Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2013
I bought this product based on the excellent reviews from Amazon. I'm glad I did, the hooks are exactly what I wanted.

I haven't used the smaller steel hooks yet, but the larger aluminium hooks are a pleasure to work with. They're easy to grip and glide smoothly through the yarn. There hasn't been any snagging or yarn splitting, so there are no sharp grooves or pointy tips to worry about. I quite like the metallic colour selection (blue, purple, orange, olive green, red and plain aluminium) It's not too garish, and it feels nice to switch colours as you work through a project requiring more than one hook. The metric sizes are imprinted clearly on the flat middle part of the hooks, which is great for telling them apart at a glance. If you're not familiar with the metric labels, it's only a matter of looking up a conversion chart online to make sure you're using the right hook for the job.

I'm itching to give the steel hooks a go. The 0.50 mm is the smallest in the set and looks so delicate, I'm wondering if it's even possible to crochet with something to small! We'll see...

As for the case, it's approx. 11cm x 14cm (2cm in depth when closed), & a violet/maroon colour with a lighter, brighter purple zip. I'd almost call it a unisex colour (more fun than boring black & infinitely better than shocking baby pink!), and it's small enough to carry anywhere. There are two decent spaces inside to carry extra hooks on the chunky side (like one with a soft grip handle). My case smells a bit plastic-toxic, but only up close (yes, I sniffed my case).

Since the case's interior doesn't have any strong backing support to speak of, it sort of forms a soft limp cover around the hooks, which is fine if you chuck your case in with other soft items, but I wouldn't stuff it in a bag with heavy items that will bash up against it (like text books. Or rocks). I say this because, once zipped shut, the hooks are basically folded flat against each other on both sides, meaning they butt up against each other with no cushioning between them (besides the plastic they're sitting in). This means it's highly possible for them to scratch against each other, possibly scratching the metallic paint off the aluminium hooks (I noticed my 5mm has tiny bits of paint missing from the top of the head - but that's coz I dropped it, mwehe). Also, since some of the steel hook heads are so darn tiny and tapered thin, I'm afraid the heads will snap right off if something heavy collides into the side of my case. I guess you could cushion the inside with cardboard or spare yarn, but I was really expecting the case to do more than just keep the hooks neat in their own pretty little slots (it looks sturdy in the Amazon picture, right?). Oh well...

Still, I give this product 5 stars. I'm happy to have an entire set of usefully-sized, inexpensive hooks in one place, and I wouldn't think twice before ordering another set for, say, a friend or family member new to crochet.
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
I noticed how the price had gone up from £3.20 to £6.19 (including P&P) just in time for Christmas - a bit cheeky, I felt.
Case is sturdy enough on the outside, although the inside is lined with plastic which is likely to deteriorate or tear in time and with usage. The needles are held by a clear plastic strip which is heat-melted to the plastic lining. Again, I suspect that there are clear weaknesses over time, but you get what you pay for.
What I find very useful about this set is that it contains every size from 0.6mm (absolutely tiny for yarn as thin as sewing silk) to 6.5mm for super-chunky wool. I hope that I won't need to buy any more crochet needles after that. The needles themselves feel sturdy enough and do not have any jagged edges, i.e. they are finished off properly. The larger needles are coloured which is very cheerful - always supposing it does not clash with the colour of your wool...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
I ordered this on Thursday April 17th and I had it delivered Monday 21st April and it came from another country. Considering that in the middle there was the Easter weekend, I could not have expected a quicker delivery. The product is reasonable for the price paid, the plastic case smells very cheap, but as it is for keeping the hooks together that is no problem. The hooks look OK, smooth, no hard snagging ridges, so in I think this is well worth it for the person who does not crochet too much, for a real heavy duty crochet worker I think there are better hooks around, at least I have some from the UK and they are slighty better quality, but again that is reflected in the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 8 December 2016
Great set at a great price. I bought these because my wooden ones are splitting and the yarn keeps getting stuck on it. Metal ones are amazing! Definitely glad I bought them.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
I love this kit. I had booked to attend a workshop which asked you to bring a 3.5mm hook. Ordered on the day of booking. Although they asked for you to bring just one hook I was asked to go up to a 4mm during the workshop, so I was really glad I had bought this as a starter set rather than having to buy the hooks individually! A really good price, and wallet for storage - I am really happy, and it came really quickly too (I was worried I might have to borrow one for the workshop - as the del date covered the day before/of/and after the event!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2012
The set arrived a few days after ordering. The hooks are good quality and it's lovely to have them all neatly stored. Saves an age rummaging through knitting needles and hooks to find the right one! The case has room for a few more bits of kit, too.

Very pleased with the set at such good value.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
Got them delivered today which was earlier than the said delivery date, so that was a good start. The hooks are exactly as pictured and are of a good quality and the various sizes are great to have for anyone starting out. The case is handy to ensure that all your hooks are in one place and there is even space to keep your scissors which is handy. Would recommend anyone thinking of purchasing this product.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
Bought for a life long crocheter. My mother used different hooks over the yrs and I believe these will become another well worn set. These are cheap in price but I think in quality they more than suit the needs. Delivery was quick and they came in a little holder that wont take much abuse but then again why should it. It ll last many yrs for here as she will look after it. 22 needles in different sizes. She s happy so as far as I am concerned they are perfect. thinking of getting myself a set
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
Hooks arrived quickly and are so pretty! There are some sizes which are not usually available in UK, which is very helpful. I love the colours and the handy case.

Just a few slight problems. One of the hooks doesn't have a size marked on it in mm, although I suspect it may be a 1.00mm which means I have 2 hooks of the same size and no 1.5mm hook. Also, the numbers of the hooks don't correspond to the conversion charts I have checked (eg a hook marked 12 on one side and 1.00mm on the other, whereas the charts I've checked show US size 12 as 0.7 or 0.75). My other quibble is that the coloured hooks chip easily. I crochet every day and the 4.5mm hook has been most used; it already has 2 chips in the coloured coating.

Overall, though, I am happy with the hooks and would recommend them, especially as the price is so good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
The pins (hooks) are just great as is ithe small zipper for keeping them in BUT THE SMELL FROM IT IS AWFUL. To put it bluntly is STINKS Have tried wiping it down with damp soapy cloth schooshing with perfume but to no effect Hence 4* any chance of new 1 please then it would be 5*
review image
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)