Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
53
3.9 out of 5 stars
Price:£489.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2017
great product just hope it continues to play latest Blu-rays as they are released!! (previous two 1 x sony and 1x samsung stopped playing the very latest releases despite software/firmware updates)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
A very good system with very clear sound
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
Fantastic system, sounds really good and easy to set up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
Purchased this item to replace an ageing Sony system. First impressions whilst unpacking was how stunning the system looked and how much smaller the speakers were. No need to worry though, the sound quality is excellent throughout all modes. The surround quality in cinema mode had the cat running round looking for the source of the noise. If you have a PS3 or Sony TV the menus are the same and easy to navigate through. Apps in the menu only appear once you've been hooked up to the Internet for a few minutes. Then you can enjoy YouTube and Netflix plus a whole host of others in quality stereo of your choice.
The wireless back box for the rear speakers can be placed behind your sofa and doesn't require a direct line of site. Ease of use couldn't be better once set up. One touch of your sky box/ youview box brings everything to life so there's no need to faff around with multiple remotes.
The same for watching blue ray, just put the disk in and it's ready to watch.

Would recommend this system all day. Great purchase!!
22 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2017
Disappointing on many levels. The sound is good but control and feature wise it doesn't work well with my Panasonic Smart TV. Consequently it sometimes requires button presses on three different remote controls...!

Also, streaming from smart mobile devices, like my iPad and iPhone does not work as expected - either too many button presses on different devices, or doesn't work properly. Either picture but no sound or sound but no picture.

Very disappointing - and ultimately a waste of money.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
Just had to bin this after two years or so (I'll let you decide if you think that is a reasonable lifespan for such a system). When it works the system performs handsomely and picture and sound quality are just above par I'd say. Clear and punchy, and a great picture...but there are quite a few (too many) shortcomings.
First of all the form factor: it's too wide to fit in a regular bay and the 'slanted' outline means you can't stack it...which of course you'd know beforehand i'd guess (annoying though, especially the 'width issue', which means you can't put it on the top of your other units).
Secondly, although it's a 'wireless' system, it isn't. the back speakers are fed with WIRES from a separate receiver unit, which needs to be powered independently (mains socket required)...so actually more wires than a 'regular 'wired' system!!
Thirdly it doesn't recognise (or load) some discs, god knows why...no particular studio or manufacturer, just random.
Finally, the real Achilles heel is the constant 'freezing' of the main unit...incredibly frustrating, with no (and I mean NO) discernible pattern that brings it on. It's happened since i bought it, and i was hoping for a software patch to fix it, but that never happened. This means here's no way of predicting, or consequently resolving it, no SONY software updates to fix it. Finally decided to freeze, then start blowing replacement fuses, thus making it junk. Really really disappointed, as i can't even sell it on for a tenner to finance a decent system..
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2017
I have had my system for about one year.
In the course of that time I have experienced most of the problems as stated here by other users.
Freezing and drawer not opening being the most problems. But now a new problem...I would
occasionally play a TV recorded DVD but I now get the message faulty disc. Anyone else had
this problem? The long and the short of the matter is that I very much regret purchasing this player
and I shall look elsewhere when I change my system next time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2017
When this system functions, the sound is clear and true at all frequencies, working as well for classical music as for film soundtracks. BUT the software is TERRIBLE. Despite hitching it to a Sony HD TV with all the necessary connection leads and obeying the operator manual to the letter, there are faults and frustrations almost every time it's used

Frequently, the sound system refuses to play at all. It fails to communicate with the TV unless switched off at the main and then re-booted, sometimes needing three or four attempts. DVD and Blu-Ray discs frequently refuse to play. Start-ups can fail and occasionally the sliding cover for the disc tray refuses to open.

I've used Sony televisions since the Trinitron was introduced back in the 1970s. What wonderful products they were in those days. But when I change my current TV–film–sound system over the coming year or so, I won't even consider Sony. The predecessor to this product, also a Sony Blu-ray Home Cinema System, was also unreliable but I thought that was just an unlucky purchase. What a big mistake I made, replacing it with a later Sony model. Never again will I buy anything from Sony.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2016
Tested Using PS3, PS4, Wii U & Xbox One S

Loaded Up New Doom Game for PS4 Fantastic 5.1 Surround Sound you can really hear the booms & bangs a great game to test out the System. Ditto with Arkham Knight Game

Auto Calibration is Pretty Poor. I would not advise using The Pre Calibration Mic to adjust the Volume Level On each Speaker it makes the system sound dissapointing Dont Bother

Instead adjust each one manually to your liking. Level goes from -6Db all the way to +6Db. So for example the rear speakers Closer to you behing you I Chose + 3.5Db

The Subwoofer Max Level + 6Db

Front Left & Right Eg +4.5Db > +5Db

Centre Approx 4DB

Trust me its way better

Very easy system to Setup

Also tried Wipeout HD + Fury on PS3. There is an actual 5.1 Surround Test feature in the game options to really show what the system Can

Few Tips

If you're playing a Game or Video that doesnt have 5.1 Dolby Digital encoded Like 4oD ITV On the PS4 you need to manually switch Audio on the Sound & Screen Option on PS4 From HDMI To Optical And tick all the boxes ( Optical Lead Not Needed) Then while watching Select Clear Audio+

On Xbox You need to go to setting Audio then Change the HDMI Audio to 5.1 Unconpressed & Select Clear Audio+ To get sound from Rear Speakers from Non 5.1 Sources eg 4oD App or Classic games like Sonic The Hedgehog

Also remember to turn test Location Off after calibrating the Audio Level off each speaker as it can cause some speakers to Turn off if left on

Streaming Netflix Video with 5.1 The surround rear speakers have low volume compared to the rest this is a Netflix fault Not Speakers

All in All Fantastc system knocking one star off as the Subwoofer is a Passive not Active Subwoofer. If you're looking for more boomy base you may need to look elsewhere. It does still sound very good though for a Passive Sub
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
amazing sound,good houme cinema
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse