Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 18 January 2013
These are quite a comfortable boot, but they're not entirely 'weathertite' as the name suggests and as experienced by others too, the lace arrangement is poor and they do not grip very well I've found.

After a couple of months use, just at the weekends and not excessive, one of the laces broke whilst pulling them up. I suspect this is due to unnatural fraying from a roughly produced eyelet, but the laces are not exactly beefy.

I have found that on even slightly wet, hard, polished surfaces they are leathal which of course you might expect - what isn't?! However; Tarmac, the concrete of paving slabs and even the rougher cast concrete, of the type of block paving you find in most modern pedestrian areas, they can't grip in the wet either. Whilst walking in the hills, I've also been in fear for my limbs whilst walking on Limestone surfaces too. Tarmac and concrete can be found whilst hiking sometimes, but certainly rock. Even these boots can grip grass and soft ground with the grip pattern they have, which I must say is good.

The Karrimor web site is not designed so that the ordinary Jack in the street can contact them for advice or information, in fact I'd say that it's positively restrictive with them telling you to go to the retailer for everything. In my case that was GO Outdoors, who said that this product, that is advertised on the Karrimor site as a 'Walking Boot', should not be regarded as a boot that you can use for general purpose walking! Though they said they might be able to return it on the lace issue, but I would have to make sure they were completely dry and spotless! Not what I expected when returning a product that is faulty and also not fit for purpose, thinking they'd only be binned anyway. I've cleaned them up now and have to re-submitt, but I think they're just intending to returm them to Karrimor for approval before even thinking of refunding me!

In my humble opinion these boots are not fit for the purpose that they are advertised for, i.e: walking and I have been genuinely in fear of having a serious fall with them on more than several occasions. This may be due to the manufacturer miss matching a particular sole compound with their boot - who knows?! Direct customer support and advice is impossible to obtain via the internet/Email and not good from some retailers. Though in fairness this is probably due to Karrimor's restrictive returns policy? If you're going to take a chance on them, my advice would be to get them from Amazon, because at least then, when you find they're not up to walking in, there will be no quibble about their return.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
Got these boots for £33, and as the title says YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.

Wore them once and as luck would have it heavy rain on way home from train. Boots leaked from both pairs at the toes and one boot from the outer side edge. Not what you would expect from a WATERPROOF boot (in-fact I'd expect more from a water resistant boot). Not much more to add apart from I'm not returning them because I can't be bothered with the hassle of repackaging them and taking them to the post office, so I'll either wear them on dry days or pray it doesn't rain. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!! Can't say much more than that!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Well they had a good initiation over this weekend (February 2014). Despite the amount of water and mud about my feet remained dry and also very warm. I deliberately purchased these boots a size bigger than I would normally wear daily. With good thick walking socks these boots were very comfortable indeed and terrific value for money.

I regularly take groups out to the Pyrenees Spain/France, Himalaya and elsewhere and I would fully recommend these boots for high level summer walking conditions.

Overall, I would rate these particular boots 8/9 out of 10, and well done Karrimor. Finally, one could easily spend well over £100 on Karrimor competitors in this particular market, but why do this when there are KSB's for quarter of the price on the market?

I have been involved in outdoor world for well over 35 years and not necessarily are Karrimor's well known competitors the best in the field when it comes to mountain clothing and equipment. A lesson I have learned over the years to my cost sometimes.

Well done Karrimor on this item at a great price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
had a pair of the previous version of this boot and they were brilliant -waterproof and very comfortable .unfortunately this version is certainly NOTwaterproof and not very comfortable .very unhappy with purchase.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
this is my second karrimore product and you cannot make a mistake, this boot is of a fantastic quality, you slip into it and you feel comfortable. even after many hours of walking
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
i got these boots yesterday and done my first 5 mile walk in them, my previous boot was a Karrimor Orkney and i clocked up approx. 1200 miles in them and the sole was starting to wear thin and crack, i was going to get the same boot but decided to try an alternative, just as i expected the Karrimor Mens KSB Aspen Mid lll Weathertite have a good fit very similar to the Orkney and after a quick 5 miles at approx 14 minute miles my feet were fine. only one down side to this boot is the flat laces that i noticed immediately that they dont seem to pull through the eyelets as smooth as i like to and will be buying round laces. i like the fact that the insole is removable as i like to upgrade my insole after a couple of hundred miles of the original as they then to compress fairly quickly. i am a size 10 and bought a 10 and i think they fit perfectly and thats with wearing thick walking socks, so personally no need to go up half a size. i am looking forward to clocking up several hundred more miles this year and hope they are as robust as the Orkney.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
Bought the boots mainly to use walking my dogs, they tend to like hills and bogs so normal shoes are not suitable. They have excellent grip when walking up steep gradients and they are waterproof, second day out had to rescue puppy from a bog, boots filthy and wet but feet stayed dry. They were also very comfortable from the start.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
I have been wearing Karrimor KSB boots for over 25 years now and I was very relieved that when my new boots arrived recently that they were of the usual excellent Karrimor quality and comfort, these are 'waterproof' boots and although my last pair were Karrimor 'Gortex' branded waterproof and breathable boots, I believe that the lining of these new Karrimor waterproof/breathable lined boots will be just as durable and waterproof as my last pair which I have worn for 13 years. The construction of KSB's is durable and tough and these new boots are a little lighter in weight than my last KSB's, which is a great advancement and they are very comfortable as were my last pair, The New pair still has the well known 'Vibram' sole - a durable and very 'grippy' rubber sole - made to last - and I hope to get many years wear out of these boots, an excellent buy in my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
I bought these just before Christmas to replace a similar pair of Karrimor boots that had finally thrown in the towel. On receipt they were exactly as advertised and were comfortable straight out of the box. I use them as wet/bad weather all purpose boots for walks, watching matches etc. They are warm and, so far, water tight. Like others I found the soles quite slippy on wet smooth surfaces e.g. pavements but this seems to have improved as they get more wear, or maybe I'm just more careful! No issue with the laces and, in any case, these can be replaced fairly cheaply if needed.
Great value all purpose boot and hard to beat at this price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
This is my first purchase of Karrimor footwear, I tend to purchase HiTech; but was attracted by the special offer price.
The first time I put them on I noticed that the laces scrape through the buckles - sure sign that they are likely to fail early. Then as I was pulling the laces tight through the penultimate buckle, it snapped clean off!
Needles to say these have been returned for a full refund. I not sure I will ever consider Karrimor again....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)