Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
63
4.0 out of 5 stars
Price:£29.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 17 October 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Remington is pretty much my top choice for this kind of product and I've been using their hair clippers for over a decade now. This one is a replacement for my old ceramic blade no-need-to-oil clippers, but the do worn off over time. It has a smooth action and does the job just as well as the old one, so no problems there.

On the minus side, it comes with just two adjustable combs instead of half a dozen or so individual combs as on the older models. I can see how this can save money on the production line, but since I crop my hair really short, I'm having an issue not having the possibility to chose the length between '0' and '3'. It's pretty much all or nothing. There is an extra comb for 'stubble' setting that provides a bit more flexibility, but old models with fixed combs were, and still are, much more suitable for those who keep their hair really short. Also, in terms of accessories, there are none. Not even a traveling bag.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
I have chosen this rating because for me this clipper is virtually unusable. The problem stems from the manufacturer trying to be too clever in designing one attachment for all lengths which is not the easiest to put on and take off. Worse still is the fact that the clipper attachment is not open on the top side and doesn't allow the cut hair to escape, resulting in clogging up several times which is not easy to clear quickly - result is a long time to achieve a haircut. I was using it on the 6mm setting to achieve No2 length. Five or six simple clip on single length attachments would work so much better and is a real shame because it is well made and feels good to use otherwise. Mine is being returned in the post tomorrow - best avoided certainly for short haircuts with attachment on.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
For years I have cut my own hair (I am a man) using scissors. The back of the head was never quite right, but then I don't look at it much so I ignored it. Now that I've just tried these power hair clippers, I wish I'd bought them years ago. They make cutting the back really easy and almost foolproof.

I read all the reviews and chose the Remington HC5600, and it seems perfect to me. Cuts effortlessly, easy to clean. The plastic comb attachments click into place and are simple to adjust and change. Some reviewers have complained the plastic is flimsy and easy to break. I think the plastic is perfectly adequate, and in proper use should not come under any strain. The clippers are not very noisy in use.

The instructions included are not much use. There are some excellent videos on YouTube showing how to use hair clippers, and I found it helpful and reassuring to watch one or two before my first attempt.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2016
Over the years i've had 6 or 7 different clippers. Without doubt Remington wipes the floor with the others i've had in terms of the actual clipper.
All of their recent model are very similar. Very strong build, very easy to use, reliable. These are no different, virtually identical to my last ones HC5357. Where both models (and almost all recent Remington models) fall down is the attachments. Like countless others have pointed out on all the models, the attachments are incredibly weak, fragile and hard to use. In case anybody has used my last model (5357) then i will go over the differences.

My attachment on that model broke, when i put the clippers on the arm of my leather sofa. It roll off and dropped on the floor. Really poor that such a small fall would cause the attachment to break. Also, the attachment was so fragile that when you push the clipper down to your scalp, it would bend in the middle causing an uneven cut. So...how do the attachments on this model compare? Well, there are still two main attachments. The small one is for cuts ranging from 3mm to 21mm. The large one is for 24-42mm. Both have settings at every 3mm interval, so 3mm, 6mm, 9mm etc. The good news is, the smaller attachment seems much stronger than on my previous model. Doesn't bend in the middle without using some force and there is an extra piece of plastic across the end. The blades are no longer "open" at the end. My hair is quite thick, but after using them for first a 15mm all over, then going down to 9mm, i managed to cut my hair easily enough. The one thing i would add, is i had to remove the attachment about 10 times during the cut to remove hair. This isn't unusual though, i have had to do that with every pair of clippers that used these kind of attachments. A slight concern is the attachment is very tight to move/remove compared to my old ones. It may be that the force needed to constantly take the attachment off may cause it to break, but only time will tell. The larger attachment doesn't look so good. Very fragile, bends in the middle, is open at then ends and you'll be lucky if it lasts 3 uses! Thankfully most people won't need to use the larger one, not many people use clippers for longer cuts (24mm+). There is also a beard attachment, but i won't ever use that.

Overall a very nice set of clippers, but as usual be very careful not to break the combs that come with it! Almost a certainty that the comb attachments will break long before the actual unit does.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2016
In one word - Superb. I cut my hair once a week and usually take the clippers to the gym. Normally (other makes) they don't last long, I either drop them or the battery becomes unusable and I usually replace them every six months.
I purchased this unit, as I replacement to the same model that I lost. The previous model I had for 18 months with no issues. The battery life is great, it's amazing that you can charge it via any USB connection. The unit and the guards are very robust and lasted well.
I paid £25 for this via Amazon, which is much cheaper than I paid for the first set in Boots.
Amazing value here, great tough unit that is really well made and really well thought out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
Great product, cuts really well, charges easily (usb), very good charge/cut ratio. Only negative is the clunky comb system - a problem noted by others. I can see why these are available in packs of two as a 'spare part'! Think I'll order mine soon so i have a spare ready...Treat comb with velvet kid gloves or suffer the consequences.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
This product conforms with the usual high quality associated with Remington. Bought for my husband, it met his requirements [short hair] admirable, no need to change attachments, simply adjust to the setting you require, along with a quick charging time, it more than met his requirements.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
I am very fussy about clippers having cut my own hair (graded short back and sides) for 15 years with various clippers. This one is good so far. Reasonably powerful and importantly plenty of range in the cutting length which is what I go for as I rarely have the top as short as the traditional grade 8. This goes up to grade 12 or something (42mm i think).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
Compared to my old Remington clipper, I found this to be quite poorly designed. Unless I was doing something stupidly wrong, when cutting my son's hair. I had to keep removing the attachment as all the cut hair gets trapped inside it. I also found out too late that the adjustment between 6mm and 3mm is quite severe, and the boy looked like he'd been scalped at the end of the haircut, as once I'd started, and he looked like Peter Gabriel in the early Genesis days, I had to continue. I've given two stars, to allow for the benefit of the doubt that I'd managed to use it incorrectly, but the lad now won't let me try it again, so I've had to buy a more expensive Panasonic clipper.

The problem with a lot of these now is that they give you one or two 'adjustable' attachments, when they used to come with several, of all measurements. My old Remington was excellent, but the charger packed up, and I can't find a replacement.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
This is a replacement for my old Remington. The battery died on the old one after 10yrs. lots of choice but went for this one because it had a Li-on battery and the god reviews. I choose to have cutter on shortist setting so slide movement is no issue for me. The head is a lot bulkier than the old one and takes a little getting used to but it cuts very well and very smoothly, it picks up the wispy bits at the temples really well. I have only used it 3 times but it is great.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)