Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
50
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2014
This is a very neat little module, built on a good quality PCB, and works better than I expected. I did a web search for "HC-SR501 pir datasheet" and found some helpful information about using this device. At its maximum sensitivity setting, the module will detect human body motion even beyond its specified 7 metre range, provided that the motion is ACROSS the sensor's field of view. Detection range is greatly reduced when moving directly towards or away from the sensor. The data sheet that I found on the web explained the reasons for this. In my opinion, mounting the module could be a little tricky; two M2 mounting holes are provided on the PCB, but thread-stock below M3 tends to need a specialist supplier, and although M3 pillars are commonly available, I have yet to find any M2 pillars. The clearance between the mounting holes and the PCB conductors is very small, so care will be needed when incorporating this module into a housing. However, these are minor drawbacks; the module is good value for money, and works well if used correctly.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
OK, but the links for triggering modes are just solder pads not pre-fitted links. Therefore it isn't as user friendly as other suppliers as it needs my soldering iron and magnifying glass once I figure out which way to link it. (Need to find cct diagram as well on the internet as there's nothing in the packet
review image
22 comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
Such a great item. Very easy to wire up and it worked so easily. The only down side is the distance and sensitivity is not the great, but for a cheap item, it works better than expected for the price.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Arrived in an anti static bag inside a padded envelope, the item is exactly how it was described, very nice build quality. I'd recommend this product to other raspberry pi and arduino fans.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2015
These are very easy to get started with as there are only 3 connections. All the complexity is hidden. They work well as a human movement sensor. I just need to decide what that killer project will be. These are cheap enough to mess about with even without knowing their final purpose. Definitely a fun building block. An idea might be to power down a microprocessor LED display if no one is looking it it.
There seems to be some misprints on the quiescent power supply current. I think the units should be ~65 micro not milli amps.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2016
Having purchased some of the Akuru, HC-SR501 sensors. These are the best quality! I have since purchased another 2 x from this seller.
These have two 105 potentiometers, which are clearly labelled "Sx" and "Tx", for sensitivity and for retriggering time.
The sensors are pre-made to re-trigger at a HIGH signal while motion is detected.
You can easily change this with some solder and a jumper lead.
I assure you, these are the sensors to purchase if your looking for quality. They take a little longer to arrive from China, but they are better than the Akuru ones offered in the Prime service which had bent capacitors on all 3 units.
Send a message if you need help to get it up and running with Arduino.

Leave a vote if you found this helpful :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
Works great. Really easy/simple to use. Didn't require any soldering. Worked as it was, straight out the packet & wired up within a few mins. It's a cool little device. Impressively cheap & arrived faster than expected.
If i need another, i know where to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
Handy little module which works very well once you work out what the pots are doing. It is basically a standalone alone module needing no other electronics apart from some power (5-20v). Once power is applied, it generates an output which can drive an led or other circuits to do other things. Only gripe is that to fit easily into a breadboard, the 3 pins are best bent to an angle. Cheap and well made. Quick delivery too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
Three connections to TTL or lower voltage supply, with one line changing when sensing movement. Two trimmer pots set sensitivity and response.

Very simple to put into use !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
Very cheap. Comes direct from China so takes a bit of time in the post. Haven't got round to using it yet due to lots of other projects but seems to be well made.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)