Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
21
3.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 February 2015
Well it is a shame that you get no mounts with the Contour Roam, especially when they are as expensive as this. This one is OK, it serves a purpose, but is essentially a couple of pieces of plastic and a mount. Whilst it enables you to mount to many different things, I actually prefer mounting mine on my bike using a more specific handlebar mount.
The problem I found mounting this to a helmet was getting the it on the right hole in the plastic stap, it seemed to be either too tight or not tight enough, fine adjustment was just not possible.
I have added a photo to show exactly what you get.
review image review image
44 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2012
So, I bought a ContourHD.
I bought a ContourHD because:
a) It is cheaper than a GoPro
b) The video looks nicer than a GoPro (in my opinion)

What I did not realise, is that the GoPro comes with lots of lovely mounts, and even if you need one that is not in the box, new mounts are reasonably cheap. The Contour comes with a Goggle mount, and a sticky pad. Neither of which worked well with my bike. So I needed a new mount.

After umming and ahhing between this and the Vented Helmet mount I bought the Flex Strap. This invalidates a), because I paid £25 for some pieces of rubber. The FlexStrap is massively overpriced. Far too expensive. Too much money.
The flex strap is literally 2 pieces of rubber and a small piece of plastic.

Don't get me wrong. The flex strap redeems itself by being quite a good mount, and very versatile. It works. You get quite stable video, and could attach it too lots of different places, which is nice on a bike.

A much fairer price would be £10 -£15.
11 Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
Unfortunately, I purchased the roam 3 plus the strap however it has no lock on it apart from the swivel (left to right) and as I cycled down a hill and went over a bump, the camera flew off and smashed:(... not major damage but enough for me to not want it and sent back.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2012
I bought this to fix my camera to my bike. I managed to fit it to a number of different places on the bike - handlebars, rear fork and frame etc so it does what it is supposed to do. I think it's a bit expensive for what it is but I haven't found an alternative. Does what it should, 4 stars due to cost.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
Probably the only mount you may need, I personally use it on my motorbike but would be very useful on lots of things. easy to use with the 2 strap sizes. Would of got 5 stars but quite expensive for what you actually get in the box.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
This product is really expensive for what it is, but it serves its purpose. It's actually ended up as my helmet mount and gives pretty good results with no movement on the helmet.

You can mount it virtually anywhere on the bike and if you can accept the price it's a worthwhile addition to your contour camera.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
At last a flexible contour mount that's not 5 times bigger than the camera. I use my Contour mainly on my mountian bike and have been using the handlebar mount up to now. This is a big monstrous thing, however it does work. Being so bulky it is difficult to mount anywhere other than on the handlbars.

With this new Flex Strap I can mount the camera at the bottom of my forks, top of the forks, on my down tube, seat post, rear stay etc for loads of different and interesting angles.

Its not a lot of kit for the money and i'm not sure how durable its going to be over time, however it is well designed and really is flexible and multi-purpose.

Expect more Youtube contributions from Dazanator now this is in the gadget bag.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
This is an expensive bracket for what it is but gives a very secure fixing. Felt more robust that using adhesive pads.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
Since buying this, it's made many of my other Contour attachements redundant.

Great for mounting on handlebars, downtubes on bikes - quick, simple, easy to attach and allows plenty of scope to mount camera in different places.

It is quite a lot money but given how much I use it, I don't regret spending the money (now).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
Bit clunky, but does the job.
Does transmit a lot of road noise from handlebars though.
Could do with some damping under the mount.
Also the locking lugs on the slide mount don't seem to work very well, slips on and off without any eddort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)