Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
219
3.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£41.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2012
I bought this model to replace my Pure Siesta alarm clock/radio which had died. I bought Roberts because they have a good reputation for quality, and I already have a nice chunky Roberts DAB radio which is excellent. The Roberts has an option for weekday-only alarms, like the Pure Siesta, and this, with the red display, is largely what convinced me to purchase.
However, I'm a bit disappointed. Firstly, I'm not impressed with the sound quality. I like to use the sleep function, and it's nice to have good quality sound to drift off to, but this is rather too bright and bass-weak, like a cheap 'tranny' and hence not very relaxing, but maybe I'm expecting too much of a unit of this size. Perhaps I've been spoiled by the excellent sound of my other Roberts DAB radio and naively expected similar sound quality.
Secondly, the control buttons are a real challenge if you can't see them, either in the dark or due to the position of the unit, as they are all flush with the top of the unit and all packed together in a grid. This product is most likely to be used when you're half asleep or groping in the dark to switch the alarm off, set the 'sleep' function, retune, change the volume etc. You need to really concentrate to find the button you want, or suffer the frustration of having to correct matters when you press the wrong button. Not very sleepy-person-friendly! It would have been nice if the button labels were imprinted in relief so you could learn them by feel, or even if they were not actually flat. I would at least expect the on/off button to have a little pimple on it so that you can identify it quickly by touch, like is provided on phone keypads etc. One weird quirk with my radio is that when tuned to Classic FM, any attempt to use the Sleep button causes the unit to reboot itself! This doesn't happen with any other station! That's a bit unfortunate if I want to drift off to sleep to a bit of Schubert. [Update: the answer is to set the Sleep time on another station and then retune to Classic FM :-) ]
I do like the dimmable red display: on the dimmest setting it's easy on the eye and isn't lighting up the room when you wake up in the middle of the night. You can even switch the display off completely if you prefer. The alarm fades up nicely so doesn't jolt you rudely out of your sleep and make you all grumpy :-)
I'm sure I'll get used to this item's shortcomings and it'll serve me well, but had I known about them beforehand I would probably not have chosen this model.
Update January 2014: recently the increase-volume button has been causing my unit to switch off. Darned annoying! I hadn't really got used to the other shortcomings before this one appeared, so, sorry Messrs Roberts but I'm now in the market for another clock radio... :-(
22 comments| 133 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2012
Roberts Dreamtime2 DAB/FM Clock Radio
I had decided to replace my 25 year old Sony Clock Radio, which although working well required manual tuning, with a newer DAB Clock Radio with preset station selection. This was to allow me an easy choice of programs if I wished to listen to radio during the night.
I carefully researched what was available and narrowed my choice down to the latest Sony model or this Roberts Dreamtime Clock Radio, paying great attention to comments by purchasers in each case. In the event I decided I could not live with the lop-sided appearance of the Sony and purchased the latest model of the Roberts Dreamtime, expecting that most of the criticism of the earlier version would have been taken care of by the manufacturer.
And so it has proved to be. This is a nice looking and well made clock radio with reasonable sound quality and I have no doubt, with the Roberts name behind it, it will function perfectly for many years to come.
Using the small wire aerial supplied, I can receive tens of DAB stations with an acceptable signal strength. There is no detectable hum. The orange backliight can be dimmed to an acceptable level. I did not find it one of the easiest of devices to set up but not unduly difficult with the aid of the instruction manual.
In short, it behaves perfectly as an ordinary clock radio alarm and I would give it 5 stars for this.
However, if like me you are insomniac and sometimes wish to listen to suitable radio programs during a wakeful period at night, be prepared to get half out of bed and use a torch to identify the buttons you need to press in order to achieve this. Initially, you may also need the instruction manual.
22 comments| 174 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2012
Finally found a good clock/radio/alarm. It was easy to set up found all my DAB radio stations with easy with good reception and the alarm was fairly easy to use if you follow the instructions booklet. One of the best features is the fact you have four options for dimming the front display. I have it set to the lowest setting (there is another that turns it off completely if required), and my eysight isn't the best but I can see the time during the night without lighting up th whole bedroom. Must add excellent service from Amazon it arrived within two days.
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2012
Iwanted an alarm clocck which would give me the option of wakimg to music so purchased the Roberts Dreamtime 2 knowing
this makers quality from a previous purchase. I unpacked my Dreamtime looked at the wire attached to the back which the
instruction book said shold be left dangling at the back or could be mounted vertically. Oh no I thought this can,t work
for D.A.B and there is no provision to connect a D.A.B. aerial. I placed the Dreamtime on my bedside cabinet left the
wire dangling at the back connected to the mains and switced on. The radio was in D.B.mode and started to search
within seconds the number of stations found was well into the teens. This was also the case when I switched toF.M.
How wrong could I be in thinking the Dreamtime could not work on radio I should have Known better ITS ROBERTS and does every thing it says on the box. One feature I particularly like Is the fact that the alarm does not start with music blaring but starts inaudibly the volume gently increasing to just below mid level which is enough.So if you want a
radio alarm with lots of features buy this it,s excellent
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
I didn't like this clock for several reasons.
Although it was pretty straight forward to set up, I thought the sound was quite tinny and whilst I accept that it is just a clock radio, I expected better.

