Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
178
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2011
I was bought a kenwood chef titanium for my birthday and decided to buy the mincer attachment which comes with sausage nozzles. The meat was very easy to find but getting sausage skins from a butcher proved to be a mission or prices worked out more than the meat. A friend told me about the collagen version and was delighted to find different variations and sizes on amazon. So easy, you uncoil and cut the amount you need, soak it in lukewarm water for around 10 mins then slowly push on to the sausage nozzle, wrinkling it up as you go. Then tie a nice easy knot in the end and away you go. The best bit is due to the elasticity of the collagen when damp there is no need to twist as you fill. Simply fill the whole length into a large bowl and twist into the required lengths afterwards. It is recommended to refridgerate for 30 mins to allow the skin to stiffen but you can just pop straight into the frying pan.
In summary this product is excellent value and easy to use, thanks!
22 Comments| 82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
I was initially sceptical of using collagen casings, after all, homemade sausages should be 'all natural'. However, after using natural casings on and off for a year now, and never coming to grips with the terrible smell (no matter how thoroughly you rinse them) I decided to give these a go again and was very pleased with the result. Once the casings are stuffed and the sausages have matured overnight, they look exactly the same as if they were made from natural casings. They grill the same as well. Will be going this route from now on as not only are they more pleasant to work with, they are much easier to store as well.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
The skins were perfect; I used about two thirds of one roll and made just over 6lbs of sausages. I must admit I could do with a better sausage recipe, they were a little too dry, I used all shoulder meat and they would have benefited from the addition of some pork belly for the extra fat. But the skins them self were perfect.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
We used these during our first attempt at making sausages and they worked very well indeed.

As the instructions state, they do not need to be soaked, however you should oil your hands to help soften the casings whilst they are being filled, it also makes them more flexible and gives them a nice shine.

You need to ensure to push the casing tightly up the spout during the filling process to avoid uneven distribution of the casing.

They will fit on a 19mm spout. You can find a table of recommended casing/spout sized on the Tongmaster website, below the product description (go to tongmaster.co.uk/sausage-casings-skins/home-user-pack/30mm-Nitta-Collagen-Sausage-Casings-Home-User-Pack-Allergen-Free)
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
Prompt delivery. Great for making home made sausages. Make sure you buy the right size. I had to go up a size with my next order because my mincer had a tapered nozzle and I needed to ensure that the casing needed to right to the top (wide end) to ensure I got the correct filling. Not a problem - but worth thinking about. I always make my own and these casings make the job easy!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2011
made my first batch of sausage and they taste lovely! not too chewy and not taste funny. just when it say 2 rolls it really means 2 only , not as much as u can see on the pic.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2011
Easy to use, long shelf life and very long. They feed out smoothly, come in a range of sizes and provided you leave the sausages in the fridge overnight they moisten beautifully and look exactly like professionally produced sausages. You need to get your technique right to avoid splitting them, but once you have that figured out (and it doesn't take too long) they give great results.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2012
I normally use hog casings purchased from the butcher, but decided to give these a try due to their long shelf life.
Pros: Much cleaner than hog casings, easier to work with, no prep, and certainly less mess. They taste fine, and in fact were less chewy than the hog casings. They don't give your sausages an artificial taste or texture. A few pin pricks (with sanitized pin) got rid of any air pockets, and none burst while cooking.
Cons: Lack the elasticity of natural casings. You need to be very careful not to overstuff, as these are prone to bursting. They also do not coil as well as natural casings. Not a problem if you're looking to make straight links, but if you want to coil or loop your sausage, you will end up with something that looks more like creases and bends. It doesn't affect the taste, but just doesn't look as nice. (Note: I did not pre-soak the casings, that might help alleviate the problem)
Overall, I would highly reccomend these, and plan to keep a stock on hand for any spur of the moment sausage making.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
Excellent speedy service. Will be ordering more after "experimenting" with sausage making. Will also be ordering the sausage receipe book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
very easy to use , freeze very well when made, the only fault I find this skin does not brown very well when grilled, the best result is to fry them
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here