Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
88
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2011
This poster is most definitely a poster. It's large and flat and has a picture on one side. I gave this poster a good review because when it came in the post, the picture on the front was the same as the one I'd asked for, which made me pretty happy. Pretty happy indeed.
33 Comments| 104 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2012
The print quality is high, and the paper is high quality and slightly glossy, though not so glossy that it reflects light and obscures the details. The map is detailed, though not any more detailed than the maps in the novels apart from a texture to the various areas (e.g. Dorne being sandy, the area around the Wall being snowy), and it of course printed in a far higher resolution than those maps. It also came packaged in a cardboard tube so sturdy you could quite probably knock someone out with it, or play baseball with it if you're not so inclined to violence. It's also marked as an official HBO product, with the licensing details in very small print at the bottom of the map, should you feel a little apprehensive about "What if this is just some picture the seller found online and printed off himself" as is fairly common on eBay. This is certainly an official product. So in summary, it's a nice poster that has a classy feel to it and is somewhat more subtle and refined way of showing your love of the series than having a huge Sean Bean glowering at you across the room (though I'm sure some people would like that). It's also large enough that you can glance up at it as you read the books and picture where all the different characters are, and in more convenient, colourful and dramatic fashion than flicking to the maps at the front of the book.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2012
I'm only giving this three stars because, frankly, it could've been designed a lot better than it was. Firstly, despite being a huge poster, it is surprisingly lacking in detail - the little maps at the beginning of the books show more detail! This poster leaves out a lot of the little towns and region names. The area north of the Wall is especially disappointing: nothing has been marked on this map! No Frostfangs, no Fist of the First Men, etc.

Secondly, while the font used for town names, etc. is clear and legible, the one used for natural features is stylized to the point of being unclear at times. Also, I think this map would've benefited from a bit more colour in places. I also wish it showed more of Essos (the lands on the eastern side of the Narrow Sea), although I know there's another map that shows that land in more detail, but then you lose detail on the Westerosi side.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2012
Quite excited when I got it. Spent a good 45 mins looking at it whilst recalling storylines related to the places marked. A great souvenir for anyone who is a fan of asoiaf.
I should warn you that you might find yourself firstly glancing at it and then finding you've spent fifteen mins engrossed.
Very good price for a nice poster.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
I chose 5 stars for this product because it is brilliant. Yes, it's not as detailed as some maps but if it had more place names on it would be too crowded. It came packaged in a roll so it was in pristine condition. This helps a surprising amount when reading the books to gauge the distance covered by characters. This is going up on my bedroom wall because of the high quality.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2012
I'm deep in the fourth book in the Ice and Fire series and this map is a wonderful boon. As others have said, it's very high quality, both in printing and in the paper used. It arrived tightly curled in plastic inside a sturdy tube, but I only had to carefully re-roll it the other way round for it to lie flat.

It makes a real difference being able to see the whole of Westeros in one go. I find myself sadly tempted to make little flag pins for the characters so I can track their progress, oh dear.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
Nice big poster, has a little less detail than the little maps in the books in places though. Many of the landmarks seem to have moved slightly too; King's Landing is slightly off for starters. Perhaps this is to account with some of the changes in the TV show? Also the resolution of the image is a bit blurry so it doesn't stand up to much scrutiny. But complaints aside, I can't really mark it down for this price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
The title of my review says it all really.

I purchased two, one for myself and another for a friend's birthday. We are both huge fans of the series, myself more the novels and him the tv adaption. However I fully expect that fans of either can enjoy the map to its fullest.

Glancing over this map really gives me a deeper feeling of understanding whilst reading the book. It certainly is one of my most favourite purchases on Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
the sturdy tube it came in must be worth more than the asking price.
a must for all Thrones fans.. you can buy for your all friends ... fabulous bargain.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
I wish I had bought this before I started reading the books, as the maps as the front of the books are quite difficult to read. It is not a poster I would want on my wall permanently, but I am on book 6 and will keep it up until I have completed the series. I have mounted it on a large artists canvas - it is VERY big, too big for the side of the fridge where I had intended to put it. Delivered quickly and packaged well. It still misses out a lot of the places mentioned in the books, but mostly I can guess where they would be now I have the map.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)