Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2014
This device work s really well. It is a little different from the device that the Arduino libraries and samples are coded for, as it has 4 pins rather than 3. But it is easy to make the changeover. The code snippet below will get you started if you need help modifying the existing PING example in the Arduino IDE.
void setup() {
pinMode(trigPin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(echoPin, INPUT);
}

void loop()
{
// The ultrasonic PING is triggered by a HIGH pulse of 2 or more microseconds.
digitalWrite(trigPin, LOW);
delayMicroseconds(2);
digitalWrite(trigPin, HIGH);
delayMicroseconds(5);
digitalWrite(trigPin, LOW);

// A high pulse of duration in microseconds from the sending
// of the ping to the return of its echo from something.
duration = pulseIn(echoPin, HIGH);

// now do what you want with the duration value
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
I got this for about half of the price that was being charged elsewhere which, I must admit, was taking a bit of a punt. But it was a punt that paid off. It works as it should and there are plenty of examples of Arduino code and wiring schematics around on the net to get you up and running. I recently spent a very leisurely evening combining an ultrasonic sensor project with a tone playing project (using a piezo speaker) and ended up with a very basic "sonar".

I'm now spending my time trying to think of other "evil genius" applications :-)
22 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
I'm comparatively new to electronics but I set this up with out any problems at all. Got my Arduino Uno board to read from it straight away.

Some additional usage notes and numbers with the HC SR04 echo sensor which may help others:
You need to set the Trig pin high for at least 10 microseconds, this will cause the module to transmit 8 bursts of 40 kHz frequency, then immediately set echoPin high, then low when it receives the response echo.

For the Arduino, you can use time = pulseIn(echoPin, HIGH); where time is the response time in microseconds (38 milliseconds if no response).
Distance in centimeters: time / 58
Distance in inches: time / 142

Hope this helps.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
A neat, well made module built on a good quality PCB. A quick web search for "HC-SR04" yielded a couple of data sheets, one in good English, one less good. The module is very simple to operate, requiring a +5V power supply between VCC & GND pins. A 10us long positive TTL level trigger pulse on the TRIG pin produces a positive TTL level response pulse on the ECHO pin, after a short delay. The length of the response pulse is proportional to the distance to the target. Successive trigger pulses should be at least 50ms apart. A quick bench test using a pulse generator and an oscilloscope showed that the module gave a good clean output signal. The PCB has two M2 mounting holes, but one very close to a surface-mount component - an insulated sleeve would be needed on the M2 screw. It may be easier to use the connector to mount the module. Excellent value for money. Should work well on a small mobile robot.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
This sensor is used by lots of roboteers...

I wanted to use it with my Raspberry Pi, to measure distance, but this was underwhelming! I had downloaded a script to measure the distance & it worked out of the box!

I was amazed at the accuracy & consistency of the device. I'm learning to have a yet higher expectation, as everything Pi related is fab
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
This is excellent, the resolution is very good and the sampling frequency is good up to 100Hz, even with my code.

This is not suitable if you wish to measure within the range 1cm-4cm as within that area the readings are not reliable.

The size is somewhat larger than I expected, but I should have read the details more thoroughly. It is not huge though, about 4cm x 2cm x 1.5cm. It does emit a slight noise but I suspect that most people would not detect it, I have keen ears for high pitched noises.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
I wasn't expecting much for less than the price of a cup of coffee but I plumbed this in to my Arduino Nano in minutes and had it measuring distances. Very impressive for such a low price. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Have plugged in and tested on my Arduino. Loads of documentation on getting these set up and wired in, and loads of sample sketches to be found on the net too. Works really well from about 2-3cm to 3 meters. I get the occasional glitch in readings but not really fair as I'm using smaller soft objects and surfaces in a tiny room... plus my programming skills are very rusty. Looking forward to putting these on my quad-copter....simple yet effective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
Works great. Using this on an Arduino Nano R3 with a 128x64 OLED display.
What I noticed is that adding a 10uf cap between 5v and Gnd (from the Arduino) seems to stabilise the measurements, readings are less erratic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
Tested this with an Arduino and the NewPing library and it works perfectly using the following tutorial.

http://www.instructables.com/id/Hc-sr04-Ultrasonic-Distance-Sensor

It's really simple to get working at use. Great value!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)