Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
133
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£15.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2013
I recently found out the differences in a real Arduino, and copycat Arduinos. Unfortunately, the one I received is a copycat and not made by Arduino. I have both a genuine and now, a copycat Arduino. The differences are most certainly obvious now. Both boards work just fine, but my main problem is the fact I paid for something and hoping to get the real thing by Arduino themselves, not someone else's cheaper alternative design and still have me pay the full price.

Let me guide readers through a walk-through in the details...

The REAL Arduino features:
* A comfortably-sized fitted box, with stickers and a thank you note inside.
* Says "MADE IN ITALY" on the front and back.
* Sports a grey "502C" chip near the USB port.
* Sports the UL Component Recognition Mark, or the backwards "UR" ensuring quality components.
* The board is a lighter shade of blue than the copycat board.
* Soldered joints use less solder than the copycat board.
* Printed text is sans-serif, and is a lot more fine, and the Italy map outline is more detailed.
* The via holes are not lazily covered over with the layers atop the board.
* Wires inserted into the female headers stay firmly in place.

The COPYCAT board features:
* No box, no stickers, no thank you note. It arrived plainly wrapped up.
* Says "DESIGN IN ITALY" on the front and back.
* Sports a green resistor next to USB port, identification is weird, "5V" and same upside down, but as if the "V"s intersect. No idea.
* The board is a darker shade of blue compared to the real board.
* Uses more solder on the joints than the real board.
* Inconsistent serif/sans-serif text, varying fonts.
* The via holes are lazily covered over.
* Wires inserted into the female headers tend to come out very easily, some times as if there's no grip inside.

These are the differences I can find. The product photos shows a board "MADE IN ITALY". Yes, it still does the same thing, but it's still not genuine Arduino and I paid full price to someone else's cheaper board.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Ok, I'm a bit biased. I have several of these now in different guises. But, if you haven't tried playing with one of these to get your projects off the ground, probably now is the time. This is much simpler than a Raspberry Pi and only takes the commands you need to do your job. Also, one tip, If you are unsure of how these work. check out http://123d.circuits.io for a test environment where you can build your circuits virtually before ever buying a component.
11 Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 27 March 2016
I will keep it short as this board is already very well reviewed. I recommend it to anyone who wants to get into rapid electronic prototyping. Get yourself a set of 37 in 1 sensor box (you can get it for about £14), and you'll have endless fun. You can also get yourself one of the countless "lessons based kits" - I got one with 35 lessons and you'll be up and running in no time.
Keep in mind this is C++ coding so might be good to get a C++ programming book as well.
The cool part is that with less then £50 (including lessons and book), you can easily get to intermediate programming level in terms of systems control - because this is the beauty - the control philosophy is the same regardless of scale :)
If you are considering buying this over the £4 ebay alternatives is because you really want to support the original arduino project - good for you!

UPDATE after a couple of months of use.
Is has worked great over the past months. I have tried out about 20 lessons and then I went on my own way. I'm currently integrating an environment control system for a small aquarium by using some temperature probes, a water pump, a food dispenser and a water level. It's quite amazing what things you can do with such a device.
I think of getting into hydroponics a bit as well but I think I will need the mega board for this since I will soon run out of memory with the UNO if I keep adding new instruction sets.
It's really great fun for anyone, regardless of what engineering background they have. It's so flexible that it can literally be used anywhere.

Let me know if you have any questions.
Kind Regards
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 August 2013
If you're into the Arduino subject then you'll know pretty well what you're looking at. This is (was) apparently a genuine Arduino although these days it's pretty near impossible to tell one way or the other. However it works and I've had no problems with it at all.

Prices tend to vary from the sublime to the ridiculous and this one seems to sit pretty fair and square in the middle.

EDIT 18/8/13

OK well after reading an article on the Arduino.cc website earlier today I can now say that this is actually NOT a genuine Arduino board but appears to be a good clone.
The board shown on the listing picture IS genuine and if you go to the Arduino website and navigate to the "how to detect a counterfeit" page you will be able to see what the difference is between the board in the listing and the board that you will get - it is the component marked 501K (next to the USB socket). In a genuine Arduino this component is gold and black whilst on clone boards it is apparently generally green. This is because the gold and black component was specifically sourced for the genuine board.

