Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2012
The Philips HP6581 Satin Perfect Wet and Dry epilator combines stylish design with functional technology into a perfect product - Actually, there are two epilators: the big and the small one. In addition, it comes with a shave and a massage attachment, tweezers (with mirrow and light) , and a small storage bag.

Regarding the big epilator : the wide head makes the epilation quite fast and the ceramics discs make it quite painless. Epilation always hurts a little bit, but this one hurts less in comparison to other epilators I had. I've tried the massage attachment , and I really like to use it on my legs after I epilate. I've tried as well the shaving function, and it did it really well ,just as it should be.
Regarding the small Epilator: it is thin and long , so it can easily reach difficult spots in the bikini area. Even it has few tweezers , this is good especially for such places !!. I also use this little one for other sensitive areas like the armpits. I wouldn't use it though for the lip area , here I'd recommend the included, really good illuminated tweezers , that comes in the set. These are the best tweezers I've ever tried.

General comments: The Philips Epilator HP6581 Satin Perfect Wet and Dry is like the name suggests, to be used cordless in the shower. The battery life is about 40 minutes , which is more than enough.
Conclusion: Philips brought a really good product bundle to the market , of an outstanding quality and ease to use. Also at a reasonable price, when you think you get a first class gadget with a lot of extras, including an additional small epilator which I cant live without, now .
Deserves 5 stars.
22 Comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
I've used it very little, not more than twenty times, it broke down when I used it for the first time in the shower. Do not buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
Great product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
used other but didn't work well but this one is perfect and doing job very well recommend this item to all of you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
Well I was sceptical about this, but the reviews were good so I thought I'd give it a try. I tried an epilator years ago, possibly the first braun, it was so painful, I can re-call being determined to give it a go, and swigging whisky to numb me and the pain! Imagine my surprise when I put this over my legs, and did not hurt in the least, just a little tingly here and there. Now I have strong dark hair, and go for a full leg and bikini wax every 6-8 weeks. It has to grow back through, get to that itchy stage and get long enough to wax. I had a wax about 3 weeks before trying the SatinPerfect Deluxe, and my legs were itchy, it was great, it grabbed all the little hairs coming through, and returned my legs to that just waxed feel. Now I am running this over my legs about once a week to keep them smooth. So it is probably best to start using this on previously waxed legs, and just use the epilator when you feel the hairs there. Hairs grow at different stages, so you will need to use regularly to keep super smooth. But it is quick and painless. I prefer to use mine on dry legs, tried it once in the shower but found it a little slippy. I also used the mini epilator for the bikini area, again really good, no pain. Long term I will save so much money, by not having to visit the saloon anymore. Tried to do under my arms, and that was more painful, but my fault as the hairs were longer, I will shave first, then start to use the epilator as the hairs re-grow. I usually can't be bothered to write reviews, but this has been the best buy. I will take it with me on holiday as all stored in a compact pouch. First time ever, I can remain hair free,and have no rashes, perfect!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
After having a Philips Epilator for about 7 years I thought I should upgrade, especially when I saw there were ones I could use in the bath.
Having really thick dark hairs I thought using one in the bath would be much more helpful, even more so as the last winter was so bitterly cold I didn't want to get my legs out again to epilate after showering/bathing!
After looking through many reviews I went for this epilator as it has quite a few bits and bobs and was a very reasonable price.
As said before in other reviews, for the newbies, epilation hurts to begin with, there is no way to get past that, just persevere as it is the best thing I have ever done - my legs hate being shaved, they get really dry and I get loads of ingrown hairs, but epilation is great.

I only gave it 4 starts as it didn't seem to catch as many hairs as I thought it would in the bath, I'm probably doing something wrong, and I appreciate that the hairs lie really flat when wet so I will try again and see how it goes. In the dry it is great, and caught a lot more hairs, and the attachment to help pick up hairs and with a little roller on the back is interesting but very good. I really like the light attached as then you don't have to get into all sorts of positions to get the light onto your skin! Although I have ended up wondering why it's gone off and realising I've got my finger over it! The tweezers are great too, the light is fab and I just love them. The shaving head works well, I don't bother with the longer shaving attachment though. Being wireless also I love, you're not restricted to certain places in the room, and it's much easier to handle. I must admit I haven't used the little epilator yet, but I'm sure it will be just as good.
It also only gets 4 stars as the instructions are a bit odd, being just pictures they are difficult to read, even for someone who knows what they are doing - trying to figure out which attachment it's talking about by just a little picture at the top of the page was a bit tricky I must admit. I can really see why lots of people have mentioned this in other reviews.

Overall highly recommended!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
[Reviewed by Mrs O']

I have used a variety of epilators over the years (such as, Braun Silk-épil Xpressive Pro 7681 Wet & Dry Rechargeable Epilator) but this latest offering from Philips is by far my favourite product. It's a bit pricey mind, but when you're talking about painful hair removal it's probably worth buying a product that's top of the range and that does the job well, as you'll use it for many years.

