Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
18
4.8 out of 5 stars
Price:£39.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2015
Even though we only bought this game recently, i think we have already played it more times than some of the games that we have owned for years. I would recommend anyone considering this game to buy the app first and get a feel for the game mechanics. Each tile that each player places can affect every other player and this can take some getting used to, it took us a couple of games before we fully understood what we were doing.

The game is well made and I'd highly recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
It's Sim City with human interaction. Within a few weeks of receiving my copy I had already bought the expansion. The only let down was a couple of absent tokens, however, I contacted Bezier games and shortly thereafter was sent my tokens - it could not have been easier and the staff were pleasant to a fault :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Simple to learn city building /tile laying game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
What a great game!
Each player gets to build a Sim City-esque landscape and whilst there's minimal conflict (pipping someone to the post in regards to buying up a cheap sort-after-property and denying them big points is as violent as it gets), it is rather amusing as to how your chums grow their little developments. Ah, I see you're placing a slaughterhouse next to your suburb, lovely!

Just to summarise how you play the game, basically you take turns buying up (from a variable range of cheap to expensive) properties and placing them where they fit. The properties are cardboard hexes and need to sit next to each other as you progress. The thinking comes in when you place the hex - as generally each property may give income/reputation points and by placing one type of building (handily colour-coded!) next to another may give more points, or even have some negative effect!

On your little tableau, there is a tracker for reputation and income. How you've placed your properties on your turn will effect if you will receive more income (to buy buildings) for your next turn and if your reputation goes up. Reputation equals population, so the more rep you have, the more people will want to live in your little town, and the most population at the end of the game wins! A nice feature is that the scoreboard (the population board) has little 'speed bumps' every so often between the numbers which lower your rep and income by one (representing over-population) - this stops people from racing too far ahead and makes you focus on balancing your increasing population.

Great fun!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
I really like Suburbia.

I think it's a very well balanced game that gives you a lot of options as to how to play, whilst never feeling frustrating or overwhelming. There are a lot of choices to be made, whether it's selecting what building you want to add or where you'll put it and doesn't take long for everyone at the table to have their own town with it's own personality.

There's not a huge amount of interaction between the different players, but you will want to keep an eye on what they are doing as some of their buildings may affect you and vice-versa. You also may want to pay over the odds for something to keep their hands off of it if you can see what strategy they are playing.

My main concern with this game when I first saw it was the artwork. I wasn't a big fan of the way the tiles looked and thought I may not be sucked into the theme because of it. And while it's still true your town might not look like a 'real place', you will grow attached to the way that it feels and the mechanics that hold it together. Now that I own it, I am totally fine with the artwork and actually think it's very well designed for presenting information.

Also, nothing bad ever really happens to you in Suburbia, only different levels of good. Whilst you might play a tile that decreases your reputation, this is usually balanced with a reward elsewhere. You'll find yourself building a town that works together, placing a tile that chains it's effects with several others will feel very satisfying and this happens often. However this ties into the only real criticism I have of it from a gameplay perspective as, especially in the late game, it can become a bit difficult to remember all of the different modifiers happening at once (on the flip side though, it really is in your interest to remember all of your potential rewards).

The contested goals that everyone can see will also vary each game from another - as these are large incentives for building a city a certain way. When you know there's a big reward for having the most houses, all of the players will be frantically snapping them up. Whilst the secret goals that each player has mean that there is also diversity in people's towns and it's interesting trying to work out what people's agendas are.

Overall Suburbia is a fun and balanced game that fills a nice gap in my collection. It's competitive, but not fiercely so and there's not much you can do to frustrate the other players leaving the gameplay friendly. Building a town is satisfying and gives you a sense of pride and ownership when you've customised it well. It can be a little bit fiddly working out all of the different modifiers, but to the game's credit this is minimised by great design and simple rules. It's easy to pick up, but has depth and each game will feel a little bit different thanks to randomised tiles and goals. I was a bit disappointed that the box doesn't contain an insert as it would be really useful, but this is a minor gripe really. This is a game that gets played a lot and one I'm happy to have on my shelf.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
This is a very fun, fairly easy hex based eco game, games last about 15 minutes per player.

You build up a city by buying tiles which give you:
income, affecting money gained each turn
reputation, affecting population gained each turn
or directly effecting the amount of money or population you have.

Planning and luck both play factors in this game, which I thoroughly enjoy
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 January 2016
We got this game for Christmas and it has been a big hit. It is unlike any other game I have played. The aim is to develop a successful city borough, balancing the needs of commericial enterprises with those of city residents. You have to generate income while maintaining your reputation (although some members of my family have revealed themselves to be naked capitalists who care nothing for reputation).

Gameplay involves selecting and laying hexagonal tiles, each of which represents a residential, commerical or cultural/recreational development. You get bonuses or penalties depending on where you lay each new tile relative to existing tiles (airports or slaughterhouses next to residential suburbs are not popular). There are also goals, revealed at the start of the game, which earn large bonuses at the end, and are very important for determining the final outcome. The goals and development tiles are randomly selected at the start of each game, which generates a lot of variety. Our first game took a long time while we got to grips with the rules - after that it was much quicker. A 4-player game takes about 80-90 mins.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Not for casual gamers, this is a gamers game and may take you a while to get into it.
expect time taken on each turn deliberating which tile is best to take, expect taking time to think about the strategy your opponent is going for and try to take the tiles they want.
that said this game has some great potential. its well balanced and as a thinking game certainly has a lot more going for it than pick up a tile and plonk it in a place.
this is basically a game of building a town, the real joy is that you get to see your town expand, balancing your income with the desirability of the location. there are also good moments when like when you plonk a garbage dump right next to a school just because you can...
definitely worth a buy if you like economic hex based games such as archipelago
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
This is a complex tile based game, but is a lot of fun once you understand it. Not for new gamers, but rewarding if you like some depth.

The basis of the game is to build a thriving city with a good population.This is done through a mixture of commercial, industrial, civic and housing areas (hexagonal tiles)

You need to balance your income, town reputation, tile placement and tile purchase strategy. You aim for the highest population, but a bigger population is more expensive to maintain - so it is a constant balancing act. Add in the various achievements and it is a rich game that changes each time you play it.

There are no dice, it is all based on skill in purchase/placement of tiles for your town and stopping stopping your opponents getting the tiles you know they need.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2016
My wife has become addicted to this fun game. It has quite a few ways to win, although it tends to be that the person who accomplishes the most quests gets the prize. Not all cards are in use in each game - which means there is always uncertainty about what cards will be in play - which adds to the game. It is reasonably complex, but not too much so.
Generally, a relatively easy but thought provoking game - fun for the family.
I also like the way that you can play with 2 players...some games are not so fun with only 2 players.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)