Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
247
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 December 2010
I ordered one of these for my Dad who is disabled. He is very happy with it. Compared to other units of about the same price it is sturdy and well made. Its is easy to fold for storage. The peddle straps are removable but can be ignored by putting your foot on the other side.
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2012
I bought one of these 4 months ago, and it broke today. I have done approx 120-150 hours on it, so it's not THAT terrible- about 25p per hour of use.

But I'm now definitely going to buy a different one instead. First off all, while you can 'adjust the resistance', what this actually amounts to is a bolt sticking out of the front of the exerciser, which you turn in so that it pushes into the centre of the apparatus, thus providing resistance against the pedals inside. Which is fine, but the bolt wears away VERY quickly- after about 15 minutes- and you then have to tighten it in even more if you still want resistance, until after half a dozen attempts, you run out of bolt, and you're left with a low resistance, very easy to pedal exerciser.

Now, this issue with weak metal got even worse for me today, as I was happily pedaling and the right pedal just came right off- I think the heat generated by pedaling has weakened the metal, and it simply snapped. Now, you might say that this was inevitable over time, and I guess it is, but I've had another exercise bike before, and done a lot more hours on it, and this never happened. It's not like I was even out of breath when it happened, so I don't think I was breaking any speed records at the time.

I was recently made disabled, and this exerciser has helped me a lot, but I can't really say I'd buy another one of these, as it doesn't provide resistance (which is obviously more and more desirable the fitter you get), and.... it broke!
11 comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
I was hit by a cyclist who jumped a red light and following extensive surgery was warned that if I did walk again, it would only be with great difficulty. I struggled for years to make sure this didn't happen but with weight piling on through not being able to exercise, I seemed to be fighting a losing battle. By December 2011 I was walking again (6 years on) but still suffered constant leg and back pain. I bought these pedals and have religiously used them for a minimum of 30 minutes a day. In seven months, I have no pain at all in my legs, only slight intermittent back pain and although I've not actually lost weight as such, I have lost a total of 14.5 inches from my thighs, stomach and bum!

This item is easy to use, lightweight but sturdy, can be neatly stored under a coffee table then just popped out while you're watching TV, reading, whatever and you barely notice you're doing it. You can tighten the resistance to make it easy or difficult so can work to a level you feel comfortable with or build up to. The metal arms holding the pedals do get hot though so don't touch them after you finish! Since using it, not only can I walk almost normally, but a friend gave me a Rosemary Conely DVD which last year I could only manage the 12 min chair workout. Now, within 7 months of using these I can quite comfortably do whole DVD, 20 min tone up and 29 min aerobics.

My doctor is stunned. I'm stunned. I can't praise these pedals enough because this major change only came when I started using them - but you have to keep at it. Good luck! :-)
66 comments| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2011
The Delux Pedal Exerciser Mobility Aid is an excellent machine. I have purchased 2 over the past year for my mother and father-in-law. Mum suffered badly from excess water in the ankles. Since using the exerciser she has had that trouble no more.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2011
very useful exerciser for those stuck at home due to disability or age or poor weather over xmas. Great to keep the joints and circulation moving if you can't get out much. it is light and portable and can be used for arms also.
22 comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2012
If I were rating purely on construction and usefulness, this wouldn't even rate one star. But... well, it kind of works after a fashion, and you get what you pay for!

First off, most people obviously view this for it's usefulness as a mobility aid. I'm fit, healthy, exercise daily, and frankly just wanted a way to feel less guilty about time spent on the computer or in front of an Xbox! For this it's virtually useless. The promised resistance comes by way of a screw you tighten to add pressure to the already flimsy pedals and alarmingly overheating metal. Far from adding any actual resistance, it just makes the pedalling motion clunky and stilted. If you could safely avoid using it and at least get some kind of spinning benefit, that might be okay. But you can't. Again: flimsy pedals, overheating metal. Plus, on mine at least, such poor construction one side wasn't properly affixed, with no discernible way to fix it, meaning the pedal made an alarming clunking sound each time it went round.

Okay. So. Utterly useless as a fitness aid. What about those seeking to increase their mobility? I actually spent a fair length of time either bedridden or confined to a wheelchair. When I was first recovering my legs were so weak that, assuming I hadn't been sent a machine with a wonky pedal, I could probably have gained some limited benefit from using the machine without it's "resistance" for at least a short while. If that sounds like you (or the person you're buying for), then it's better than nothing. The only thing I would say is, if it's for a vulnerable person, whatever you do, make sure their skin is protected from the metal. I can't begin to stress how quickly or dangerously it heats up! Terrible design flaw.

Whatever your circumstances, you're most likely looking at this for the same reason I was: because you don't have much cash to spare and it's one of the more affordable options. If you're fit, or have any muscle strength at all, don't waste your money. If you're using it for rehabilitation for utterly wasted or weakened muscles, it's better than nothing, but do use it with care.
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2011
Bought for COPD patient. Been useful for gaining intial strength and subsequent gentle exercise. Would like greater range of resistance settings. Easy to store, set up and use.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2011
Bought the pedal exerciser to recover some motorbility after having a total knee replacement. Easy to use whilst watching TV. One thing I have noticed is that the axle can become quite warm if used at a high tension setting, and it works better with the straps removed. Recommend this aparatus to anyone who want's to exercise in the comfort of their own home.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2011
I bought this exerciser for a disabled friend in a nursing home. This well-made pedal cycle has been a life-saver for her as its the only form of excercise she ever gets and it improves her swollen ankles.

Last year I bought her a similar exercise cycle via Amazon, but it was a cheap plastic model that was both unstable and tended to slip on floor surfaces, unlike this high spec model which has rubber feet and is a treat to use.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2011
Item seems well engineered , came promptly and reasonably serves its purpose. But with hindsight I wish I had purchased a pedal exerciser with a flywheel to provide the rotational momentum necessary to carry my weaker leg through the 'top-dead-centre' position. Without this, there is a lower limit on which I can set the resistance.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)