Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
107
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2013
For the price, this is a great bit of kit. Other than being a little bit noisy when writing to disks, it's pretty much perfect. Barebones of course, so no cables etc. included - but if you're replacing a dead drive like I was then this doesn't matter.

There is a newer firmware available (dated 16th January 2013) than the version that mine arrived with.
[...]
22 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
I don't know much about computers as I've been a console nut all my life. However, I've used this drive for my first computer and it's working brilliantly. It's an excellent starting drive and the noise that a few other reviews that I read before purchasing has yet to make an appearance. I'd highly recommend this drive to anyone like myself who's sick of the next gen. consoles and wishes to become part of the glorious Master Race of PC gamers...hahaha...
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
This is the noisiest drive I have ever encountered, to the extent that the first time in use after installation I was looking for a displaced cable catching in a fan, rather than suspecting the internals of the drive.

Functionally, it works - but I really can't stand the uproar.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
I have bought LG drives more often than not for computer builds over the years because I have always found them to be very reliable. I had a SATA Samsung DVD writer in one of my systems which to be fair lasted 5 years but it was noisy and very flimsy from the outset. Also, even though I thought I kept the room it was housed in very clean, dust still managed to get into the drive.This however is quiet, made of robust materials and seems to have at least some protection against dust penetration. Hopefully it will last as long, if not longer than the Samsung.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
This does what I wanted it to, and offers loads of other formats too. I've knocked a Star off because it's a bit noisy when it gets going, but no more than any other drives I've had.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
bought it for my pc build and its very good its quiet when runs. had no problem puting it into my case. and its cheap and you get a ton of performence.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
What can I say, This does what it says on the tin.
I read some comments it was noisy but it makes a louder noise when it starts but is really quiet in operation.
Excellent choice to replace an existing drive.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
I am rather disappointed with this unit. I have to agree with Henros. I never normally leave reviews but i think people need to be warned. The drive works very well as a burner, ive done about 20 dvds without a frisbee but each and every time i use it, it seems like the drive is going to take off. The dvds are usually very warm when ejected also.

In addition the drive doesn't fill up my dvd bay, at first i thought it was my case so i tried it in a spare case and there is a gap there too. I have had 2 LG drives in the past and both have been outstanding but even at this price i expect a lot more from them. If this is the new standard, i'll be spending my money on a liteon.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
This was bought to use with M-Discs, having read about their longevity (see separate review). The drive was a straight swap for the standard DVD rewriter and worked straight out of the box. Other reviewers have complained about how noisy the drive is but this has not been my experience - I have found it no noisier than the standard drive. Early days yet but I have found it to be totally reliable and I have not had a single failed 'burn', though this has not always been the case with the standard burner in my laptop. Standard DVDs can be read without a problem and M-Discs can be read in standard drives. This drive and the M-Discs are highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
I had to send this product back as I had bought the wrong one, as I needed IDE connectors. So nothing wrong with it, it was sent within a couple a days, well packaged and no problems organising the return via the companies courrier
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 11 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)