Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
31
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£99.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2017
This little thing is a complete beast.
Orange have nailed it with this amp. I have run this through a Marshall 4x12 and it works so well. Excellent tone, and excellent volume!
Every guitarist should get themselves one of these.
It's a must!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
I'm raising eyebrows with this wee beauty and its intended marriage with the PPC-108 cab. For the money I can't fault it really. I haven't tried a 12" can however other reviewers here have and I don't doubt it. The handiness of this well-specified pre-amp is its size but its the well rounded easily matched tone with my standard Gibson Les Paul Hi Perf is the icing on my Orange system cake. Grrr!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Great practice amp. It's very loud when it needs to be, more like 60watt then 20 watt. It sounds great on lower volume too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
Well, for 2 days this was a fantastic amp and was fully living up to expectations. On day 3 it had ceased to be,..power light on but no output at all. Very disappointing. Its now on its way back to Amazon and I shall probably purchase another one on the assumption that I was unlucky. :(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Plugged this into my homemade cabinet with a Warehouse Guitar Speaker.
Great all round, powerful sound. Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2015
Bought one of these for home recording/ home use. All I can say is WOW. It is a beast, way louder than I expected, great tone and superb for plug in and away you go. Justba couple of things to help improve the use of it. I initially purchased one of the speaker cabs, PPC108, which is made for the micro terror. Whilst a good speaker, if your budget can stretch to two cabs, do so. Two improve the sound so much, smoothing out some of the harsher tone and giving a fuller rounder sound.
Also, I removed the stock JJ tube and replaced it with a tung-sol tube, which took a couple of minutes, and this too significantly increased volume and smoothed out the tone even more. For what you pay this is an exceptional piece of kit, it can be played through other cabs assuming you get 4/8/16 ohm cabs, there are some superb videos on the interweb of it being played through 4x12's in a band situation and it holds its own.
Don't hesitate get one.
review image
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2016
Bought this 2 months ago, at first It was no doubt that its a great/mini head, sounds amazing with the orange speaker PPC-108, but after one month playing it, the on/off knob got stuck in one position and I cannot use the amp since then. Hope it is an specific problem with this particular head, as it has really good reviews in general.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2016
In a nutshell, this thing is ridiculous considering the price and minuscule size. It may seem obvious, but this amp is not for you if you're not a fan of Orange or after an amp that does sparkly clean tones.

I bought this as I was after something compact which was suitable for bedroom practice, as well as rehearsals. I wanted something that was a step above the calibre of budget practice amplifiers and easily transportable.

The Good:

- pretty authentic orange tones. The inclusion of a tube preamp helps with this. It's obviously not going to sound like a Rockaverb, but if you want the fundamentals, this is not bad at all.
- loud, especially when paired with a 2X12 or 4X12 cabinet. I've used it through both and bigger speakers which help to bring out the character of the amp really well. If using a bigger cabinet, it can hold it's own in a rehearsal situation with a loud punk drummer and other guitarists.
- runs quietly, doesn't get too hot.

The Bad

-there is a definite sweet spot with this amp. If you started going to extremes with the tone or gain controls, things can sound quite muddy. At lower volumes, it can have a tinny sound. I've found the sweet spot to be 12-2 o clock on the volume and gain knobs, with the tone at 12 0 clock. I find this is a quite a good 'base' sound that you can do a lot with.
- I've had variable experiences with using it with pedals. You generally have to turn the volume up to full and the gain right down to get acceptable results, but even then it can be temperamental with overdrive/distortion pedals.
- the headphone out is awful. Its scratchy, tiny and not worth using. There is obviously some sort of limiter that is messing around with the signal.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
Brilliant little guitar amp! As usual with Orange you get a good product, however I was quite stunned by how small it was when I saw it in front of me and was sceptical about the sound quality...I was wrong! It is a compact preamp that has a big sound. The facilities on it are fairly basic but it has enough on it for me to be confident to gig with it. Worth every penny I paid for it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
I have just taken delivery of this delightfully cute little [very little] Orange amp and its dedicated speaker cabinet It arrived very well packed and with all the leads and mains adaptor required [which is in itself refreshing as so many items have standard equipment treated as "extras"!]
I plugged it all in and found that for such a teeny amp the sound is amazing. It would sound even fuller with a bigger speaker cab of course as it again amazingly pumps out 20 watts of power, but the dedicated one is absolutely fine for home use and if the volume was turned up [I haven't had it past 3-4 yet and it sounded good] would also be ok for small gigs I would think.
It is very strudy with all metal construction and is really a miniature version of any other larger Orange amp. The speaker cab has reinforced corners and the famous Orange straw coloured cloth front All in all it makes for a very stylish set up with incredible volume and simple controls...what's not to like?
A small tip here; If you register it online at Orange's website they will also give you an extra year's guarantee
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)