Now to be honest the seller doesn't say its a genuine Arduino but the implication is there. In that case, as a clone it's over priced. So it's up to you whether you go with these or not. I've now bought another 4 from Ebay sources and 2 of them are identical to this one.

Caveat Emptor.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
Seems to work ok. But like others, I feel I have paid for the genuine product, but recieved a copy. I specifically wanted the original in order to support the original manufacturers. I think the description shouldclearly state this is a clone.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
If you've never knowingly programmed a microprocessor before, they are electronic chips which can be taught to perform particular tasks - to 'teach' them, you write an instruction list (a program) which they run, and the program makes the chip behave in the way that your program determines it should. So why is that interesting? Well, Arduino boards are designed in a way which makes the electrical signal connections in and out of the chip easily accessable. They can read switches and keypads, they can turn LEDs on and off, drive LCD displays and with a little bit of extra electronic hardware they can operate electrically controlled switches (Relays) and control motors. Putting a project together and breathing the vital spark of life into it with a program you wrote yourself really is a magical experience, and one which never gets old, because the next idea is always a development of the last or something completely new.

If you already know what a microprocessor is and have perhaps done some programming on AVR, PIC or similar devices then the Arduino series (of which this is just one model) will be a useful, low-cost addition to your toybox, although I would hesitate to call this a toy, because it is quite technically advanced and comes with no written instructions. A bright child could certainly make one of these fly given some guidance, but I think they would struggle without the initial help of a knowledgeable adult or other good online or offline information source. If you are buying this for a child I would take a look through the Arduino books here on Amazon and choose a well-reviewed tutorial book to hand over along with the Uno.

The title 'Arduino' doesn't refer to a type of microprocessor you've never heard of - indeed, different Arduino boards are based on different microprocessors - This particular one uses an Atmel Atmega 328P. The name 'Arduino' really refers to a microprocessor development suite of hardware and software. The main software runs on the PC - the microprocessor also has some firmware preprogrammed into it to handle communications with the PC software and load and run user programs in the microprocessor's program memory. While your project is under development the Arduino board is conveniently powered from the PC via the USB lead. Once it is working to your satisfaction, the Arduino can be disconnected from the PC and run stand-alone on a simple unregulated DC power supply to perform whatever function you have programmed it to do.

The Arduino concept consists of:
-A microprocessor development board with plenty of input/output capability
-A USB data / power connection to your PC
-Integrated Development Environment (IDE) software for your PC, Mac, and unusually, Linux as well.

By default, the Arduino Uno assumes that six of the input-output pins will be used as analogue input pins, and a further fourteen are regarded as general digital input/output pins. This basic I/O functionality will be quite enough to keep beginners busy for a while.

For experienced microprocessor users, as on most microcontrollers a lot of these pins have secondary functions which are disabled by default. The details of those are beyond the scope of this review, but briefly, the secondary pin functions include multiple Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) outputs and I2C and SPI serial communications. For further information, seek out the Atmega 328P datasheet on Atmel's website.

The PC software is not provided when you buy a plain Arduino board like this, but it is downloadable, free, from the Arduino website. You do get a short USB lead.

The programming language here is essentially 'C', simplified in some ways: For example, Arduino relieves you of the chore of having to predefine (prototype) all the functions before you use them.

The Arduino system provides so many predefined functions and libraries for the programmer that it is genuinely possible to create a huge number of microprocessor driven projects using only the functions and libraries that the IDE provides, linking them together with just a few lines of code. One thing you might typically want to do is to connect a standard two-line alphanumeric display to the Arduino. Normally, it would be left to the programmer to write the routines needed to initialise and run the display - but Arduino has a library for this built in - you just give it some basic information about how the display is connected, and from then on using the display is just a matter of using the functions provided by the 'LiquidCrystal' library. The abundance of predefined functions and libraries, many contributed by third parties, means that fully working projects can be created even by people who don't necessarily understand (or want to understand) the use of microprocessors down to register level - If you want a 1000mS delay, there's a function for that - there's no need to manipulate or interrogate a timer down at register / bit level.