I also found that the scrolling text at the bottom of the display was so big, I couldn't make out what it said half the time so I ended up switching that off.

My biggest gripe though is the fact that the function buttons are flush with the top of the radio and unless you spend time enough to memorise what each one does, it'll have you groping in the dark until you're wide awake. It would have been good for the main function buttons to have a raised platform for ease of use.

Another glitch is that you can only set the alarm when the radio is on. This can obviously be a problem if you don't want to wake anyone up.

I have exchanged this radio for the Pure Siesta which I am more than pleased with and would recommend the Pure out of the two.
44 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
After waking up for many years to 5 live and static decided to treat myself to a digital Radio.Apart from updating the time automatically the difference in reception is astounding ,good display in an orangey colour which is not unpleasant ( you can alter brightness if you wish ) and a raft of new stations am well pleased.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
I bought this expecting a well thought out product - Roberts after all have a reputation for quality - Oh Dear! As a radio it's fine - in fact it's is very good as a bedside alarm clock radio it is very poor. Great that it has two types of alarm setting - weekday and weekend - I get that - it's good - now try selecting it - the radio must be on, you need to go through the pathetically thought out menu to select that different alarm. Most people might say they don't need a weekend alarm - that's fine you don't have to set anything then and all is fine until you have a week day off

If you want to cancel the alarm the radio has to be on - once again you navigate through the very poor menu & button system (several button pushes of different buttons at different menu levels) then you're not absolutely sure it has accepted the instructions because it's not clear that it has.

Of course when you go back to work you have to do the same thing again

What on earth was wrong with a single button that arms or disarms the alarm - simple!

Then we come to the actual alarm function - you can set it to turn on radio, produce a noise or if your iPod or iPhone is plugged in (only with the larger base socket size so iPhone 5 and above not supported) - I chose the radio - on it comes at a very low level and gently builds up to a loud shout - there is no way to set the final shout volume of the alarm function - you will probably need to manually adjust the volume meaning you have to wake up pretty quickly

Then we come to the ergonomics of the buttons - as mentioned already be at least one reviewer - they are all flush with the clock top with no identifying ridges and the gaps between the button are insufficient for a competent awake person to blindly navigate (remember it's probably dark) so you end up turning it off or selecting a menu or changing stations - it is a real piece of cr*p as far as alarm radio functionality is concerned

I emailed Roberts making exactly these points but the deigned not to answer and I've just sold a used twice iDream 2 on ebay

Don't buy this it is real garbage design
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2012
I have now owned this clock radio for a week and I must say I am disappointed with it. I already own another Roberts DAB/FM Clock radio which is far superior. The sound is fine and the overall functionality is OK, but there are some silly design elements to this clock/radio. Why on earth are there 20 presets for DAB and 20 presets for FM. Who on earth would need 40 presets on a clock radio, mad!! To make it even worse there are no dedicated preset buttons, you have to fanny around by pressing a button then searching for the station you want then enter on another button. On my other Roberts clock radio it has 5 preset buttons which is more than adequate, I can change stations in the dark without even thinking. On this it is impossible, all the buttons are the same. Overall a very poor design, it feels flimsy, as if they have used cheap plastics. This is not what I expect from Roberts. Both my other Roberts radios are superb with great sound, they have really boo-booed on this one.
22 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
A great alarm clock in many ways, lots of useful features including choosing how to wake up (radio or alarm etc), a rising volume on the alarm so you don't get blasted out of your slumber and more than one alarm time setting so I can choose which I need not keep changing the time back and forth. The main downfall is that you can't turn the alarm on or off without turning the radio on which is a nuisance if your partner is asleep at the time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
The Dreamtime2 DAB clock radio has not left an overall feeling of disappointment. The sound quality is good and reception is clear (as you would expect from a digital radio). I bought it because FM and long wave reception of Radio 4 seems to deteriorating.

I am disappointed that it is not possible to program the desired channel with the alarms, this will be a software driven system, so it should be possible to add multiple alarms with complete flexibility. My other half tends to tune to Radio 5 Live, which drives me insane with it's stupidity. I would like to ensure that we wake to Radio 4.

The other thing that is poorly designed and totally unimaginative is the control button arrangement. Others have complained about this. If you need to do anything, you have to have good light and spectacles if you need them to read the almost illegible legends on the rectangular array of square buttons.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 35 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)