Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
27
4.7 out of 5 stars

on 21 September 2016
Installed this in my mac myself easy enough to do if you have the right tools and follow the instructions on the web.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
Installed in macbook, in place of the dvd drive. Worked perfectly straight away (All i needed to do was a simple format in disk utility)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
Works great - it's fast and quiet - I use it with HP pavilion HDX9320EA as my drive C:\. So far works perfect.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
I bought this as an upgrade for my PS3 HDD (Hard Disc Drive), after I had filled the 320GB HDD that came with it.

I was taking a gamble by going for a 1TB HDD, as I had no real idea if the PS3 would handle such a large HDD or if it would affect performance.

After doing a fair bit of research and reading on the web, I settled on this HDD, for a number of reasons:

1) It was the correct dimensions - PS3 HDD have to be 9.5mm high, some 2.5inch HDD are taller than 9.5mm and won't fit in the PS3.

2) Running speed of 5400rpm - PS3 is compatible with HDD's that run at 5400rpm, I've read online that some people have put in HDD's that run at 7200rpm, but I chose to stay safe and avoid the risk of overheating my PS3.

3) The HDD has only two platters - the fewer the platters in the HDD, the quicker the HDD read speed. It also has a decent size buffer, more than what the PS3 needs on the HDD.

4) 1TB size for a reasonable price.

Installation of the new HDD was relatively straight foward - one tip I would give is to do your research and read up on how to change the HDD before attempting to change the HDD in your PS3 - because its not about just removing one HDD and sticking the new one in, you also need to install the PS3 system software. Sony's PlayStation website has all the information in its help and support pages.

Imagine my relief when the old 320GB HDD I took out of my PS3 was also a Toshiba..!!

It's only been in my PS3 for a little over a month now, which is why I'm only giving it 4 stars, because I do not yet know about how well it will perform over time.

However, up to now I've had no issues with it, it's no more louder than the previous HDD and seems to read data quickly, and I've already filled half of its total free space!!

Please be aware that when you buy a HDD, you do not get the full amount of space available after installation I had 828GB / 931GB, but that is still more than enough HDD space to be lasting me for the foreseeable future, or until I eventually decide to go to PS4.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
Bought this to replace 500GB hard drive in my PS4. Upgrade was very easy to do (even easier than PS3). This hard drive is very quiet and works like a dream. Highly recommended purchase for PS4 and cheaper than equivalent Samsumg/Seagate and WD drive to boot. You really cannot go wrong with this one!
33 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
I bought this to put in my Toshiba C850-1LV to replace the original 500GB. Do you remember the days when HDDs were measured in MB? 1TB in a laptop! As each day passes, that last sentence will seem silly.

Anyway, it was packaged well and was certainly brand new. Another review worried me about reconditioned ones but this was from Amazon themselves and they are yet to let me down in 13 years of buying from them.

Cloning the new drive from the original was easy as pie with NTI Echo and that was by far the longest part of the whole procedure. I used an Iomax S-ATA & IDE to USB converter, very cheap but very capable.

What can you say about a HDD? It's as quiet as the original, it's easy to fit, only 9.5mm thick and suites my needs to perfection. Now I have different operating systems on the 2 HDDs amd it takes 2 minutes to swap them over.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
If you need more space for games then this is for you gamers out there.
Why upgrade your old ps3 for a new ps3 just for more memory when you can get a 1tb, does it exactly what is says it will do, but in saying that did panic a bit when compared it to the last sata I got - cursed it's different shape! but it fitted in well. From 500gb to 1TB, good buy and for the price of a new ps3 just to get space why not get a new sata drive - takes 5minutes to install but not including the fiddly little screws that are magnetic then there's the update, that's where it takes the time but it's worth the wait if you bought a game online and you see red as a message appears on screen - not enough space on hdd.

A must buy.
started with 80gb then 500gb now this 1TB! amazing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
I've put this in my 2009 Macbook, installed Snow Leopard and everything is working beautifully (formatted in disk utility with one GUID partition and Mac extended journalled). I'll update this if anything goes wrong later. If anyone is interested to know what mac originally put in the computer, it was Hitachi.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
Bought as an upgrade to my 500gb hard drive some how after fitting this my transfer speed on usb 3.0 transfers went up dramatically it's very silent too
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
I bought this to replace the Hard Drive that had stopped working in my MacBook Pro (2007). I installed the drive following instructions available online and so far the new 1TB Hard Drive is working well. I formatted the disk after installation as the old drive had died and could not be backed up. If you are planning on installing this on a MacBook Pro from 2007 and intend to format the disk once it is installed in the computer, ensure that you have the OSX Leopard installation disc and use Disk Utility. The original OS installation disc's do not recognise the 1TB size of the drive. No problems if using the Leopard Disc.

This drive has added new life to my ageing MacBook Pro for a reasonable price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)