Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 November 2014
Exellent item, I had a TP link router in before I bought this and it just went on for years. After ordering a Asus one that arrived DOA I decided a refund was needed and got this one. I'm not dissapointed, it s far far better than a standard virgin super hub, but so is a couple of paper cups and a piece of string. You have loads of setup options and is easy to confgure. I did'nt bother with the install CD i Just connected in with my LAN and configured that way. The GUI makes setting up this way a breeze anyway. Set my MTU rate, Set the ports throughput and WIFI config and hey presto off we go! It hasa really good range in 2.4ghz and a little less in 5ghz but thats to be expected. You can also configure both sides of the WIFI to either 5Ghz or 2.4 Ghz which is useful if you dont have anything capable to receive 5Ghz but little else. The TP-link app is nice as well to see who's connected. I.E if your kids are meant to be asleep and watching youtube on their tablets etc you can boot them off, or just to see if anyone is connected who shouldnt be. It even gives you some of the routers settings and option to reboot! It would appear that this router has won quite a few awards, its not hard to see why. No its not going to be as fast as a AC router, but its quick, very very stable, easy to setup, loads of config options with a nice GUI, has two usb ports for media use and I've always found TP-links web support brilliant. I'd buy Another TP-link over pretty much anything else now. So should you!
22 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
Excellent for Sky Fibre users wanting to upgrade their routers. I have installed OpenWRT on it, which allows me to use this with sky and many other features such as VLANs and Multi WAN. If you want a new router to replace your current free one from your ISP, this is good for you! Wifi is speedy too.
55 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
The WiFi range is very good: it'll easily cover a medium sized house. I find the speeds to be consistently good too, even in weaker WiFi coverage areas.

The router is built well: it feels like it will stand-up to many years of use. There are also plenty of air-vents so it doesn't get even get warm: it's always very cold to the touch. The only issue is the glossy plastic TP-Link have used: it scratches very easily, so the router certainly doesn't look brand new if looked at in the light. But, it's a router, so do you really care about what it looks like?

What I really like about it is that it is open. I installed the 'Gargoyle' firmware on it, which provides a feature called Quality of Service (QOS). What this means is that we can all be online at the same time, without issues. For example, one of my Sons can be gaming and I can be watching Netflix. Netflix doesn't buffer and my Son's game doesn't lag. It really is excellent. If you want more info, search 'Gargoyle firmware' on Google.

Overall then, really, really good. I would definitely recommend this router!

PLEASE READ ADSL USERS: this is a router ONLY, so if you are going to be using it on an ADSL connection you'll either need an ADSL modem or an ADSL (modem) router than can be put into modem-only mode/bridge mode. Any questions, feel free to post them in the comments and I will do my best to help you out.
55 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
Excellent router. I've always found TP-Link kit to be reliable and cheap and this is no exception. I use a Draytek Vigor 2920n elsewhere but opted for the TL-WDR3600 this time on cost. The stock firmware lacks some features (certainly compared to the Draytek!) but this router can run alternative firmware; making its feature set on par with routers costing three times the price and up.

I've put OpenWRT on this and up and running with our multiple public Static IP assignment in no time (Zen Fibre). Good hardware and a proven OpenWRT model. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
TL-WDR3600 - N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
[...]

The packaging is very easy to access and tidy. Very impressed with the overall quality and presentation of the TP-Link N600. This shows attention to detail and gives me confidence that the equipment inside is good quality.

Inside the box of course we have the router itself, power adapter, a network cable to attach it to an existing cable modem and also the aerials for router itself. With the very well laid out instructions are also enclosed there is also set-up CD. Everything you need to set up the router.

First look at the router shows that is well made with gloss black style that fits in very well near the TV/Media centre. As more devices require a network connections I think that the router could spend more time near this area in the home. My setup includes the Blu-ray player, Media PC, Network Attached Storage (think big hard drive that any computer can access if they are connected via Wi-Fi or network cable.) and PS3 using all four Gigabit network ports, all in the one place in the living room.

The reason that Gigabit wired ports and Dual Band Wireless N features on the router are very important is the fact the home network will be used to stream music and video over my network. I need the connection to be as fast as it can as streaming media can use a lot of bandwidth, or think of it like this, I can fit more water down a drain pipe than a hose pipe. I have a fast connection between my Media PC and my Network Storage so HD movies are watched in ease with no stuttering while others are surfing the internet.

