Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
243
4.1 out of 5 stars
Price:£73.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2013
I purchased my LG 42LA620V tv and was extremely happy with it. However this tv came with a traditional remote control which made navigating around the smart features quite fiddly. I then began the search to find a smart remote after watching a demonstration on YouTube. The one problem was that no where could I find which remote was compatible with my tv (a 2013) model. That was until I searched Amazon. Even though the description described that this item was compatible with most 2013 models I was still a bit unsure. But I took a gamble and ordered this remote, dongle and cable package. Well I was not disappointed, the installation was simple, plug the cable into the USB port of my tv and attach the dongle. The TV recognised the remote immediately and off I went. Navigation of the menus is now very slick. The voice recognition searching also comes in very handy as I do not have a keyboard attached to the tv. I cannot fault this item and the service I received from Amazon. The only downside is the cost but that isn't even enough to prevent me giving this item 5 stars. For retailers selling this LG Tv I would recommend stocking this item and selling it with the tv as it massively improves the functionality.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2015
I bought this as a gift for my other half. He has an LG TV and didn't know what he was missing out on!
We have used it solidly for a year and find it much easier to navigate the TV controls than the remote that came with the TV.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
It does what it says it does, but having purchased it, I hardly use it. A TV remote, a Blueray player remote, a sound bar remote, a Sky remote, and now this! It just seems like overkill. It's not strictly necessary but if you like gadgets, then you'll probably buy this. (bring back the pen and paper era).
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
Ergonomic, but that's all, it looks and feels good. But a total lack of instructions has made a virtual ornament.
Apparently it only works with free view which I don't. Anyone that knows how it works please feel free to comment and direct me to a good manual. So until then I have a new non-functional ornament that cost me fifty odd quid.
Also LG has no means to give an extended warranty as the chap I spoke too could not find it on his system.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
I love having this remote. It makes everything so much easier. Especially when using apps or the internet
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
good but unnecessary
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
This didn't come with my new LG 3D TV, but I managed to get one as the retailer I bought it from said it was included and demo'd it to me before I bought the TV. So I have one but didn't pay for it - although there was a rigmarole in getting it. Anyway I have had a chance to use it and its great fun. Plug the supplied dongle into a usb slot on the TV and secure it with the supplied velcro to the back of the TV (it doesn't have to be in line of sight of the remote). TV recognises its there and you register the remote to the TV by pressing the OK wheel. A small cursor appears on the screen and you guide it around as required. There are buttons to access the smart menu, adjust volume etc etc.

Press the wheel/OK button and you can "draw" on the screen for your channel number, or you can swipe it across the screen to access previously viewed channels. Scroll through menus, TV guide or internet pages with the scroll wheel. And the greatest bit: hold down the microphone button and speak into the remote and it makes a very good job of recognising what you say! You can use it on internet searches or to find programmes etc. I just tried "Lake Como" and it came up with various options to choose from, including Youtube clips, iplayer progs, etc.

Brilliant for showing off to friends, great for web surfing on the TV. I'm still finding out what it can do, but very impressed so far. If it was priced at 30 quid I'd say you must get one. If you are paying over 40 then I'd think through how much use you make of the smart features on the TV, and maybe take a look at the various videos showing it in use on youtube. Note - you must have a 2013 LG TV and make sure you get this remote not the previous one for 2012 tellys - it doesn't have the voice activation or the 3D button.

Just off to play with it some more. It would be 5 stars if it was cheaper. Its 5 stars for me since I got it free, but this review is to advise you lot...
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
The Magic Remote is a nice toy, it makes inputting stuff like passwords and searches a lot easier but it's not an essential item. The thing I don't like is where the pointer is pointing does not always relate to where the arrow is on screen and you have to drag it to the edge to realign it but it is a nice gadget to play with and some apps will not work without it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
Have to say I have been disappointed overall with this device. Frankly I find the stock remote better to access the totality of functionality my Smart LG offers. At nearly £40 this is an overpriced toy. There is simply no killer functionality this device offers that justifies the price. Everything can be done via the stock remote and in many cases more easily than via the magic remote.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
This is fun. Upside is being 65 years old and remembering "Robbie the Robot", I never thought I would be able to talk to my TV. Downside is that it is just a toy. The Seller didn't even know if it would work with my LG TV. It is also grossly overpriced. There is a general big scam going around with TVs and gadgets. Be careful what you commit too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 70 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)