Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2013
I like the printer. Solid build. Handles both paper and card well and duplex is handy for quick double-sided printing. The only downside is that the printer is supplied with small toner units. My cyan unit ran out within 350 pages. Oki replacement toner - which has a higher capacity than those supplied with the machine - is quite expensive. However, there are alternatives available from third party suppliers. The cyan T.P. unit I bought as a replacement works OK...
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
Excellent printer and seems to have good ink life from the cartridges shipped with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
for printing quality I would give it 5 stars. almost as sharp and glossy as the Xerox hot wax printers.

The printer comes with semi-filled cartridges that can NOT be refilled (they are missing the security chip) .
the starter cartridges will hold approximately 70 pages of intense picture printing (or 350 pages of not so intense)
for that I removed 1 star.

after that you need to purchase a new cartridge set (which costs more than a new printer of course).
I remove 1 stars, since the price of the cartridge (lets take for example black) : for 2200 pages you pay almost double the price of a Samsung laser similar level printer cartridge (Samsung holds a 1500 pages cartridge)

The whole point of using a laser printer is to lower the cost per page and this OKI printer doesn't excel in that area.
Furthermore, compared to a Samsung CLP-660ND laser printer, for example ,
you need to replace OKI drum unit too (every 20,000 pages) on top of replacing the toners. Samsung has no need to replace drums. it is integrated in the cartridge which is already cheaper as I mentioned before.

The printer does not support PCL or postscript which are today's standard, therefore targeted mainly for Windows (although Linux & MacOSX drivers are available too).
The image processing is done in OS memory and sent via propriety protocol to the printer (a.k.a GDI printer).
Nevertheless, using open source driver , you can compile a driver and use it in Ubuntu as well.
If you need standard printing protocols, add 30$ and buy the next model: C321dn
for that I removed 1 star.

adding 0.5 star since this printer continue to print even when low toner warning is on (some printers simply stop at that moment))
it has menu setting which can override this warning. However, when the toner gets worse it will stop all printing and write "toner empty". by then you are forced to change the toner/chip.
Even if only one color toner is empty - its enough to stop the printer. you can't use the printer until you replace that color (but I think this is common in many color printers, even ink-jets)
If you got really got hand in electronics your can see in youtube how to weld a reset button kit which can override everything...but that's hardcore.

update: 3 months later: with the foo2hiperc.rkkda.com open source linux driver I am able to print text documents very well but : the driver supports only uncompressed mode (meaning very large prints might be denied)
and (most important) the Linux color matching is bad , just doesn't look as great as in Windows XP. I tried to play from all kinds of driver ICM profiles and parameters, so far no luck.

update 4: even though the color matching in linux is not optimal, I found this printer environmental friendly.
for the starter toners: you can purchase an end cap to put a chip on them (so they become eventually refillable). this is so much more environmental friendly than tossing them to the garbage.
for example look here at site farbtoner dot com for starter toner chip holder cap.
Also : compared to Samsung toner : since the toner is not combined with the drum it is so easy to refill it (only two clicks and you got it open).same goes for the chip replacement.
Many Samsung toners require several parts to open until you get to the toner refill hole.
Like Samsung :each toner is protected by a security chip which also acts as page counter. Each chip has a region embedded (for example: Japan, EU, North America, etc).
This printer motherboard has a region security mechanism. Printer that was purchased in Japan will accept only Japan encoded Toners (chip). Toner may have different part number (use different security chip) although their plastic body is exactly the same.

I tried to buy a compatible toner which gave me region error (LCD:call service 231 error 01).
I believe many Chinese manufacturers make a good set of compatible toners ,but 99% of them is for EU region.
I really hate that OKI has its chip security like the old DVD zone security. Europe printers will accept only EU targeted chips. Asia and north America has their region.
For example: Egypt,Israel or Jordan are encoded with EMEA code, not compatible with EU printers.
be sure to order the right toner for your printer region.

When you buy compatible (either toner or refill powder), bare in mind there is glossy powder and mat powder. each will give slightly different output.

WiFi : out of the box this printer doesn't come with WiFi network adapter. Some user claimed he was able to connect it to some printing server which expose it as a wifi device. Never tried it , but if someone can list the printer server device model - it would be a nice addon.
11 Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
Easy to install, but unpacking it was a bit of a faff, as the pictogramms were not easy to understand & the print size was too small on the instruction sheet. Love the auto dual side print. Aware buying replacement cartridges will be shockingly expensive, but print quality & speed is excellent. Like the fully enclosed design as it means cat hairs cannot get into printer. Very pleased!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
Prints well but setup was a bit difficult, prints are crisp for documents and some images, but not quite there for photographs.
running costs are very good, text pages are very fast to print, overall a nine out of ten for this printer.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
a good radio (wireless) printer. Good quality and full help screens. Factory toner price is a joke though so you'll end up with bandit toner but mine works just fine on it
77 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2016
I am self employed, [...]

I need a printer, I have had TWO Canon LBP7210CDN and BOTH have died in 2 years, THIS printer is less than HALF the cost, in fact I could have TWO of these and money lefty over.

IGNORE the people who say it is heavy and noisy, they have no idea what they are talking about, I have owned Canon, Lexmark and HP, this is lighter than my Canon and quieter and as fast.

From the box arriving to fully working including unpacking was LESS than FIVE minutes including turning the computer on...........

You will need a USB lead, but so what, most people have loads from previous purchases and anyway they are £2.50 on Amazon

BUY IT and in case you are wondering YES THE COMPATIBLE CARTRIDGES FROM AMAZON DO WORK and are JUST £39 for a full set, that is a THIRD of the price of Canon and HP

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have been using the printer for a couple of weeks now and am amazed by the speed of the printer and the SMALL size, anyone complaining about the footprint can not have owned a laser printer before, it is NO larger than any other laser and much smaller than some believe me.

I print a lot from A5 to A3+ inhouse, and the laser is a printer I can not be without, this OKI is amazing value

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

TWO months on, Jan 2017, still perfect, I use teh readily available NON OKI toner, https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B015G8PB72/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o05_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Perfect, NO issues, ignore anything under 3* they are talking rubbish
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
The printer was delivered promptly by the firm concerned. Only a day after the order was confirmed. Great service, Thanks. The printer itself is quite a substantial piece of kit. Weighty, over 20Kg, and a bit larger than the 10 year old Brother it replaced. Full Duplex printing is efficient. Installation onto an XP PC was quick and simple. The machine powers up quickly and is quiet when running, all in all seems to be well constructed and generally does what it says on the box!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2016
Robustly built printer. Larger than I expected. Set up reasonably easy with attached disks. Windows won't detect then automatically. Main draw back is there is little support for printing from android on the LAN.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
Everything is good but the ink cartridges... a single colour costs half price than the printer.... Need to find some other cheap option...
33 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)