Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2012
The Philips HP6581 Satin Perfect Wet and Dry epilator combines stylish design with functional technology into a perfect product - Actually, there are two epilators: the big and the small one. In addition, it comes with a shave and a massage attachment, tweezers (with mirrow and light) , and a small storage bag.

Regarding the big epilator : the wide head makes the epilation quite fast and the ceramics discs make it quite painless. Epilation always hurts a little bit, but this one hurts less in comparison to other epilators I had. I've tried the massage attachment , and I really like to use it on my legs after I epilate. I've tried as well the shaving function, and it did it really well ,just as it should be.
Regarding the small Epilator: it is thin and long , so it can easily reach difficult spots in the bikini area. Even it has few tweezers , this is good especially for such places !!. I also use this little one for other sensitive areas like the armpits. I wouldn't use it though for the lip area , here I'd recommend the included, really good illuminated tweezers , that comes in the set. These are the best tweezers I've ever tried.

General comments: The Philips Epilator HP6581 Satin Perfect Wet and Dry is like the name suggests, to be used cordless in the shower. The battery life is about 40 minutes , which is more than enough.
Conclusion: Philips brought a really good product bundle to the market , of an outstanding quality and ease to use. Also at a reasonable price, when you think you get a first class gadget with a lot of extras, including an additional small epilator which I cant live without, now .
Deserves 5 stars.
22 comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2012
I have never used an epilator before so can't compare it to others, however, I do like it. It doesn't hurt on my legs, just pinches, it hurts a little on my bikini area and hurts more on my underarms but is just about bearable. The shaver attachment is really good and obviously doesn't hurt. It is so quick and easy to use the shaver as opposed to wet shaving in the shower with a razor. It doesn't leave me with a rash as the wet razor used to (for the epilator or shaver). I have only used it dry so far. The small epilator is good for the bikini area and underarms. This has two disposable batteries in which come with the product, whereas the main unit is rechargeable. It fits into a normal socket for recharging and does this within the hour. I have used all the attachments apart from one which I have no idea what it is for and I can't seem to find it in the instructions. And, talking about instructions, these are very complicated to me as they are only in pictures and have no words at all! The light on the epilator is really good and shows up all the hairs as you go. The tweezers with the light on are also good. I have only given it four stars because of the instructions and the attachment that I've no idea what to do with! So, overall I like it and it leaves a smooth finish (with either the epilator or shaver) and is easy and quick to use.
22 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
Well I was sceptical about this, but the reviews were good so I thought I'd give it a try. I tried an epilator years ago, possibly the first braun, it was so painful, I can re-call being determined to give it a go, and swigging whisky to numb me and the pain! Imagine my surprise when I put this over my legs, and did not hurt in the least, just a little tingly here and there. Now I have strong dark hair, and go for a full leg and bikini wax every 6-8 weeks. It has to grow back through, get to that itchy stage and get long enough to wax. I had a wax about 3 weeks before trying the SatinPerfect Deluxe, and my legs were itchy, it was great, it grabbed all the little hairs coming through, and returned my legs to that just waxed feel. Now I am running this over my legs about once a week to keep them smooth. So it is probably best to start using this on previously waxed legs, and just use the epilator when you feel the hairs there. Hairs grow at different stages, so you will need to use regularly to keep super smooth. But it is quick and painless. I prefer to use mine on dry legs, tried it once in the shower but found it a little slippy. I also used the mini epilator for the bikini area, again really good, no pain. Long term I will save so much money, by not having to visit the saloon anymore. Tried to do under my arms, and that was more painful, but my fault as the hairs were longer, I will shave first, then start to use the epilator as the hairs re-grow. I usually can't be bothered to write reviews, but this has been the best buy. I will take it with me on holiday as all stored in a compact pouch. First time ever, I can remain hair free,and have no rashes, perfect!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
I am totally annoyed with this product. Or more to the point with Philips. DO NOT BUY!!!!!!
It all started off really well, lovely finish, one of the best I've ever owned, until 18 months later it packs up. There's no given reason why, just stops working. I was always so very careful with it. Even though it was a wet n' dry one, I always made sure it was dried off well after use. I stored it properly. It was never dropped. Then it just stopped!!!! For the price, I am absolutely fuming. I would have rather spent my money on a cheaper one, knowing it wasn't going to last than spend a small fortune on one that lasted just as long.
My advise to you DO NOT BUY.... Do not waste your money... Go for a different make... AVOID AT ALL COST !!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
Although a little tricky to get started, this product really does produce great results. The instructions don't explain very easily how to turn the product on (press the lower button quite hard for a few seconds!), but once you get started this epilator removes hairs easily and leaves you with very smooth skin. I used it on my legs and underarms and it's the best finish I've every had from an epilator (I've been using them for a few years now).