If you do want to do that, there is of course nothing to stop you doing it, the only caveat being that code written to control the microprocessor's functions directly at hardware level may not run on other Arduino boards which use a different microprocessor.

When connected to the PC, the Arduino appears to the PC to be a USB port serial device: Likewise, the PC appears to the Arduino board as a serial device - the IDE has a built in terminal facility so it's a simple matter for your Arduino project to send diagnostic or other information to the PC as serial data, and of course any other PC software capable of reading from / sending to the PC's serial port can also communicate with the Arduino by this means. For example, you could write an Arduino program (or 'Sketch' as they are called in Arduino-speak) which continually reads a voltage value from one of the Arduino's Analogue input ports and sends that reading to the PC via the serial port: On the PC, a Python program also written by you could serially receive and display the value in a nice graphic interface window.

For simple projects, connections to external components like displays, relay boards, LEDs and switches can be via simple flying plug in leads plugged into the single-inline connectors along the edges of the board: However, the Arduino system has also spawned a whole host of third-party add-on hardware boards, known as 'shields', which can plug directly onto the top of an Arduino board to give it additional hardware capability. For example, there are Relay shields, Wifi shields, Stepper motor driver shields, all kinds of amazing interfaces designed to enable Arduino boards to connect to almost anything which can be read or controlled electronically.

You'll find that this product is available under several slightly different descriptions on Amazon, and each of them has their own set of reviews as though they are separate products although they are actually the same item. To see more reviews of the Arduino Uno R3 than those you find here, seek out those other listings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
Unlike some customers I received what I expected - a genuine Arduino UNO R3 made in italy. Proper little box with some notes and stickers but no USB lead.
However (this note added 26-3-14) I notice that the price has halved and the supplier changed - so beware, you may not be getting a genuine "made in Italy" UNO but a copy - this may be OK as long as you are aware.
The Arduino is a great micro-controller to experiment with.
I'm using it in a little project with a clock (DS3231 RTC) and barometric sensor (BMP085) to run a 4 line by 20 character LCD that displays time, day of the week, date, year, temperature and atmospheric pressure. It works perfectly, I've had no problems at all, programming it with V1.0.5 of the IDE on a PC.

As with most Arduino related products there is a wealth of helpful information online.

A 5 star product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
Well I already knew I would love it having already played around with a derivative of it on the Open Energy emonTX.

So, just to let you all know, I bought this from 4Tronix, it was delivered fast and safely and it is a genuine Italian Arduino.
And they kindle sent me a a half meter USB cable with it too. Nice people!

Everyone should have a least one genuine Arduino to support them in their support for us.

Simon Monk's book "Programming Arduino Next Steps: Going Further with Sketches" is a very useful book if you already have a sprinkling of programming juices

Have fun!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
I received my Arduino Uno R3 quickly (from 4tronix) and happy to report it is the genuine article. I have several Arduino's already and can safely say it is one of the best things I've ever invested in. You're going to need a few things, a breadboard, lot's of components, a multimeter etc, but it won't cost the earth and it will enable you to MAKE things. If you're the type of person who ever wonders how something works, or if you ever took something apart to see what was inside, well you're probably the type of person who would want to make something yourself, you won't be just another consumer you can create things. You'll need a little persistence but the Arduino platform is a great way to get into electronics, I have found it an immensely fun and rewarding way to become a MAKER.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
This is a genuine Arduino Uno R3, it came well packed and I have tested it with the latest Arduino Sketch software and it is working well. It is a bit of a fiddle to install on Windows XP as Windows does not automatically recognize it, but the arduino.cc web site gives clear instructions on how to get around this.

My only reason for not giving 5 stars is that it took almost 3 and half weeks to arrive. Granted it was within the estimated delivery time but I had not expected it to come from Hong Kong via Switzerland!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)