Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Playlist - Acoustic Christmas Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 24 September 2013
I purchased this because I am hard of hearing.I used to have to turn the TV volume up for speech and down for music. Speech is now greatly improved, and the sub woofer renders deep sounds that I never knew were there ! It is intelligent - adjusts volume with the TV remote control, and switches off when you switch off the TV. It detects Dolby sound when you play DVDs although I have not noticed any real "surround sound" effect.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2015
bought 4 different connection cables spent all of xmas trying to get it set up and it still didn;t work. Very dissapointing. Had to argue the point to get a refund for faulty goods too. Not impressed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2013
This unit is a perfect complement to a Panasonic TV with Viera Link (HDAVI Control 5) as it is then possible to use the main TV remote to select the TV or Sound Bar for sound output and change sound volume.

My Panasonic predates this and has Q-Link, which is incompatible with the HTB527 so it is necessary for me to use the small remote that comes with the kit to alter sound settings, and I have to silence the TV with it's own remote. A bit more cumbersome but not too much of a burden.

I would recommend looking at Panasonic's own website to get a full description of this kit, and an idea of the recommended price.

The soundbar is deemed suitable for TV's in the 47-55 inch range. As it happens I am using it on the built in stand that comes with my 42 inch TH 42PX60B Panasonic and it is an exact fit as the TV is a vintage one with wider bezel (and much better sound) than modern day sleek designs. Connection is simple enough with HDMI from the unit to the TV (or optical). My Panasonic DVD recorder which previously also connected to the TV by HDMI now connects into the soundbar through the HDMI socket provided in a daisy chain arrangement. Even with the soundbar turned off the HDMI signal from the DVD recorder to the TV is kept live so it is possible to play DVDs and recordings as previously using just one HDMI connection into the TV.

The sound is fuller and potentially much louder than the TV's built in 10 watts per channel and the "sub-woofer" adds much more ambience to big events such as football matches, Eurovision Song Contest and the like. For example, I did not realise I could here the thump of the football being kicked during a match before I had this add-on. Returning to my TV's own sound is noticeably flatter and less engaging so the difference should be much more marked with the modern generation of flat panel TVs which have smaller, less powerful speakers built in.

The sub-woofer is linked wirelessly to the main soundbar so can be placed remotely needing only a mains supply to operate. The mini remote allows four sub-woofer settings plus it can just be turned off locally if you want a little less thump. All the units are silver coloured, so match my existing TV and stand. I am using my system in a modern styled environment where they blend in but it's worth considering the impact of silver in an otherwise more reserved decorated area.

Having had no previous experience with Home Cinema I cannot say how this unit compares with other systems. However, many of the demonstrations I have listed to have tended to be a bit overpowering and while impressive in the short-term would probably cause listening fatigue after about half an hour. This Panasonic set has not had this effect, even after enduring the Eurovision semi-finals. It sounds good at normal volume levels as well as louder ones so I find I tend to use it most of the time. I consider it provides enhanced sound without going overboard so it is possible to listen for extended periods.

I picked mine up at my local Costco Warehouse and I am very happy with it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2014
The product is truly exceptional for the price, easily installed and l am mo audio expert. The quality with the wi-fi subwoofer is amazing
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2014
we actually ended up with a SC-HTB570EBS 2.1 unit,and are happy with its performance and versatility.
Sonic Direct (the Seller) have proved to be forthright,helpful and quick . Our order and questions/request for assistance were dealt with in a most efficient and friendly manner......
we would purchase equipment from them again !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2013
WOW makes such a massive difference instead of just using the televisions sounds! I don't think I ever watch tele without the soundbar on
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2014
I have the best set up for this piece of equipment according to the instructions, being both a viera tv and a viera hard drive/recorder, which means that i didn't have to use the remote that came with this unit. However it also means that i apparently cannot alter the sound levels of the sub woofer supplied.
Apart from that one gripe it works perfectly with improved sound performance
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2014
The System was easy to set up,
I have always brought Panasonic TV / DVD
Hyperfi the supple of the Sound System first clas.r
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2016
Came without the subwoofer had to return it ...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2014
Attached this to our Samsung TV with an HDMI cable to the ARC output on the TV. The soundbar itself produces a lovely deep rich sound which really brings the TV to life, because we don't have a Panasonic TV when we switch on our TV doesn't seem to trigger the soundbar. However just switching the TV speaker settings to TV speakers, and then back to receiver, does the trick. Having a wireless sub woofer makes it really easy to place in the room.
Lovely sound for a pretty reasonable price.
This happens to be a Which best buy, and its well deserved.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here