I haven't used the smaller precision epilator yet, but will try it soon. You also get some tweezers in the pack that have a built in light, which were really good for getting those tiny eyebrow hairs out!

You charge the main epilator and then use it cordless, which is handy as you can use it anywhere, even in the shower!

A great product and one I'm sure I'll find very useful over the next few years.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
It is fab, would recommend to all, was equally good both wet and dry. Good value for money and a great product
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 January 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
[Reviewed by Mrs O']

I have used a variety of epilators over the years (such as, Braun Silk-épil Xpressive Pro 7681 Wet & Dry Rechargeable Epilator) but this latest offering from Philips is by far my favourite product. It's a bit pricey mind, but when you're talking about painful hair removal it's probably worth buying a product that's top of the range and that does the job well, as you'll use it for many years.

What I particularly like about this product is that it comes with two epilators, one large and one small, both of which can be used wet or dry. The large one is rechargeable and is quick to charge and, depending on how long it take you to epilate, will last for at least six uses before it needs recharging. The large epilator is ergonomically designed, looks good and has straightforward controls with the great LED light, which is an essential must have especially if you don't always epilate in the daylight. It also has a change of head, so you can use it as standard shaver when you're in a hurry (or don't feel up to the pain that day!). Both heads work exceptionally well and provide a smooth finish.

The small epilator however, is what I like best and what makes this product stand out from the rest. It's a shame it's not rechargeable like the large one given the cost of the product, but I'm willing to overlook that as the idea of having a large and small device is brilliant. Why? Well all the other epilators I have ever used have one epilator with a variety of different attachments to help you tackle those more delicate areas, but before I tried the Philips Satin Perfect HP6581/00 Epilator this had always been very problematic, as even with attachments it meant you were having to use a large device to get into smaller places and the results for me were awkward and VERY painful. Not so with the small Philips Satin Perfect Epilator, as this is the right size to do the job you want it to do and it does so without the agony I've experienced previously (and given up using for more delicate areas). I particularly would recommend it for underarm use in the shower, used with shaving foam you barely notice any discomfort at all, but it does a great job (and hairs seem to grow back less thickly). The tweezers are also an added bonus, as one of the drawbacks from epilation is that, on occasion, you can get in-growing hairs and these need tweezing out when they arise, so it's nice to have tweezers supplied so you don't have to run around trying to find some when you need them.

I would heartily recommend this product to newbie epilators. Don't be tempted by the cheaper price of the other versions unless you only want to use it for your legs. If you want flexibility to meet all your epilation needs the Philips Satin Perfect HP6581/00 Epilator is the one for you!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 October 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Having had an epilator/torture device about seventeen years ago which I tried once, during which did a tiny patch of leg, squawked, bled, and probably cried a bit (then used the device exclusively as a ladyshaver for the rest of its life), I must admit to having had considerable trepidation about trying again, but am SO glad that I did. Do not be afraid if, like me, you have tried the epilators of yore and decided that you'd rather pull out your toenails with pliers, they really have improved beyond measure! Obviously, as with anything ripping hair out by the roots, the sensation is not exactly pleasant, but I find it entirely manageable, actually rather less painful than waxing, and it is very convenient being able to get the equivalent of salon-quality waxing results without having to get out of your pyjamas (or at least, not get far out of them).

The Philips 6581/00 SatinPerfect box contains a rechargeable wide-head epilator for legs etc, and a small battery-powered precision epilator (which can be used wet or dry) for use on bikini line and armpits, knees etc. There are also additional heads for the epilator - one of which enables it to be used as a shaver, with removable comb attachment. Also in the box is a set of 'smart tweezers', which are basically tweezers with an LED light on them and a small mirror built into their metal barrel casing. The epilator charges up very quickly - an hour of charging will give you a stated thirty minutes of use (in practice I think it actually lasts even longer than that). A bonus is that you can use it from the mains, which is good if you've forgotten to charge it and are in a hurry. The only disappointing thing contained in the package is the storage pouch, which is a cheap-looking white nylon pouch. It does the job but I can't help feeling that they could have provided something sturdier/more attractive for a top-end model such as this, especially as the epilators themselves are pleasing on the eye, being festooned with a tasteful pretty design.

The main epilator has an extra-wide head, which is a good thing because it covers a wider area and gets the job done more quickly. Also built into the device is a bright white LED light which illuminates the area being epilated, which is very useful if using it in a room with poor lighting. It is important that you exfoliate the area beforehand and moisturise afterwards to minimise ingrowing hairs. The results obtained are very good, clearly as it is ripping the hairs out by the roots there is always going to be some temporary redness but it fades quickly even on my sensitive skin. The tweezing discs on the device are specially-coated to reduce metal allergies and I am happy to report that this is effective - razors etc all give me rashes, this does not.

