Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
68
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 January 2013
After reading some of the less favourable reviews I was a little doubtful if this would give me a good shave, as I found I couldn't get on with Philishave rotary shavers years ago and stuck with longitudinal cutter types since.

I needn't have worried though, this is miles better than my trusty, but now getting very old Braun 7 Series, the 1175 gives me the best shave I've had in years! Add the fact that you can also wet shave with it (not tried yet) makes it a versatile shaver.

I particularly like the clipper attachment, which clicks in place of the shaving head, very neat and saves having to take a separate set of clippers when going away on a trip. A great product for £92.

I would recommend checking the Philips website to compare models when selecting, it was very helpful in deciding which model to buy.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
I bought this shaver from Amazon in January so I have had several weeks using it and feel I can offer my honest opinion.
The shaver is comfortable to use and it does give me a good shave.
Shaving with this shaver is so slow compared to my previous Philishaves. The motor seems to be labouring and I find that sometimes I am moving too fast and the shaver has to catch up. The hair collection area is a joke it fills up in no time and I feel this contributes to the labouring of the motor. I sometimes have to empty it and then carry on shaving. The pouch is also a very cheap product which, I feel ofers no protection to the shaver. To charge, the charge cradle must be used. No simple plug in and shave option here. The shaver is suited to being sat on a shelf in your bathroom with the charge cradle ready to accept the shaver. Not for packing in your suitcase and travelling about.
I feel I have wasted my money purchasing this model. I wish that I had bought the older type cheaper model, complete with plug in cord, proper carry case and larger hair collector.
These are my views and what I have found using this model. I realise that others will find it ok for them.
If you have tough hair, a strong growth, want to use whilst travelling. My advice would be. Forget this shaver.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
I haven't used an electric shaver for many years now, preferring to wet shave.
But this shaver is very good indeed.
The flexibility of the heads means that it produces a very close shave - admittedly not as close as a wet shave, but very close all the same.
The shaver charges very quickly, and the battery seems to last for ages, before I need to re-charge.
This shaver is highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
Great shaver! As usual with electric shavers, it won't work quite as well as a wet shave (it comes close though), but TBH that wasn't the reason I bought it. I wanted something quick and easy that I could just grab and tidy up my stubble when it has crept down my neck in the middle of the night. I also wanted to use it to trim my hair to a grade 0 a couple of times a week.

This shaver didn't disappoint. In fact, in terms of comfort, the trimmer performed better than my Wahl cordless Li-ion clippers. It also seems to maintain power throughout trimming, whereas my Wahl gets a bit sluggish at 50% battery and starts plucking rather than trimming. Fast forward 2-3 days and cue in-growing hairs. Not a problem with this product!

You get about 1 hour of use on a full charge which takes 1 hour from flat. Doesn't sound a lot but it equates to a charge once a week for me, that's daily stubble maintenance and 2 full hair cuts.

Product is quite light but looks heavier and is well built. Battery indication is handy, basically 1 led light per 10 minutes of shaving left. There is also a grade guide to attach to the trimmer which cuts evenly. I tend to use that to tame my eyebrows and tend to my thick black Magnum PI style chest hair.

I'd basically brand it as a multi-purpose shaver/trimmer. It does exactly what you want it to do with ease. Until now I've needed to use different products to shave/trim but this has replaced them all. Thoroughly recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
Seems OK so far. I have a trimmed beard so use both parts equally, the beard trimmer is very good. Cons so far, the shaver head cover is very flimsy, I had to replace it after a week, being extra careful with the new one as they are about £8. The other thing I'm slightly concered how long the socket that the heads fit into will last and only time will tell on this one.

So having bought a second head cover, it lasted about 3 months, I contacted customer service, who said they would replace it...., they didn't.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
This is a good shaver. I use it 4 or 5 days a week and it gives a good relatively close shave. I have used cheaper Philips models for the last 15 years and this is worth the extra money. The flexible head makes it a lot easier to follow the contours of my face. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
Excellent shaver. Christmas gift for husband - he's more than thoroughly impressed with it. Often thinks it's not working because it's so smooth and gentle. If this ever wears out it will instantly be replaced with the same model
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
I researched the sensibly priced rotary shavers to replace my 6 year old Philips shaver. On "Which" this shaver came second to a more expensive one. On Amazon there are plenty of very good reviews. So I choose this one and, after a couple of weeks, I can report this is a superb shaver that is well worth the money. It's price seems to fluctuate a bit between £102 and £125. I bought mine at £112.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
This shaver is by far the best electric shaver I have used. It is very easy on the skin & in particular the sensitive neck area. The shave is as close as I remember from a 'wet' shave, that's the best compliment I can pay.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2015
My previous shaver was also a Phillips and was extremely good from new. This one, however, struggles in all ways and I am fairly dissapointed in it. It takes ages to shave in the morning and it leaves some hairs untouched. However the battery life is extremely good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)