Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2011
As summer approaches and the quagmire becomes a dust road I sought a new pair of boots. Couldn't resist Amazon's offer of these Karrimor Bodmin boots. Always liked Karrimor gear, rucksacks which last for ever, trousers that do the job perfectly etc. Incidentally, I think it was Karrimor that broke the mould and launched the first fabric boots back in the mid 1980s. The boots arrived in sturdy box but smelt a bit of fresh glue! The fit was perfect, they are very light and comfortable. Have completed several long walks, 15-20 miles and no blisters or discomfort but they do get a bit hot! Support around the ankle is disappointingly flimsy, wouldn't use them in rough, mountainous terrain and sorry to see a champhered heel which is not clear or evident in pictures. Haven't got them wet yet so can't comment upon weatherproofness! Overall can't complain for less than £30! RRP is around £70, other makes £80-£140 so even with limitations excellent value.
22 comments| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2010
Simply verry well made verry comfortable, thay say there waterproof and they are, thay say there breathable and they are,you could pay five times more and still not get this kind of quality, a good buy.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2011
I purchased these for hiking and mountain walking and i found them to be sturdy,comfortable and well suited for rough terrain.I climbed Ben Nevis recently and was very satisfied with them.They have an excellent grip and were waterproof.All in all great value and i was very happy with my purchase.Ben Nevis is tough but worth it for the views....
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
Many years ago when buying walking boots, the shop assistant would hand you a pair of thick socks so that so that a judgement could be made at the time of buying on the comfortable fitting of the boots. Alas, shops selling boots are not as local as they used to be. Also boots of a stated size always seemed to allow for the fitting of thicker socks but now manufacturers don't allow for this.
So after past experience internet buying I now allow for socks by ordering boots a half size larger. I did so with this pair of boots and they are comfortable.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2011
A light-weight boot excellent for local walking and driving.Roomy and comfortable.Downside was sizing.All boots for U.K. customers should have sizing product controlled for the British foot.Obtaining the correct size and fit is a trial and error exercise depending on the source and manufacturer.
11 comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2011
I bought these as I needed some pretty fast and went solely by the reviews. One helpful review mentioned the size - and they are ever so slightly larger.

I ordered a size 8 and fit perfectly with some room by the toes, don't be tempted to order a slightly larger size. Using the size guide helped and I`m glad I didnt go for a higher size as they would have been to big.

The shoes are of good build, look good and are lighter than I expected. I don't often buy shoes off the internet but on this occasion I have been more than impressed.

* let me stress use the guide and use a ruler - cant go wrong.
22 comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2011
Bought the boots specifically for walking the dog particularly over rough and muddy terrain.

They have proved to be excellent for this purpose.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
From the title you can tell I am a fan, here's why:

Beautiful fit - run to size ie I'm a 9.5 and these are spot on.
Really comfy out of the box, very lightweight too.
Look attractive if you're in to that.
Great grip from the sole.
Seem waterproof and hard wearing so far.
I feel represent really good value for money.
unreal ultra fast delivery (where I purchased them from anyway)
I am buying another pair (reasonably good sign too)
Enjoy C
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2011
I bought the shoes not so long ago - but had possibility to test them intesively in a variety of different conditions. I have walked through the Andes, used them while wading in mountain streams to push the canoe against the current, walking in the snow at -20 degrees Celsius. They are comfortable and durable.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
These were bought for my husband to replace similar, but much cheaper boots which had worn out. At first sight, they seemed to be better manufacture.

He wore them a few times in dry weather without problems. He then wore them in wet grass - and had wet feet within a couple of hundred paces. The grass was not especially long - about 4" (100mm) - just long enough to get the boots wet. My husband was wearing waterproof gaiters. His feet were dry where the gaiters covered the boots, but wet elsewhere. By the time he'd walked three miles through grass and puddles (puddles not deep enough to cover the boots) his feet were very wet, with sodden soles to his socks.

Not a one off - happened again this morning. Hasn't yet tried them in the rain!

Boots NOT recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.