Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
75
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£16.99+ £4.99 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 March 2011
The speedy weedy is light, simple and easy to use, chemical free and does not require the purchase of refills. You don't have to bend or use too much effort to extract weeds from your garden. You select the weed you want to extract, position the tool directly over the weed and push the three metal prongs down into the ground. Give the speedy weedy a twist using the handles and a core of soil containing the weed comes away from the ground. Push the button to release the core into a waiting bucket/bin.

It works best on weeds without a deep tap root - it tends to leave the end of larger dandelion roots in the ground. However, I figure if I keep extracting them before they get a chance to set seed I can at least stop them from multiplying, and smaller dandelions can be successfully extracted first time. Longer prongs would improve tap root extraction but might make the process harder on the user. I found I could not extract a second deeper core from a hole as there is a stop on the side of the tool which I guess is there to let you know when you have pushed the prongs in to the ground as far as they will go. I also found that it is not so easy to use on stoney ground - stones make it difficult to push the prongs into the ground to their full extent. It is far easier when the ground is wet than after it has been baked dry by the sun. It is also tricky to use on weeds that have a spreading habit rather than a discrete rosette form.

Once you have extracted your weeds, you are left with fairly large holes (about an inch or more in diameter) which is no problem in flowerbeds where the holes are easily covered up. I have used it on my lawn, and though the holes are unsightly I am hoping they will aid drainage and help solve my moss problem too... If the holes bother you enough you can always extract a core of earth from elsewhere and use it to fill the holes you have created. Other cons are that can't be used to remove weeds from patios or between paving stones.

On the plus side it can also be used for planting smallish bulbs (remove a core of earth where you want the bulb to go, place the bulb between the prongs, position over hole then press the button to release the bulb. Cover the hole with the core of earth you extract when you make the next hole).
22 comments| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
It does exactly as it says. If it does not take out all of the root first time; no problem, just reposition over the hole and repeat the process. My dad loves this gadget and i have also found myself searching for weeds just to use it. Good product. x
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2010
It takes the backache out of weeding, simple to use. It works very well for weeds with shallow roots. I bought it primarily to take the dandelions out of the lawn. It didn't work too well on these as they have long tap roots. This resulted in the root snapping and the dandelion will grow back. I think the 3 prongs need to be longer to remove longer rooted weeds.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2011
Took delivery of this earlier this week and I am very happy with its performance. It got all but the largest dandelions out with minimal effort. The fact that I don't have to bend over and/or kneel is splendid. Made a midweek weeding session quite theraputic. Even volunteered to attack the neighbour's front lawn!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2011
This tool is fantastic! I love it. I went round my garden getting rid of all the dandelions and as a secondary function it did a good job of airating the lawn. I hate dandelions and Speedy Wedddy makes it so easy to get rid of them that I actually enjoyed weeding!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2009
This weeder works a treat, as it says on the box. As well as the long weed root it takes out a plug of soil, 3cm x 6cm which should be filled, with sand or soil.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2010
Excellent for removing dandelions and other weeds in the garden. Our soil is quite hard, but Speedy Weedy coped easily.
Great if you have back or knee problems. Makes weeding fun!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2011
This Speedy Weedy does work but you have to be quite strong to push it into the ground and then twist it, its the twisting thats the main problem after about 10 - 15 minutes it makes your hand a bit sore, bear in mind Im elderly, i.e. 71 and weak wrists, so am going to try it wearing gloves which I think will improve matters and give me better grip
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2010
I love this device! Kill those dandelions without having to bend over.

The only down side is that it leaves quite large holes (although these fill in after a couple rain showers) and it is not that robust- I go through about one a season.

BUT there is nothing that comes close to this for ease and effectiveness on the market.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
Arrived within about 3 days so brilliant. Really pleased with this weeder. It is light, easy to use and it is just the right length for those of us who are height challenged! I have exceptionally heavy clay soil so would not use it when the grass/ground is dry and hard as would not want to break it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.