Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2013
A good bicycle for a very cheap price compared to Bromptons etc. I purchased this bike as an alternative to taking the tube, and so far it's holding up well on my daily 8 mile round trip commute.

However there are a couple of niggles. First of all, there is no latch to keep the bike together when folded, meaning carrying it is precarious due to how heavy it is. A simple velcro strap fixed the problem for me, making it much easier to carry when folded, at the expense of taking a couple more seconds to fold/unfold.

Secondly, it does feel a little bit like a toy. Tightening all of the quick release latches helped a LOT with this (seat, handlebars and middle joint), as it got rid of a lot of the flex that made it feel so cheap and flimsy. After this was done the whole bicycle felt a lot safer and more rigid.

Lastly, I'm not particularly tall (5" 8') but I can't quite adjust the saddle high enough for me before the minimum insertion mark appears. This might be an issue for taller people.

All in all, I'm very impressed with this bicycle, it folds down to a size about 10-20% larger than bicycles much more expensive than this (I manage to keep it under my desk), albeit a fair bit heavier.

---- EDIT ----

Having had this bike for about a month I feel as though the review should be updated. Although fine at first (after adjusting everyting), it quickly degenerates. This is surprising considering it's only had just over a months worth of use (about 180 miles).

The ball bearings in the bottom bracket are of poor quality, making loud cranking noises when cycling, the seat post has become very stiff and the brake lines have frayed to the point where the back one has come off (luckily not while cycling downhill).

The chain also has an annoying habit of coming off of the front cog when changing gear upwards (Adjusting the derailleur + shifting carefully doesn't help) about 3-4 times a day.

However, having said all this, if it lasts another month it will have been worth it considering how much has been saved in tube fare.
11 Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
This is in general a good folding bike but it's not as robust and steady as a more expensive one. I used it for a week and I could tell that it was kind of falling apart because it could not support my weight (85kg). Also I'm too tall for this bike (1.82cm). It is quite heavy and it does not fold very smoothly. There is no way to keep the steering bar close to the cycle body and it also folds on the outside, not the inside, which makes it stick out and carrying it a bit inconvenient. It's really cheap and if you are light and don't need to carry it or fold it very often, then it's the right one for you.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
I was a bit worried before getting a folding bike because a lot of them seem to have bad reviews. Got this for my daughter, who is now very happy. Easy to assemble, rides well and easy to adjust saddle height for different riders.

I did have to adjust the position of the brakes to make it easier for her to reach them (she is ten) but use the included Allen key.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
I bought two of the folding bikes and found they fitted the car with room for luggage and gave no trouble when used over Easter holiday
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2012
Very easy to assemble and fold. Not the lightest of models but more than adequate to put in the back of a car. My daughter is thrilled to bits with it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2012
great bike does the job perfectly very happy with it and the price was good complete bargain would recomend someone to buy as it is good quality
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
-You cannot fold it, three days still trying to fold it
-Wheel shaking
-Seat goes down
-Cracking sounds when cycling
-Chain comes off
-Tires not inflated enough, if you try to get a refund, the post and the packaging will cost half of the price of the bike

very very disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2012
My wife and I bought two of these to take with us on holiday in our VW camper van. We had a couple of old bikes but we could'nt easily get them in the van. So then I checked out the cost of getting a good quality bike rack to fit on the back of the van. I did'nt much like this idea anyway though I know lots of people who use them all the time. I had visions of the bikes falling off on a motorway or I'd reverse into something and crush the bikes. Anyway the cost was going to be £250 minimum. So then I thought about folding bikes and checked on Amazon (as you do) and 2 of these Avocet Reflex bikes was going to come out cheaper than a bike rack. It was a no brainer really. Worth a try to get 2 brand new bikes, new tyres, brakes etc. Seemed like a great idea - and indeed it was. We took the bikes in the van to Denmark and Sweden and it added a whole new dimension to our holiday. It was great being able to park the van on the edge of a town and cycle in. Of course Denmark is a very bike friendly country. The bikes behaved impeccably and actually I found that we could even get them in the van without having to fold them up which made the whole operation even easier.It was really exciting biking in Copenhagen where there are more bikes than cars and the cyclists really shift. Highly recommended. Putting the bikes together out of the box is a bit of a challenge but easier than an IKEA flat pack I guess.
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
I gave 1 star because the seller cheated with the weight of the bike, which is 16 kg, instead of 12 kg as described (it seems they recently deleted this info in description).

Amazon was willing for full refund if the bike returned, however, it would cost half of the bike if I do repackaging / shipping (time consuming = money). So, this is not a good option for me. They then offered partial refund of 15%. That is considered good for the after-sale service.

---- about the bike ----
Good:
- strong,
- good looking,
- everything works smoothly
- can give 4 stars (for the price)

Bad:
- heavy
- not very compact when folded
- handlebar height not adjustable
- some bad plastics for accessories
- front break on right hand (or this is normal in UK? I used to front break on left)

Overal
- recommended only if you are willing to carry 16 kg (and not compact folding)
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
I bought it 5 months ago. I waited with the review hoping I will get used to it, but I didin`t. It is heavy, hard to carry, the seat slips down, not comfy to ride. I am sorry I bought it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)