The 2 USB ports are an ideal edition to the router as this allows you to plug in a External USB hard drive that may already have your music and movies on it and the router will then act as a file/media server for other devices on the network. An iPad could watch a TV show in one room while a laptop could be listening to music. Want to add more music or another film? Just copy across and let the router do the work, then everyone can access the media.

The USB ports also allow you to share a printer across all your computers. No more waiting for the PC with the printer connected to it to boot up while figuring out how to transfer the file to said PC

One feature that is going to be amazing for many households is Bandwidth Management. This allows you to set how much of the "pipe" each user gets. For example, If was starting to download a file, the network would become slow for other users who are surfing the net. With bandwidth management a gamer could be set to use a small about of the pipe which is enough to play games, but other users can comfortably surf the net.

Using the Bandwidth Management in conjunction with the inbuilt Traffic Shaping means that in a busy house or indeed business, the available bandwidth on the broadband can be much better managed and utilised. In plain terms it means that the internet connection will be feel much better for all the users

All in all this is a great upgrade for a network. It is a great way to add a lot of functionality to a home network. Very reliable over the ISP kit that is installed and really impressed at how easy it was.

In fact, I like the TP-Link N600 Dual Band Router so much, I have bought it to run my network permanently!

Review by S.A. Cowie Snr Computer Engineer - PC Solutions.
77 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Very happy with this purchase. I have a Virginmedia Superhub and had really poor wifi signal in the house. Not only that, I also had real problems with my SONOS music streaming system, with tracks skipping, internet radio breaking up, etc.

Putting the Superhub into modem-only mode and plugging this in as my wifi router has made a huge difference. The wifi signal is now very good throughout the house, the speed of connection and (maybe seemingly) wifi speed is also faster. The icing on the cake is that the problems with SONOS have almost completely gone away.

I would strongly recommend this to anyone in a similar position.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
I bought this as an upgrade for my home Wifi, and I've been very happy with it.

The best thing is the dual 2.4 GHz / 5.0 GHz capability, and I use both: When I'm connected to the 5.0 GHz network I get lightning fast (often close to 300 mbps) transfer rates. Better still, it's still the only 5.0 GHz network in my neighborhood, so I have the whole spectrum for myself with no interference.

The 2.4 GHz network also works well (for backwards compatibility), and I've been able to set it to a channel that my neighbors aren't using, thereby reducing interference and increasing reliability and speed.

Other useful features include the ability to adjust how bandwidth gets allocated between devices. While I have plenty of download capacity, upload is tight, and I've been able to set up some rules that help make sure that it get shared fairly in the house.

You can configure a lot of stuff; I don't use all the functions, but if you know a bit about routers it's very easy to work with.

Compared to the standard wireless routers you get from your ISP this router is miles ahead.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
It's pretty good. The killer feature is the ability to plug a couple of USB memory sticks or a USB HDD into it and store photo's / music / videos on it which can then be accessed by my TV or a Roku box via DLNA over WiFi. DNLA sucks though, it won't allow some videos to be streamed even though the same file will play when on a USB memory stick plugged in to my TV (Panasonic). I had much heartburn trying to figure out a cure for this, it turns out that simply changing the file extension of ".mp4" or ",mkv" to ".m4v" made things work. I use filezilla to change the file extension, and also top transfer photo's / whatever to the HDD from the PC.

On the bad side, it seems to lose WiFi functionality after 2 weeks or so, requiring a reboot. To their credit TP-LINK do release firmware upgrades for the unit, and a previous firmware did cure this WiFi anomaly, but in the latest one I have experienced some of the old grief. But to be fair, flicking the mains switch every 14 days or so isn't exactly a chore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
BUT... I had Virgin wifi and it was dreadful. Then son visited and told me he would fit this item. Took us about 1 hour (well, him) and I now have ethernet to the computer which is 2 meters from the device and wifi all over the house. Why ethernet? Well, my computer is pretty slow on wifi - 12MB/s bu ton ethernet it goes at full blast of 60Mb/s. My wife';s laptop and our phones however go at 60Mb/s and 35Mb/s repectively and its a secure wifi too. Hangs on an upstair wall out of the way.
Would I recommend it - you bet I would. Why was Virgin's wifi so dreadful? Well, strangely a client of mine was asked to test their wifi kit and on dismantling it, the aerials in the kit are about 1 inch square - two of them. How can they compete? They cannot is the answer and Virgin know it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
Plugged in and was working within minutes!

I was dismayed by the standard Plusnet effort they supply a reworked adsl effort (not including postage!)

This looks but works x100+ better. Been up and running since it landed!

One gripe is the reboot after every save adjustment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 20 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)