocket edges, then this problem would be gone, and it's disappointing that such premium quality jacket fails on such minor quality control. It is possible that the zip mechanism could eventually fail - unless some DIY job is called into action, such as gluing but again there may be a worry about warranty issues??

Great quality with a minor niggle with regard to the pocket zips, and hope the manufacturer takes note of such feedback as part of improving quality control.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2015
I have used this Jacket for over a year, and really like it. I have used top end gore-tex jackets and other branded breathable jackets over the years. I use it for outdoor activities around scout camps and hiking, nothing highly energetic. with prolonged walking up steep hills and beginning to raise a sweat, there is a very small layer of condensation on the inside of the jacket, but this doesn't cause me any problem or concern and quickly clears when reaching the top of the hill.

I have found it to be completely waterproof, having spent two days in very bad rain, and outdoors for 7 hours a day in it, I found the only place that got damp was at the cuffs as water started to travel up my sleeve it was that wet.

It is a short jacket, but I prefer that style, and it is comfortable even with heavy fleece layers underneath. I found it lightweight (which I wanted) and very comfortable to wear. I would have no hesitation in recommending this jacket for similar activities and will definitely buy again should I need to .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2014
This is an excellent lightweight, water resistant and windproof jacket from Berghaus which is ideal for general outdoor use in our mixed climate. It has velcro tabs on the cuffs and a drawstring on the waist to cut out any draughts. There is a full size hood concealed in the collar, a mesh inner lining, two good sized zipped mesh pockets and a full length zip with velcro tabs to seal the jacket at the front. It copes very well in heavy showers with the rain beading on the surface rather than soaking through. I bought a larger size than usual so I can layer it with a fleece underneath in colder weather. For fell walking I would get the longer Berghaus Cornice Goretex jacket which is equally good and has inner zips to attach a fleece to offer more protection in a howling gale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2014
Lived my entire life in London and never had a proper waterproof jacket. I needed something that was top quality and decided to get one of the best brands out there. Nearly every man worth his salt has one of these jackets and they hardly need replacing.

One of the reviewers said he had worn his practically everyday for 12 years and it finally needed replacement. That is some high praise.

The recent downpour in London really made me appreciate the quality and also annoyed me on how unprepared I've been all these years. I now need to buy some really good shoes and I'll be ready for a torrential downpour.

The amount you pay is an investment not an expense. So invest wisely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2014
My old berghaus aquafoil jacket was coming to the end of its life and this looked like being the nearest equivalent so seemed like the one to go for. I was a bit disappointed in a few things that would probably have added £5 to the cost but that would have made it perfect:

Theres no inside pocket and the two exterior pockets are quite shallow.
The cuffs are very low rent looking.
the logos look like transfers rather than the nice embroidered style of the old jacket
Doesnt quite hang right when open - the collars sit very proud and if you push them down , they flair like a 70s dinner jacket
The loop at the back is attached to the flimsy lining mesh which feels like it may cause problems later.
-edit - used it for a few months now and the pocket and main zips keep snagging the cheap net lining. This is pretty annoying. Deducted one star.
- edit - take one more star off - the mesh lining of the pockets keeps getting hooking onto keyrings which are a complete pain to remove.Try standing at your front door in the drizzle trying to work out how to unhook your house keys from the lining.

On the positive side, the simple design means its fairly smart
Its nicely waterproof - admire the droplets that sit on top of it when you get out of the rain.

So a good simple waterproof jacket. If you pay over £50 I think you'll be disappointed as it doesnt feel premium in any way. If you pay less and expect a simple waterproof shell that looks fairly smart you'll be quite happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2011
All ready had the black version of this jacket, but always liked the 'highland green' colour. This colour is no longer in the stores in my city centre, so purchased from Amazon, and it turned out to be cheaper by a good margin, too.
The waterproofing on these 'newer' versions of the jacket is called AQ2. This is apparently better than the older Aquafoil waterproofing (which in itself was fine)that was used on earlier generations of the jacket.
Remember to be careful when washing your jacket, as you must use the specialist liquid avalible in camping shops, plus a spray to re-waterproof.
Note also, as some other reviewers' have said, this is a 'jacket' and not a thick coat. It looks smart, but in the colder days you will need layers on underneath.
Overall, a great buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2016
Picked this up in a sale and couldn't be happier. It keeps the rain out and is easily washable. You won't win any fashion awards wearing it but it's not ugly either.

The quality of the material and stitching is good, and there is a velcro strip for hiding the hood away.

The only issue I had was not being able to get the hood adjusted properly (I have a small head and couldn't get it tight enough, so it kept flopping over my eyes).

It's not amazingly thick so isn't going to keep you snug and warm if you venture north of The Wall, but it's not flimsy either - in fact it's perfect for those rainy Spring and Autumn days (in other words, about half the year).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2013
The jacket is of a regular fit, but the arms are long and quite roomy therefore out of proportion with the rest of the jacket.......
The material is not at sturdy feeling as the one i owned previously and which was purchased only 4 years ago..............
The stitching detail has been replaced by a substantial reflective press logo but personally i prefer the little details such as the stitching of logo's on the breast and on the back of the collar............
Seems like a lesser cost option and probably less time consuming for the factory where its made.............

The cost of the jacket was the cheapest i have seen around and look forward getting to wear it in the colder climates remembering theres room for a fleece jacket underneath..............

Pretty good work Berghaus and i love the colour Thunder (Dark Grey) i purchased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2014
A bit smaller than I expected as I went for the medium instead of the large as some reviews had said it was a large fitting. I found this jacket a bit short. Luckily I have another Berghaus with Gortex which I'll be using a lot more than this. I can't complain too much as I got it for a good price at less than £35
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2012
I'm on my third of these jackets - but not due to wear!

I bought the first one in black around three years ago, closely followed by a grey one. Worn to work almost every wet day and all through the winter - no damage, no marks - great quality

Just got a new one in a smaller size due to me shrinking - but the quality is as good as ever, though the logos/badges are now printed not stitched as they used to be

I can highly recommend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)