Well worth giving this product a go.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
It is a bit of a disappointment, after almost 6 months of use, I can definitely say that I'll stick to Braun next time. It tears hairs, they grow inwards more than with the old Braun. The light is ridiculous, because it creates an unpleasant reflection on the skin, preventing you from seeing properly...that's if you can tolerate the glare of it strait in your eyes when you try to look closely at what you're doing. The battery is not bad, you can easily do your legs twice without recharging. The small epilator is good. The tweezers are not good either, they cut through the hairs if you squeeze a bit harder. Again the attached light might seem a good idea, but is actually not helpful much. Altogether I expected quite a lot more for the price.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
(Mrs. Welch here, not Gary Welch, by the way!) I'd like to recommend this epilator for a number of reasons. But first, let me say that if you're an epilation 'virgin' and you choose this epilator first, you're not gaining the gist of what the rest of us veterans of epilation are comparing this product with. If you go in 'virgin', long hairs and all, you're going to get so much pain, you'll think the rest of us are nuts. So allow me to suggest that you go and get professionally waxed first, then let the very first of a fine stubble grow and THEN start epilating on a regular basis to maintain the smoothness. Otherwise, if you go in 'virgin' you're going to experience a level of pain you're unprepared for and, consequently won't realize that you've bought a superior product in the Philips HP6581/00. This is the way epilators generally work: once the hairs are at a slow grow back pattern, you keep nipping them in the bud so to speak, which keeps you smooth and makes the process a LOT LESS painful. The more you use it, the fewer hairs you have and you will feel very little pain at all. I promise - and this is from the perspective of a woman who has thick, stubborn Mediterranean hairs, not fine ones.

The main epilator: Okay, now for those who are epilation veterans, this thing is freaking awesome! I used to have the old Philips - can't remember the model number, but it's the lavender one that came out many years ago. I already loved that model for its ceramic surface on the rotating head which is MUCH better than the other epilators where metal is used. After buying two of those over several years because of hard use, wear and tear, I was hesitant to move on and didn't know which model to go with.

Well this HP6581/00 retains that ceramic surface, which is great. But its ability to be used in the shower or bath is what makes it that much more comfortable to use, and therefore a superior product. If any of you have had a lazy spell where you waited a bit too long between epilation sessions and were fearing having to endure pain because of longer hair, using this epilator in the shower reduces the pain by at least 70% in my opinion. I let my leg hairs grow out ridiculously during a period where I was ill and felt so little pain while using this gadget in the shower that I was amazed. Also, the emergency stop feature in this model is a great safety valve for if the epilator catches something it shouldn't. For general information, I use this epilator on my legs, arms, pits, and (very carefully) my entire bikini area(yes, hoo-hoo and all). But if you try this, GO SLOW and be very careful. The 'light' featured on this epilator doesn't really do much for me, but it could have something to do with the fact that I'm using it in the shower, which obscures the light with all that water, or it could be because my skin is dark and my hairs are dark so it may not illuminate the hairs that well. Anyway, the light feature is neither here nor there for me - it does work nicely on the tweezers included in the kit though (scroll down for that part of the review).

Okay, so now the reason I've given this product 4 stars is because I did get a faulty one which stopped charging properly after about four months. The highlight, however is that Philips gave me ZERO problems, discussed the issue with me (also told me that they'd had very few complaints at all about this model)and sent me a replacement in less than a week. Great customer service from Philips.

Now onto the accessories with this Philips HP6581/00:

The small, battery operated epilator included in this package is a lifesaver if you want to travel light over a weekend and was really a lifesaver while I was waiting for my replacement of the main epilator. It doesn't have ceramic surfacing on the rotating head - it's metal - but still, it works well in a pinch or for smaller areas that you want to epilate.

The shaver attachment is okay for a quick shave when you're on the run and a few random hairs need to go fast, or if you want to cover a large area quickly with shaving. Like all shavers, it doesn't leave my skin absolutely smooth to the touch the way a good epilation session does, but again, it's good in a pinch just for 'looking' freshly shaved without the hassle of using a razor.

The attachment guards for the shaver don't do much for me. I don't use them at all because I want to be hair-free everywhere, but if you have longer hairs, say along your bikini area this is probably a good attachment for you.

The tweezers with the pin light is *awesome*, as it's a good pair of tweezers for brows and the odd stray hair, and does illuminate my skin pretty well in darker light - but don't look into the light, as it's very bright.

I think that just about covers everything. This is a really great product and it's worth the money for sure.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)