Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2017
Arrived today with the wrong plug! Looks dirty and scraped. Also the jambox is programmed with a weird porn voice on it. Not happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
Dead easy to set up and use. Really good sound for the size of it. Easy to carry about from room to room if you want to too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
👍
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
At first I was a bit sceptical of this speaker. For such a small device, the price tag seemed quite high. However, having given it a good whirl, I think (and comparing to other cheaper and more expensive speaker sets) the price is justified.

First impressions are good. It's solid and well constructed. The metallic hexagonal speaker grill does look pretty good, too.

Set up is straightforward enough; plug in to charge, switch on your bluetooth on your device, pair up and you are away. There is a little bit of registration to keep you notified of firmware updates, but that's no big deal (links in the manual). The speaker has volume and track controls on the unit, and you can also adjust volume via your device.

Sound wise, I am impressed - partly because I was shouted at by my wife for playing music too loud. I was very happy with the sound quality, so that was a good indication that it doesn't distort at high volumes!

I've tried it with a variety of different albums (listed below, if you are interested) and am happy to say that on all the music was well defined and distortion free. The price tag is high for a portable speaker, but it is more than good enough to use as a main set of speakers in any room. That it is portable is a bonus!

Overall, this is highly recommended if you're in the market to spend a decent amount on a set of speakers. It is expensive, but the quality is high and your music will sound good.

Albums used to test this out:
Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!
Arkology
Beethoven, Van L.: Symphony No. 9, "Choral" (Minnesota Orchestra, Vanska)
AmeriKKKa's Most Wanted (Explicit)
The Black Saint And The Sinner Lady
Dopethrone (Remaster)
Treasure
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
The is a solidly bullt, great sounding device with plenty of power. I tried the smaller version and it had noticeably less power and the bass was not as good as on this larger version. The only downside of this one is that it requires a mains charger to charge the internal battery and although it will run for around 7-10 hours (depending on volume), you need the mains adaptor to recharge it. The smaller model will re-charge via a standard micro USB charger as found in many cars or via a portable USB power pack. I suspect that the higher power of this larger version needs more than the 5 Volts available from a USB charger.

The battery life should not really be a problem in normal use but I did not read the specs fully and had just assumed that lik ethe smaller version it could be recharged via the micro usb. It cannot so if you are going to be away from mains electricty for extended periods (camping etc.) be aware (and perhaps go for the smaller model).

It is surprisingly heavy but it is not intended to be a "portable" device. The weight is probably due to the solid construction.

Highly recommended as long as you are not far from mains power for extended periods.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
I've been looking for a Bluetooth / Airplay speaker for a while... I live in a small apartment so space was an issue, I wanted it to be portable so I could use it in my bedroom as well and to top it all off I'm a bit critical when it comes to sound quality.
I considered the Sonos system, but found the sound not crisp enough for my liking - this system brings all of the above to the table! I bought it this morning in the shop.... I was actually wanting to buy the Philips Fidelio docking speaker but it was out of stock... The sales guy played this baby and blew me and the other customers in this giant shop away with its power and quality. If you have £200 to throw at quality in sound, design and practicality this is for you!

UPDATE - I've now had my Big Jambox for 3 months and I absolutely LOVE it! I've since hosted 3 parties with about 30 people and we were dancing our socks off, that's how loud it could go. I'm super impressed with the battery life; it's played from 7pm to 8am without a bother. I'm loving the software updates; the one I loaded today added 2 hours to the battery life, fantastic! I can't wait to take it on holiday in 2 weeks... The only negative I'd say is that the carrier bag is massively over priced - £55!!! If you live in the UK it pays to shop around as I found it for £35 somewhere else.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
I was given this speaker as a birthday present. It is extremely impressive. The set-up is very simple and straight-forward. Pairing with my iPhone, iPad, iPod-Touch and MacBook Air was simple and intuitive. The voice-prompts are very helpful. It is the sound quality that is most impressive. The bass is rich and deep, without being overpowering. The treble is distinct and undistorted. The overall quality of the sound is very high, and it fills my apartment easily. If I compare it to a docked-system, such as a B&W Zeppelin, the quality is almost as high. For the price, this is a superb piece of kit. The smaller Jambox is more portable, and almost as impressive. Overall, if you want portability, wireless and quality it is hard to beat. Five stars!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
I previously had a Bose Dock .The Bose had a more rounded sound but the Jambox ihas the clearer sound and still plenty of bass plus bags of volume Great for rock music .Well worth the money .
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
I'm really fussy about my tech and always research before I buy. After going into a rather well known electronics store to try out about 15 Bluetooth portable speakers I fell upon the jawbone. Without doubt the sound was the best of every one I tried under £200. Fantastic bass and makes more well known brands like sony and beats pale by comparison.
The battery life is excellent and I love the voice prompts that tell you when it is turned on, ready to pair etc...
This speaker looks good, is nice and light (too big to be truly portable, this is more designed for taking into your garden or room to room) and delivers excellent bass and clarity. I can't recommend this speaker enough, you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
The BIG JAMBOX by JAWBONE is one of the best Portable Bluetooth Speaker Systems I have ever seen and heard for £200 or under.

Pro's:
- Full Balanced Sound
- Good Stereo Separation
- Clean, Responsive Lows
- Very Simple To Use
- Very Sturdy
- Clean Audio At Loud Volumes (Tested in 5m long room at 80 % Volume on Unit & Smart Phone, 85Db Average at 102Db Peak)
- Clear Verbal Ques For Battery Level & Caller ID (Changeable Voices available to download from jawbone.com)
- Unit Controls SmartPhone Volume And Vise Versa

Con's:
- Bluetooth Audio Quality Out The Box is Not Great Due To Outdated Firmware (New Firmware Version Available From jawbone.com)
- Highs Can Overpower The Audio If The Players EQ Is Not Adjusted

Overview:

The BIG JAMBOX by JAWBONE is a great Bluetooth speaker for the price (£179.99), and most of the cons of product can be solved by updating the unit and tweaking the audio settings on your Smart Phone or other device. (For iPhones, I found the best EQ setting for this unit is is Rock, as it increases the low frequency response slightly and reduces some piercing highs)

The Bluetooth range on this unit is great, however if you are going to have this unit between two floors and between 3 - 4 walls, you are going to find that songs can skip and stutter, but that is expected of most Bluetooth devices and can be solved on newer phones with more powerful Bluetooth transmitters and receivers.

Battery Life is great. So far iv'e used it for around 5 - 7 hours and the battery is currently on around 65% charge, and that is on medium to high volumes.

All in all, this is an amazing Bluetooth speaker with clean, crisp, and LOUD audio, and full of very useful features; but if you are going to buy one, update it first though your PC, it improves it allot, and gives it some modifiable features.

Purchase Price: £179.99
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)