Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2014
Bought a his and hers pair of these (black and white). Very effective bruising and the tumbler and case charging (for travel) induction charging is a nice touch. The rubberised surface has been easy to keep free of hard toothpaste crust which we have found has bought the early demise of previous braun models.

At first the recessed power button looked like it had the potential to get stuck; it hasn't so far flawless function since purchasing 8 months ago.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
Was originally delighted when I bought it in December last year. It really did seem better than any of the brushes I'd owned before. However in the past six or eight weeks it's developed mind of its own. It's doesn't switch on when you press the button or it will start before pressing the button It sometimes varies settings of its own accord. It might complete its routine in ten seconds or it might stay on got four minutes, not two. It's charge only lasts a week.

0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
I really liked this toothbrush when I first got it. It cleans well and does not hurt my gums unlike a much cheaper OralB toothbrush I had previously. Unfortunately after 7 months a fault has developed with the on/off switch where it runs on its own (hear a strange noise in the bathroom and it has switched itself on hours after being used), or will not switch off/change setting when the button is pressed. This has continued over the last few weeks and is clearly faulty so I am looking for a way to return it for properly working replacement. For the price I think 7 months before an item becomes unusable is pretty poor. If anyone can advise how I do a return on it after 8 months I would appreciate it as I seem to be stuck in a loop on the returns page.
- Updated to add Amazon replaced this toothbrush for me with another one the same after I did a live chat session with a customer representative. The new one is working fine so far and I was very happy about that.
- Thank you too for the offer from Philips, I did not have email notifications set so was not getting those updates through.
22 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
Tends to have battery issues within a year, so make sure you register it to get warranty replacements.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
I cannot yet attest to the toothbrushes longevity so I am hesitant to give it 5 stars, BUT...

In all honesty, my teeth are in shock. A couple of years ago, I drank tea quite heavily for a bit. Now I have been a smoker and I love coffee, but neither of those left my teeth looking as bad as simple green tea did. I had massive stains all over the front gaps which looked like bits of food from a distance and the back of the front teeth was basically completely black. I've been trying everything I could get my hands on, brushed 3 times a day, tried baking soda, citric acid, Hydrogen peroxide, flossing, interdental toothbrushes, various toothpastes like Rembrandt and mouthwash - no dice. Only thing that effectively got rid of it was my dentist with a rotary brush when I was there on a checkup. She did a few of the teeth and then she just gave me some tips about flossing and sent me on my way as she had another appointment coming up.

Anyway, I thought about going to a hygienist to finish the job properly for a while, but I still enjoy tea very much. She wouldn't likely be happy about my lifestyle and I didn't want to have to come back for cleaning regularly either, as it's pretty damn expensive. Now I had an electric brush before when I was little, but back then it was just a gimmick basically. It broke after a while and never really worked to begin with, but seeing all the reviews here and a pretty hefty discount from the rather insane original price, I decided to try the Sonicare. So here goes:

I've had it for a week - my stains are almost gone - still pretty bad, but only in hard to reach places on the back of the teeth and mostly around where my teeth were repaired - I believe a couple of days of directing my attention on those and they'll give up as well. The interdental stains are still there, although much less prominent. Hopefully, if I get the right size interdental brush ( I have very small gaps so it's hard to reach ), I'll get rid of them completely.

The brush feels a bit like a pneumatic hammer going off in your mouth. It's rather hard to tell which way the bristles are facing so I just try to orient it by the power button. First couple of brushes it's uncomfortable, but you get used to it. More importantly - try not to make too much contact with the bristles with the insides of your cheeks. It can really tear the skin on them and your lips to shreds. Nothing to be afraid of or painful, just keep in mind that it will likely happen to you at least once. It's not noticeable right away, but I woke up with mouth full of what I guess was dead skin pieces and my mouth felt a tad raw.

2:30 run time on the whitening mode seems rather short, I am used to brush longer than that, but hey - it gets the job done. I just wish it had an unlimited mode because I don't like powering it up again when I feel like there's a spot I missed.

It's loud, it could possibly wake others sleeping in the next room if the door isn't shut. At least it feels like it could.

The brush heads feel like they can take a lot of abuse considering how fast the thing is going, but I think there's no way they will last the declared 3 months. Not to mention I find it rather gross, I never had a toothbrush that long.

I don't know whether the motor gets damaged in any way, but it is definitely possible to put too much strain on it when you press it harder as it starts to make rather weird sounds. It goes back to normal when you lighten up the grip. It really doesn't feel like it's going to last years, but at 100 GBP, I can live with that.

The glass charger is useless for me, the cable is too bulky and short. I don't have a wall socket anywhere where I could just leave it and I don't want to put it on the ground. Seriously, it won't even go from the ground to table height. Same with the USB charger, but at least it's protected in that. The good news is that the battery seems to last quite a long time. The induction charger is a nice touch, hopefully it will add to the longevity of the brush as the battery can be hermetically sealed this way - which it hopefully is because I have to wash the brush base quite often. The vibrations will make the toothpaste leak all over your face - it's best to hold the base higher than the brush head, otherwise it will get messy all over.

Don't brush with open mouth otherwise you'll have a lot of cleaning to do. I'd love to see what I am doing inside my mouth too, but then I'd have to clean the mirror every time.

Generally, other than the stains, it seems my teeth are getting a bit brighter. It's hard to tell though. It's like loosing weight, hard to tell yourself when you see yourself every day.

All in all, I am happy so far. Hopefully it will last me a year or more and it got rid of the stains which would otherwise require me to pay the dental hygienist somewhere in the same ballpark it cost me to buy this brush. If it lasts at least a year, I will instantly go and buy a new one. If it doesn't, I'll probably go back to regular brush and see if the stains start to come back.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
This is a second one I bought & both have broken - the switch just stopped working. I have other makes for years & they are still in working order.
Waste of money.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
This is one incredible toothbrush! I have been using this brush for several months now and have noticed a distinct change in how white my teeth have become,. They are several shades whiter than before when using my Easyclean brush. I have used all settings but the most prolonged have been using the clean and whitener settings. Whitening gives a slightly stronger cleaning action and for an extended time but my word does it make a difference. My teeth feel cleaner and for longer. It really is worth the extra you pay, no longer do I need a hygienist giving my teeth a polish at my 6 monthly check as the dentist said there was zero plaque....Never had that before! Only by using it will you discover just how good and what a difference this brush makes.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2016
This is simply the best toothbrush on the market - bar none!

The fourth Philips Sonicare I have had, and by far the most advanced and effective in everything it does. I just hope it lasts longer than the normal 2-3 years that these brushes seem to survive. Longevity is the only downside to these models.

I have now had it a year and it is still perfect but I am touching wood as I write...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
This is truly a top electric toothbrush. I used to have a Colgate & Oral-B before and I noticed little oral improvement but honestly this removed every possible gum and teeth issues I was having & seriously would recommend this to people with bleeding gums, pains in teeth, if you love your chocolate etc.
OH AND looks wise it's simply sophisticated, classy and top quality down from it's build to it's charging stand that charges within without a connection physically!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
Whilst I originally loved this, it lasts a couple of years (if you are lucky) then dies . When I called Philips, I was told it was out of warranty but they could offer me a voucher. As this was a seriously expensive product at the time, I had thought it would last longer than the cheap ones I used to buy for my kids at the supermarket...
When it works, its great, but with an RRP of £250, I expected more than I got; a lot more. It would have been nice if Philips had even bothered to offer a repair, even if it was chargeable. Apparently after sales care is not a priority.

I won't be buying Philips again.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 24 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)