Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
10
3.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£23.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 September 2012
If you have a Wacom Cintiq then you have a smudgeguard. I have never used the previous version with 1 finger so can't compare the two. This product is very good and as far as I am concerned is a must have. The only downside is the price, which is very expensive for what it is, but again if you have spent a lot of money on your Cintiq then you need to protect the screen as much as possible. I purchased the medium size as this is the size I would buy regular gloves in, but if I was to buy a replacement, I would recommend that you buy the large size. I can use the medium size and once it's on is fine, but I do find it slightly tight around the wrist and is a bit of a struggle to take off.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2012
I bought this to draw on my Cintiq 24 HD, you DO NOT WANT any smudge or grease marks on such a drawing device, this glove works splendidly for that purpose and works for either left or right handed individuals.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
Smooth and comfortable, a real must for the aspiring digital artist.
Word of caution, don't saw MDF near it as the saw dust can be quite hard to get off completely
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2015
Can't live without it... :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
This is an alright product, but I don't think its worth this amount of money. It does protect the screen and does everything it says. Only you can make it yourself lol for free.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
I have two of these (sold individually) and they are without a doubt an essential piece of kit for anyone who has an expensive piece of equipment such as a Cintiq. You need it not only to protect your screen but also to protect your hand. 7 hours a day of friction, 5 days a week and you make yourself susceptible to skin injuries and strains. With this glove on your hand positively glides across the surface. However, the price of this item is criminal. I was able to mail order the item from the official website for just under £13. Smudge Guard you should be ashamed of yourself for ripping off UK customers who use Amazon.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
The SmugeGuard 2 is the two finger version of the original SmudeGuard. The SmudgeGuard was originally designed for left handed people and only covered the little finger. This was designed to prevent left handed people from smudging their writing and getting pencil on their hand as it passed over the writing. Artists picked this up, as it also helped them not get pencil on their hands as they sketched on paper, thus the Art community picked it up. Then the Digital artists got their hands on it for use with their tablets, and it became a big hit with the Wacom Cintiq users as it allowed the artist to draw on the screen without getting grease/sweat from the hand on the screen, and it allowed the hand to glide across the screen with ease. This brings us to the SmudgeGuard 2; although the original SmudgeGuard did an ok job it only covered the little finger, and this left the ring finger dragging along the screen. So with demand for a two finger version from display tablet users they made the SmudgeGuard 2.

Now the brief history is over with, you must be asking the question - is it any good?

I have had my Wacom Cintiq 24HD for a few days now, and I bought the SmudgeGuard 2 to go with it. I have brushed my hand across the screen, and it does have some drag with skin on the glass, this kind of resistance is something that would get really annoying very fast. With the glove on your hand just glides over the screen and you clean the screen at the same time. The SG2 is a fantastic product, and anything that can add to the longevity of an expensive tablet while making the artist's flow easier is a must. The material is non abrasive and helps wipe the screen clear of dust or accidental finger prints. It is something that should come as standard with any display based pen tablet.

So you now know its advantages, but you must be wondering - what are the disadvantages?

With all its uses there are a few drawbacks. While you wear it, the screen can be warm, and although this heat is kept from your hand it does warm up the glove, thus can cause your fingers to become sweaty with prolonged use. It can also be annoying having to constantly take it off every time you get called away from your work. I resorted to folding the finger part of the glove around the wrist part to make it like a wrist band when not in use.

Overall conclusion is that this thing takes a little getting used to, but it does its job well. I bought mine from Cockermouth Arts & Crafts for £13.99, and at that price you can't go wrong.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
Rip off pricing here. Get the Huion version instead, which is much, much cheaper and does the same thing:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00VTHAS00
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2016
Have had several of these now, although I will admit, not from Amazon. Am stunned at the price charged here for it. I paid just £15 (Free P&P) from another website. My advice, if you want one of these and they are excellent, is look around... They are available much cheaper than here!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Just buy yourself a cheap pair of gloves (or a multi-pack for a few pounds) and customize them with a pair of scissors. I can't believe people are paying such extortionate prices for what amounts to half a glove...

If you took an additional 15 minutes to actually sew a seam around the cut area, your custom made 'smudgeguard' would resist unravelling, plus you would have the satisfaction of knowing that you haven't been ripped off for £30.

I mean, come one! The people buying this product are supposed to be creative, right?
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)