Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
200
4.0 out of 5 stars
Price:£47.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2011
nice quality product, delivered on time, i have a similar older model hd in another system which has been great so i was happy to get newest model
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2017
Great item and even greater support from Seagate. They did more than reasonable expected to get the drive working correctly. Not a Seagate problem, but an HP issue that HP refused to help with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
Brilliant item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Product as described and very quick delivery. Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
Excellent HDD with good warrantee. I have always bought Seagate drives over many years and I cannot fault them for performance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2017
Not a lot to say! As advertised and arrived quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
Bought to upgrade a PC with an overflowing 40GB system drive C:, this 500GB drive was chosen primarily because the manufacturer (Seagate) had the wisdom to produce and provide a free utility (DiscWizard, available from Seagate's website) which makes copying an old hard drive (any make) onto a new Seagate drive virtually a one-click operation for most people by using the 'disc cloning' tool included in that utility.

In the simplest mode, the tool prepares the destination disc for use, copies all existing partitions from the old drive onto the new, expanding them proportionally to fit the space available on the new drive and makes the new drive bootable. There's also a manual mode in DiscWizard which allows you to control the relative sizes of the disc partition(s) created on the new drive, so you can keep the 'recovery' partition the same size as it was and expand the C: drive to fill all the remaining space on the new drive.

My supplier supplied this drive to me as a bare drive with no instructions and no connecting leads - this is normal for an 'OEM' drive which is assumed to be being purchased by someone who knows what they are doing - but again, Seagate's website has good, clear instructions describing how to temporarily install the new drive alongside the old before swapping it into position as the new main drive.

I should point out that Seagate are not the only manufacturer who provide free disc cloning tools and advice for specific use with their own drives, but be aware that there are one or two who do not, so always check out the drive manufacturer's website before making a final decision about what to buy.

As to the Seagate Barracuda drive itself, it is very quiet and reasonably fast - very happy with it so far.
11 Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
If you have a noisy hard drive it probably means you've been given an older version. Cambridge Accessories have been selling the 7200.10 version, made in 2006 but the version in this listing is 7200.14, the most recent.

Double check the model number listed here on Amazon (ST500DM002) with the one on your hard drive. If it's different then you can return the goods to the seller and request they pay for return as they've sent you an incorrect item.

I only found this out as I purchased from Cambridge Accessories but on eBay as it was cheaper. Luckily I had my head screwed on the right way and figured they sent an older model (I was quite sure current HDD's didn't make the constant, loud chirping that you heard 10 years ago - sounded almost like an old floppy drive!). Unfortunately for me on eBay there was no model number or anything listed so have had to send back at my own cost but purchased the current model elsewhere.

TL:DR/REMEMBER: Check the model number is ST500DM002 to ensure the HDD you're receiving is the right one, and not an older version.
11 Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2012
The only good thing was that the HDD arrived quickly - after that it was down hill.
Installed the HDD and my PC did not recognize it at first. Re-moved all leads, brushed around the sockets and re-connectd it. Hey Presto! it works.

As I was installing software onto the HDD I started getting clicking noises coming from the drive and installation failures - shortly afterwards lots of clicks and absolutely nothing happening. Re-booted the PC - drive non-existant. Total drive failure!!!!. Once I had run out of expleatives,contacted Amazon and got all the details to return the drive - very shortly after got a refund.

The packaging was not what one would expect for a HDD - just an anti-static bag and a thin cardboard outer. No buble wrap or any other protection - so not really suprised at the drives failure.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 16 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)