What I particularly like about this product is that it comes with two epilators, one large and one small, both of which can be used wet or dry. The large one is rechargeable and is quick to charge and, depending on how long it take you to epilate, will last for at least six uses before it needs recharging. The large epilator is ergonomically designed, looks good and has straightforward controls with the great LED light, which is an essential must have especially if you don't always epilate in the daylight. It also has a change of head, so you can use it as standard shaver when you're in a hurry (or don't feel up to the pain that day!). Both heads work exceptionally well and provide a smooth finish.

The small epilator however, is what I like best and what makes this product stand out from the rest. It's a shame it's not rechargeable like the large one given the cost of the product, but I'm willing to overlook that as the idea of having a large and small device is brilliant. Why? Well all the other epilators I have ever used have one epilator with a variety of different attachments to help you tackle those more delicate areas, but before I tried the Philips Satin Perfect HP6581/00 Epilator this had always been very problematic, as even with attachments it meant you were having to use a large device to get into smaller places and the results for me were awkward and VERY painful. Not so with the small Philips Satin Perfect Epilator, as this is the right size to do the job you want it to do and it does so without the agony I've experienced previously (and given up using for more delicate areas). I particularly would recommend it for underarm use in the shower, used with shaving foam you barely notice any discomfort at all, but it does a great job (and hairs seem to grow back less thickly). The tweezers are also an added bonus, as one of the drawbacks from epilation is that, on occasion, you can get in-growing hairs and these need tweezing out when they arise, so it's nice to have tweezers supplied so you don't have to run around trying to find some when you need them.

I would heartily recommend this product to newbie epilators. Don't be tempted by the cheaper price of the other versions unless you only want to use it for your legs. If you want flexibility to meet all your epilation needs the Philips Satin Perfect HP6581/00 Epilator is the one for you!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2012
I have never used an epilator before so can't compare it to others, however, I do like it. It doesn't hurt on my legs, just pinches, it hurts a little on my bikini area and hurts more on my underarms but is just about bearable. The shaver attachment is really good and obviously doesn't hurt. It is so quick and easy to use the shaver as opposed to wet shaving in the shower with a razor. It doesn't leave me with a rash as the wet razor used to (for the epilator or shaver). I have only used it dry so far. The small epilator is good for the bikini area and underarms. This has two disposable batteries in which come with the product, whereas the main unit is rechargeable. It fits into a normal socket for recharging and does this within the hour. I have used all the attachments apart from one which I have no idea what it is for and I can't seem to find it in the instructions. And, talking about instructions, these are very complicated to me as they are only in pictures and have no words at all! The light on the epilator is really good and shows up all the hairs as you go. The tweezers with the light on are also good. I have only given it four stars because of the instructions and the attachment that I've no idea what to do with! So, overall I like it and it leaves a smooth finish (with either the epilator or shaver) and is easy and quick to use.
22 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 October 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Having had an epilator/torture device about seventeen years ago which I tried once, during which did a tiny patch of leg, squawked, bled, and probably cried a bit (then used the device exclusively as a ladyshaver for the rest of its life), I must admit to having had considerable trepidation about trying again, but am SO glad that I did. Do not be afraid if, like me, you have tried the epilators of yore and decided that you'd rather pull out your toenails with pliers, they really have improved beyond measure! Obviously, as with anything ripping hair out by the roots, the sensation is not exactly pleasant, but I find it entirely manageable, actually rather less painful than waxing, and it is very convenient being able to get the equivalent of salon-quality waxing results without having to get out of your pyjamas (or at least, not get far out of them).

The Philips 6581/00 SatinPerfect box contains a rechargeable wide-head epilator for legs etc, and a small battery-powered precision epilator (which can be used wet or dry) for use on bikini line and armpits, knees etc. There are also additional heads for the epilator - one of which enables it to be used as a shaver, with removable comb attachment. Also in the box is a set of 'smart tweezers', which are basically tweezers with an LED light on them and a small mirror built into their metal barrel casing. The epilator charges up very quickly - an hour of charging will give you a stated thirty minutes of use (in practice I think it actually lasts even longer than that). A bonus is that you can use it from the mains, which is good if you've forgotten to charge it and are in a hurry. The only disappointing thing contained in the package is the storage pouch, which is a cheap-looking white nylon pouch. It does the job but I can't help feeling that they could have provided something sturdier/more attractive for a top-end model such as this, especially as the epilators themselves are pleasing on the eye, being festooned with a tasteful pretty design.

The main epilator has an extra-wide head, which is a good thing because it covers a wider area and gets the job done more quickly. Also built into the device is a bright white LED light which illuminates the area being epilated, which is very useful if using it in a room with poor lighting. It is important that you exfoliate the area beforehand and moisturise afterwards to minimise ingrowing hairs. The results obtained are very good, clearly as it is ripping the hairs out by the roots there is always going to be some temporary redness but it fades quickly even on my sensitive skin. The tweezing discs on the device are specially-coated to reduce metal allergies and I am happy to report that this is effective - razors etc all give me rashes, this does not.

Well worth giving this product a go.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)