Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
135
4.8 out of 5 stars
Price:£9.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2017
This is such a cute kitchen gadget that is actually really useful. What is it? It's a little plastic person who's bent over so you can have a steam vent on your pots and pans to avoid things boiling over! You get 2 in a box, one red and one white. I've had many comments from friends and family who want to know where I got it from. Definitely a good fun buy.
review image review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2017
Oh dear, the sight of these poor chaps hanging over the pot edge really makes me smile - as a bonus they stop me having spillages from simmering contents. Pricey but fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
Cute and Quality Sids. Gets moved around a lot while waiting to go on duty!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Arrived promptly and as described and are functional
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
Expensive but they work and raise a smile. As you only need one and you get a red and white one in box you can always pass on one of these jolly chaps!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
Very funny and useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Like many others we've suffered in silence from pans that boil over, and the pan that boils over the most is the one in which the potatoes are boiling away, and as a result the hob gets trashed and needs a vigorous rub-down with "Hob Brite" afterwards. We've tried perching pan lids in such a way that steam can escape, but as soon as our backs are turned the lids slide back into their homes and the tell-tale hiss and burning smell from the kitchen moments later tells us that the worst has happened, and out comes the "Hob Brite" once again.

Thank heaven for Lid Sid! The box contains two of these rubbery gizmos, and they hang over the edge of the pan, keeping the lid slightly raised. As others have said they work better with pans that don't have a "lip", but our pans are all lipped and they still work OK, albeit with the "Sid" being on a slight angle. As the box contains two you can use them on two pans at a time, or have two on a single pan if you prefer. They're sturdy little things, work well, and are a bit of fun, if slightly overpriced for what you get.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
I love the idea of these things, as I'm constantly mopping up after over-boiling stuff. The minor problem is that they're only really ideal if you have straight sided saucepans. Our have a slight lip, but due to the straightness of the groove in the little blokes, it means they either sit at an angle or fall off/in if not pushed down. This does mean they probably wouldn't suit any pans where the lip is very big.

If they were tweaked to add a little notch to make the fit smoother, they'd get 5 stars no problems. And they still work with slightly lipped pans, it's just you have to be careful with them.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
Absolutely love them, I think they are hilarious.... Only down side is now everyone who sees them is requesting them for their Christmas present this year lol. A lovely little utensil to lighten any mood and a great talking point.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
Brilliant for stuff like boiling pasta or potatoes when you're worries about the water boiling over with the lid fully on. A bit of fun and you're always guaranteed a reaction. Makes me smile
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)