Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 November 2011
Read very many reviews of the various shavers on the market, and it was almost impossible to find even one that was without criticism, especially the rechargeble versions. I have a rechargeable, but this was a standby for my Philiips, mains powered,which had served me for nearly forty years, but had come to the end of its life.
I bought the Powertouch since it had the least number of critics, hoping for the best.
My first thoughts when I powered it up was that it was going too slow compared to my old Philips, and that it would not do the job.
It has proved exactly the opposite. It does a great job, smoothly and without any afterburn, and is almost as good as a wet shave, and better than my old Philips which served me so well.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 July 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This electric shaver has gone down well with my husband. He has previously used the Philips RQ1180, which is a much higher quality product, but found that this one still performed to a high standard. The shaver was easy to use, quickly producing a good close shave. It is also easy to handle, as the size and shape is well-designed for comfortable use. The PT715 is extremely easy to clean as it is a washable shaver, and due to the corrosion free heads it is likely to wear this type of cleaning well.

The one major flaw that he found with this product is that it comes with no sideburn trimmer. This is less than ideal, but it is marketed as a 'no extras' product, so it is not totally surprising.

Despite this one gripe, the product has performed very well in all other respects. It is a corded shaver, which is important to note, but this can be an advantage for those who habitually shave in one place, near a plug socket. With battery operated shavers you inevitably reach a point where you seem to be continually charging it, due to the rechargeable battery starting to degrade.

So, in summary, it is good quality product, with no extra features, that is capable of giving a good close shave.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 November 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Compared to a rechargeable shaver, the Philips Powertouch PT715 Electric Shaver certainly has its advantages in that the being a corded shaver, it's not one where the battery constantly needs charging but at the same time you do have to be in a room where it can easily be used. This can cause problems if taking it on holiday (or indeed your own home) as the plug may not be close to a mirror to see what you're doing.

The Powertouch performs well giving a close shave with its flexible head and without irritating the skin. It's easy to clean but is a no-fills shaver. Recommended.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 April 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I truely cannot fault this excellent shaver. Being a Philips you can be guaranteed that it is fantastic quality and at only £30 at the moment on Amazon this is as good as some of the £80 ones we have tried. It is a powerful razor and almost as close as a wet shave - you can run it under the tap and even though it is powerful it is gentle and despite those with sensitive skin we have no complaints of any shaving rash and it's quite rare for my husband to find a razor he can get along with this is perfect. We've been using it for just over 2 years and it's still going strong - it's quick and leaves you feeling smooth. Highly recommended, you cannot fault this at all.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
The choice was a Philips or a Remington. I've always bought Philips before, and after reading the reviews I didn't see any reason to change. The only difference was that this is a three-head razor, whereas before I've bought the two-head variety which Philips don't appear to make any more.
I can find no problem with it. No, it's not rechargeable - I don't need it to be. No, it doesn't have a trimmer - I never used the trimmer anyway. The cord isn't elasticated but it's more than long enough, and the shave is as good as any razor I've used. So oi'll give it foive.
The paperwork said I could register my purchase online. I invariably encounter problems when doing this, but I thought I'd give it a go. And the problem soon materialised. The invoice gave the model number PT715/17, but the two choices I was given to select on the website were PT715/15 and PT715/16. I decided to click on 'Contact us' and ask for advice on how to proceed. I got an email saying 'thanks for contacting Philips Australia' and giving me an address in Guildford Surrey to write to.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
I telphoned Philips for advice, explaining what type of electric shaver was required for my husband. The person I spoke to was extremely helpful so I then looked on Amazon's website for the one he recommended and ordered it. Very pleased with the razor so it was well worth the time spent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
I was looking at more expensive electric shavers, but couldn't face up to paying a king's ransom for a shaver. So I bought the Philips
Powertouch and it is a super shaver. If anything shaves closer than this it would take the skin off.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
well very disappointed with the quality of this product last Phillips razer lasted me 15 years I doubt this will last 6 months if I was lucky
what a shame we cannot no longer buy quality goods whithout having to pay over the tops for Chinese? sorry and unhappy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
The shaver works very well and gives a close shave with little effort. However the mains lead that connects the shaver has a mind of its own; it is impossible to put the lead away away in a tidy fastion which was not the case with my previous shavers. This is because the lead is straight rather that curly and rather stiff so that it cannot be wound up tidily when put away. If you like a tidy bathroom, this is not the shaver for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
Bought to replace a 25 year old Philishave that was not cost effective to service. Initial impression was it seemed flimsey and not built to last which is why I avoided the rechargeable ones. The mains shavers seem to be treated like poor cousins, no travel pouch, no trimmer and no curley extending mains lead, all of which I would have been happy to pay extra for as part of a package. It is for those reasons it only gets four stars. This shaver runs slower than previous Philishaves but gives a decent shave. Bought a little Wahl trimmer as a substitute for what was missing on this shaver and its proved a good combination.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)