Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
21
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£26.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2014
Bought this mini itx board the other day for a project - two considerations - size and price. It is ITX standard which is ultra small and the price is under £30 so for a motherboard with USB3, HDMI, DVI and ITX, that is good value.. So I coupled it with a dual core Sempron.. Not the fastest beast on the market, but for what I need more than adequate. tested it with a single stick of DDR3-1333 4Gb Integral (value).. No POST (Power On Self Test) so tried it with some Hynix DDr3-1333 and it posted fine... So don't go with ultra cheap RAM. UEFI BIOS is good as per usual with mouse interaction and that was it basically...

PRO's:
Cheap
Small
Some good features

Con's
No x16 PCI-E slot for graphics cards (however thw 4x PCI-E slot has a notch so you can add one, it will run slow, but should work )
2 SATA ports (it is aimed at a cheap work station set up so two is adequate)
Still has legacy components - PS2 for keyboard and mouse, COM ports and an LPT internal port. All old and rarely used USB has seen that off...

Overall if you want a good cheap workstation, low end media PC or NAS server this looks like it will due the job. The cheap price of the board and AMD's APU's make this quite viable over Intels ATM and AMD's embedded CPU solution.

Just to add another CON I forgot about, the BIOS is set to UEFI boot as standard. This allows only windows 8 to be installed. Disable this in the BIOS for booting older windows versions or LINUX (basically a no UEFI boot).. See page 2-27 of the manual.
33 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
A sub £200 PC (inc case and PSU) where the chip and motherboard is cheaper than the hard drive and RAM?
And the Mini-ITX case is the most expensive item?

This motherboard was a dream to install, with no issues in setup and a BIOS screen that can be as beginner-friendly or advanced tweaking as you could think of, given the current Kabini CPUs that are released.

I have never used an ASUS board before when building, but am now a convert!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
I'm a big fan of Asus Motherboards. But Asus quality for just over £26? Amazing! The build quality and components is superb for the price. Yes there are some compromises at such a low price but that is to be expected.

Bought for an HTPC build in an existing Antec ISK300 case, It has all the basic features including HDMI, VGA, DVI video outputs, USB 2 & 3 ports (but only USB 2 headers) two SATA ports, two RAM slots, PS/2 for KB and Mouse.

Tried with 4GB Crucial Ballistix RAM - wouldn't post. Bought 4GB Kingston KVR16N11S8/4 RAM which is on the Qualified Vendors List and booted first time with an AMD Athlon 5150 CPU - You may need to budget for new RAM as it seems to be picky about the RAM used.

Fitted a silent Arctic Block Cooler to keep it nice and quiet.

The main drawbacks would be only two SATA ports, A single PCI-e 4 port so not really suitable for gaming graphics cards. No USB3 headers,

Oh and it came with SATA cables and discs for Win7/8 and Win 10 drivers so it is fairly future proof as well
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
Excellent value motherboard. I paired this with the Athlon 5350 (£35 or so). That's a lot of processing power for £60. I also used 4GB of RAM and a spare 2.5" drive to make a nice little box for running Ubuntu so that I can play with Linux. I also build OpenELEC for my HTPC so that I can experiment with that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
I have 4 of these boards now, and for the money I think they're pretty much impossible to beat.

I have one running my my home NAS, it has a single 8GB Corsair DDR3-1866 DIMM, an Athlon 5350 overclocked to 2.1GHz (only 500MHz upgrade, but it was free!), fitted to a LianLi PC-Q25A case, and running off a Corsair CS450M. I run OpenMediaVault as the OS (Debian-based Linux). The OS drive and a working drive are both Intel SSDs, running off the SOC SATA. The array drives are running off an IBM M1015 HBA. I have no issues at all with speed, and even the Realtek NIC works great. I use one of the Arctic passive heatsinks, so the machine is basically silent. I run Sonarr, Plex, NZBGet, Transmission, etc on it. Plex Server works fine, and the CPU is fast enough to transcode one 1080p stream (I don't need any more as I only have ADSL, so slow upstream internet).

I have one running a similar setup at my parent's house, only theirs doesn't do Plex, so it's running the little Sempron chip with 4GB RAM (Kingston HyperX Fury DDR3-1600).

Finally, I have two running Windows 10 with Plex Home Theater. They're fitted to Silverstone ML05B, again using the Arctic passive cooler and using the semi-fanless Silverstone 300W SFX PSU. Only fan in the case that runs regularly is a 80mm Noctua with the low noise adaptor. The fan barely spins (150-200rpm connected to the CPU header), but it's enough just to move a little air and keep the APU below 60C. These are both booting off old Intel SSDs, and using FLIRC remote control receivers which I have zip-tied to the underside of the case pointing outwards. One is hard-wired via ethernet, the other has an Asus PCE-AC68 AC wireless card.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
"A motherboard for twenty-three quid delivered?" These words echoed inside my head, and I needed to build a small media centre PC so along with the AM1 sempron 3850 (£25) I bought it, thinking it would be totally useless. When it turned up, I quickly added it to my £18 CIT case and installed the a 2gb DDR3 dimm(£15) & processor along with a 120gb sandisk ssd (£35).

It has been a superb machine for the money. I installed Kodi media centre on top of Lubuntu and as long as you update the bios ASAP, it's fine. They appear to of had some bios issues as there have been 4 revisions so far in 2 months.

This board also has a serial port which is very useful for me as I work with CNC machinery and some still use serial communications for simplicity. The USB3 works fine, has both PS2 mouse/keyboard ports, and a PCI 1x Express port.

Most surprising thing for me is how quiet it is with the stock AMD cooler and fan, and it never gets really hot at all. It's never going to be the quickest machine around and a celeron will always be a lot quicker but for a complete machine inc. hdmi output with sound it simply cannot be bettered, and for a media centre PC it's perfect.

The only bad thing I can think of is the BIOS is pretty awful to use - There doesn't seem to be a way to select a different boot device apart from going into the clunky bios and changing the order - which is totally hidden in the advanced menu so used the easy menu to do it instead. The UEFI/Legacy settings could not of been more complicated if they tried.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
Cracking little motherboard. I have this installed with an AMD 5130 APU, 16GB RAM and two 2.5" WD Black 750GB SATA drives. The machine runs Openstack all in one (Linux based cloud solution). So far, no issues. Can't fault it for the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
Much much better than the MSI board. Had nothing end of trouble with that. This board is perfect and v. Quick. Running Kodi Ubuntu @1080 without braking a sweat. The cpu fan control is also much better than expected and is pretty much silent with the stock/retail fan. Would have got 5* in it had a 16x pcie slot rather than a 4x.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2014
Bought as a general purpose pc with a HTPC on top using Linux and an Athlon 5350 cpu.

The board is a bit flimsy in places so care is needed in assembly and you need to change the Secure Boot option to Other OS within the BIOS before installing Linux.

I installed 4GB of Kingston Hyperx as per the Kingston site which lists their compatible memory with this mobo.

Very pleased with the general purpose aspect. It is very lightweight re the HTPC which might be down to Linux and the drivers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
Excellent bang-for-your-buck. I'm going to be building another PC for my folks with this. Good performance on day to day, but not for anything really intense.

Love the AM1 platform
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)