Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2012
Spend ages looking at mixers as wasnt sure whether a kitchen aid was worth the money.

I decided on this, the Andrew James, having a powerful motor and large bowl, not to mention all the tools you get and a splash guard.

Honest to say i am not let down. This mixer copes with anything. Really great - even for small cake mixes. Makes lovely smooth icing, light and fluffy cake mixes and so easy to clean.

Really glad i didnt spend the extra £250-£300 on a kitchen aid now.

The only niggle I have is that the buttons are are too close together and i sometimes catch my fingers when raising the mixer.

Really well done Andy James - but make the buttons further apart!
55 comments| 317 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2012
i am very pleased with this mixer especially the fact that the paddle for cake batter reaches the sides and the dough hook really works!! loving it!!
22 comments| 124 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
No problems with product,does everything i want it to do and looks smart easy to clean.just as good as the kenwood i had
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2012
I was originally looking to replace my collection of Mason Cash mixing bowls as over the years they have either gone walkabout (my daughter!) or been dropped. The Portugal made ones do not seem as robust as the previously UK made ones so I was looking for alternatives when I found this mixer. The price seemed exceptionally good and about the same as four Mason Cash bowls so I thought 'Why Not!'

I ordered it on a Tuesday and it arrived two days later (great service). When I unpacked it, I thought "Hmm! This seems too light to be a strong enough mixer for my baking needs" but boy was I wrong! So far I have made cookies, 2 rich fruit cakes for christmas, a Victoria sponge (husband), chocolate chip muffins (son) and green marshmallows (halloween) and.................I Love My New Andrew James Electric Food Stand Mixer!

The accompanying attachments seem light but they are robust and work exactly as they should. The lifting mechanism was a little stiff at first but with use now runs smoothly. The motor is powerful. When you turn the mixer on, you can hear it speed up to the requested level. It does not just step to the next speed level, you can hear it building up to it. Very powerful. The large bowl is light but made of stainless steel and twists off from the base. The splashguard has an opening so you can pour in things while the machine is running and also removes with a twist. With the machine having a wipe down surface and very easy to clean bowl and attachments, you will want to keep this on the work surface to use as much as possible.

Sorry to go on and on about it but I just have to say it again...........I Love My New Andrew James Electric Food Stand Mixer!

15 December 2015 update -
I must say that my now well used Andrew James Electric Food Stand Mixer is still going strong. Not tarnished, not making weird noises, not smelling like the motor is giving up, just keeps going on and on doing what it was made to do. I have lost count of what and how many things have been made using this piece of good quality workmanship and I will definitely be putting it through its paces yet again on the run up to christmas.

I hope you all have a Merry Christmas and a prosperous New Year.
0Comment| 83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2012
I have always used hand mixers believing that food mixers were merely fancy, very expensive gadgets that were more trouble than they were worth, more time-consuming, with extra attachments that you would never find a use for, and would end up gathering dust in a cupboard just like my food processor did. How wrong I was!

The arthritis in my hands and wrists was getting worse and baking became a pain rather than a pleasure. Kneading dough and whisking meringue mixture were the worst trials and so I decided it was time to look for something to make my baking-life easier.

On researching electric food mixers I found them to be priced way out of my pocket and was about to give up and try eBay for a used one instead when I came across the Andrew James model. I couldn't believe the price of this one compared with everything else I had seen and so went through the specifications and the reviews several times before I decided to take the plunge before the price went up or it went out of stock.

I really can't fault this food mixer. Cake mixing and pastry making (which was my pet hate) is a doddle. Bread dough is ready in minutes - and no more sticky hands! And I find I can bake more in one day because not only is the process much quicker but the bowl and attachments are so easy to clean in between each use.

The whole thing is very well made, sturdy and extremely elegant and expensive-looking. Instructions are so simple I was able to try it out right away. Delivery was surprisingly quick too.

My only regret is that I didn't invest in one of these years ago. Definitely one kitchen gadget that won't be gathering dust!
33 comments| 294 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
I am the proud owner of a Kitchenaid, however as a busy cake maker, I really needed a second mixing bowl. Whilst browsing the internet I came across the Andrew James mixer priced at just £20 more than a Kitchenaid mixing bowl! The thought of having 2 mixers working at the same time was an opportunity not to be missed! I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Andrew James it is fantastic. Brilliant at beating the smoothest of butter icing and makes fantastic cake batters. The cover is brilliant - no more icing sugar showers for me!!

There are just a few reasons why i have only awarded 4 stars but they shouldn't stop anyone from purchasing this great value mixer.

1. It is pretty noisy.
2. None of the attachments are dishwasher safe.
3. The mixing bowl has mysterious holes in the base of the section that locks into the mixer stand. These fill with water when washed either by hand or dishwasher, resulting in a water fountain by anyone picking it up who is unaware if the need to drain it first....

Other than the minor points above i am delighted with my new mixer!
11 comment| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2012
Fantastic value for money. i made a cake and it turned out good,delivery was very quick. I have also bought the cover for this machine, again prompt delivery. I would recommend this product.good size mixing bowl plus free cookery book and spatula,
0Comment| 119 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2012
Have only had mixer for a couple of weeks but it's my new favourite toy. I've never had a big stand mixer before and was a little worried it would only mix large amounts but this is not so. The new flexi blade mixed a 3 egg all in one sponge mixture perfectly so I then tried a traditional Victoria Sponge. No problem at all with creaming the butter and sugar first before adding the other ingredients. Also I didn't have to stop the mixer to scrape down any of the mixture, so the new flexi blade seems to have solved the problem previous reviewers have had. The dough hook is fantastic and I have made some brilliant rolls and bread with no effort what so ever.
55 comments| 176 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2012
read the reviews, dithered for weeks over it, then when i finally made the decision it was half price, so very happy!! The different blades and mixers are brilliant and this machine will tackle all jobs. It is noisy at full speed but then its 1000 watts of power, and i only have it on full power for a couple of minutes so not complaining. My sponge cakes (both mixes and fresh) rise to double the height of my hand mixed or electric beater cakes!!! I love this machine, and I love the bowl cover with a hole so you can add ingredients without having to turn it off. The controls are very easy to use, the cleaning is very easy, infact the whole machine is just fantastic. Love it Love it Love it!!! You would be hard pushed to find a more adequate machine for the money!
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
I am pleased with the mixer, considering the low cost.
I bought the mixer for occasional use - to make cakes when expecting visitors or for local charity events.
I have also made some bread - just for fun - and it did a fair job at kneading!
Small amounts of cake mixture tend to 'climb' the sides of the bowl - I have yet to use it for larger quantities -
but for the price one cannot expect perfection!
It is easy to use and clean, and the splash guard means it is less 'messy' than a hand held mixer.
Good value for the 'hobby' cake maker.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 69 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)