Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
181
3.9 out of 5 stars
Price:£6.50+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2017
Received promptly, but doesn't work with either of two Baofeng UV-5Rs when connected to a Windows workstation (7 Pro). On switching on the radio, after a pause of a second or so the PTT locks on and the rig continuously transmits. The only way to stop it is to switch it off. There seems to be no possibility of programming and the rig (and possibly therefore the cable) is not recognised by Chirp. My suspicion is that the seller has obtained a new batch of knock-off cables from a differerent supplier, and these are not as compatible as those sold before now, which received better reviews than this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2017
I can't really say much here other than it works perfectly. I am using it with a Baofeng GT-5TP and have managed to reprogram the channels and reconfigured it exactly how I need it. It installed perfectly on my Win10 machine which to be honest was a surprise as normally these sorts of things are a little behind the curve.

I would recommend if you have a Baofeng and want to use chirp to modify your radio.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
Ordered 21st February (supplier is Hossen), airmailed from Singapore on the 22nd and in my letterbox on the 28th, despite a 2-23 March estimated. Fits the radio (uv5r) snugly, and no connection problems that others have reported. Windows 8 recognised the Prolific chipset, so up and working in 5 minutes after a quick reboot. Prompt delivery and it just worked; 5 stars
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
Works great for programing my Baofeng 888s use CHIRP for best results, happy radioing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Took a few weeks to come which I expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
this is a good lead well made and works as is should, if you have trouble connecting it, it will be your usb drivers? you have to have the right ones or it just won't install.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
Great product Great service!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
value from such a low price works great all round good service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
A little slow getting here but it did come from china, but it does what it is supposed to do and it did arrive within the time specified
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2014
Note that this is a Prolific cable and most likely has a counterfeit Prolific chipset, please see the CHIRP wiki entry for this for why this is frowned upon; http://chirp.danplanet.com/projects/chirp/wiki/CableGuide#Cable-Buying-Advice

I have tested this cable with both Mac OS (Mountain Lion 10.8.5) and Windows 7;

* Mac OS
Despite trying multiple drivers with Mac OS I just couldn't get it to work, at first I couldn't get it to detect the USB to Serial adapter (testing with ZTerm), then when I finally found a driver that detected the chipset, it kept resetting the radio when trying to download the channel presets from the radio to the Mac with CHIRP. Do not bother with this cable if you're a Mac owner (unless you have Bootcamp or a serious amount of patience to try it with VirtualBox etc).

* Windows 7
Although Windows 7 (latest patches as of 2014-09-26) does detect the driver natively, I needed to install version 3.2.0.0 of the Prolific drivers which you can find, with full instructions, on this page; http://www.miklor.com/COM/UV_Drivers.php - once I installed those, CHIRP worked happily!

As for the product itself, most USB programming cables for these devices do tend to be frail, this one seems quite well built. I wouldn't consider it sturdy enough to use in the field though, as it protrudes quite far from the USB port it's at high risk of snapping, best keep it to your desk.

All in all, you get what you pay for and this is good value for money, just a shame it doesn't support Mac :)

Hope this helps!
33 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)