Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2014
Great shaver very happy I bought it 52% off top of the range shaver for bottom of the range price
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
As good as the one as i had before, a little expensive but worth the quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2012
Hubby really happy with it!!! He has got a very sensitive skin and this product is doing its job perfectly! less mess as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2010
I've owned a number of foil shavers in the past and never got on too well with them. The more expensive ones are okay if you have very short stubble, but if you miss a day's shave then two days length can be tricky to deal with. As such until today I have mainly stuck to wet shaving with a Gillette Fusion or (when time allows) a straight razor.

After receiving some gift vouchers I decided to give an electric shaver another go. After remembering my father having a very early model Philishave which worked flawlessly for many, many years I decided to give a rotary shaver a tried and ended up splashing out on the RQ1250. It's about twice as much as I'd planned on spending, but I was feeling reckless (and I'm very glad I was!). The shaving mechanism is identical to the top of the range RQ1290, but doesn't come with the automatic cleaning gadget. Frankly, as the razor is so quick and easy to clean anyway, I believe the additional cleaner is utterly pointless.

The quality and comfort of the shave is by far the best I've had with an electric shaver. Whilst not quite as close as I can achieve with my Fusion or straight razor there is so little in it that it hardly matters. It's certainly closer than I've achieved with a lot of cheaper razors. It also coped remarkably well with 3 days worth of stubble - no foil razor I've tried has ever managed this without having to resort to using he trimmer first to trim things back a bit!

The build quality is exceptional. Whilst this might be a high price to pay for something you'll only use for a few minutes per day I fully expect to still be using this shaver in ten years' time. If I'm correct then in reality this shaver will probably end up costing my far less than I would have spent on Fusion blades (which are obscenely expensive) in the same period of time.

I really only have one gripe about this product. As several others have mentioned it would have been better to have the option of charging without the cradle. The cradle is fine at home, but not something I'd particularly want to carry around on trips & holidays. This isn't a major issue - it's definitely still a 5 star product - but is something worth mentioning nevertheless.

All in all a first class shaver. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.
11 Comment| 155 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2015
I bought this as a present to myself in September 2013.

Initially very impressed with quality, how quiet it was and jet cleaning system.

Now the bad news. After 1 year I no longer get a close shave. It barely touches stubble on chin and can take 10 minutes when I used to do it in 2.
I tried looking into replacing the heads. 55 quid!!! Got really pissed off with this. This is a really expensive running cost if heads need replacing every year.

Worse. They have stopped making replacement heads and only sell inferior heads which have got poor reviews.

All these 5 star reviews must be from people using the shaver within the first couple of months. My shaving experience is after 1.5 years.

So my advice is look at the bigger picture and don't be enticed (as I was) into buying what seems to be a nice product.
Philips are very crafty with this built in obsolecence.

I have always used Philips but I am going to switch to Braun.

Happy shaving.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2012
When you've spent over 120 quid on a shaver, you really want it to be good. You persevere, try different ways of using it, blame yourself for your failure and suffer poor results in order to justify your state of denial. Then one day you wake up and realise that this shaver just isn't doing the job anything like as well as any of the last six shavers you owned.

So it is with this Philips. It takes twice as long and gets half as good results as my old Philishave - and that wasn't the best shaver I've owned. The blades are so far from the outer perimeter of the shaving head that it impossible to reach hairs growing close to the nose. Long hairs (more than 1.5mm) don't get cut and each area of the face requires attacking from every possible angle to do the job.

No, after 4 months of desperate effort there is only one conclusion - it's an expensive lemon. So, I guess it's off to counselling for me.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2011
This is my fourth electric water proof shaver, 1 Panasonic and 3 Philips, which I use for shaving in the shower.

I have used my Philips RQ1250 SensoTouch GyroFlex 3D for 6 month now, and here you have my conclussion so far:

Pros:
- Nice build quality
- Very flexible head, follows the face very well
- BEST Pro: No matter how hard i press against the skin, I don't get skin rash at all

Cons:
- Poor shaving performance: It takes forever to get a close shave compared to all my previous shavers ...but then of course you can shave forever without gettng skin rash. Also this is the first shaver where i actually have to lift up my nose to get close enough. The shaver has a distance of more than 8 mm from the edge to the cutter blade!!
- Bigger than expected. Bigger and heavier than my two previous Philips shavers
- The "precision trimmer" is getting really heavy to push out, it does not cut very well(but as good as any build in trimmer i have tried) and the space where the trimmer extracts from fills hold water, cannot be cleaned and might be a good place for bacteria
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2016
I have always owned philips shavers ever since i started shaving when i was 15 years old.this is the most expensive shaver i have ever purchased.it is true when its said you get what you pay for,this requires no effort shaving.let the blades do the work no good pushing on your skin as the blades have there own springs.I would recommend this type of shaver to people with very sensitive skin as you need no pressure on your skin to shave.the bad thing is they don`t make these any longer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
I've only been using this shaver for a couple of weeks but this is what I have noticed. I don't know why but it does take the skin a period of adjustment when moving from blade to shaver or vice versa I found learning the right weight of pressure to apply takes a bit of getting used to as well. At first I was pushing down quite hard which led to skin irritation. Now I apply the lightest pressure with the same results and no irritation. I've also discovered that I get the best shave when my face is bone dry ... any humidity in the air or on my face and I struggle. I haven't tried a wet shave with cream or gel and probably won't. Don't build your hopes about the trimmer. It trims ... kind of.

I'm not sure how helpful it is to compare blade shaving and electric shavers. They are two completely different beasts with different results in my view. They both have their advantages and disadvantages. I think there are men with very coarse facial hair and an electric shave might struggle with this type of hair. There are men who need to shave twice a day and an electric shaver tucked away in an office drawer before that important meeting at 17:00 will be the perfect answer for a quick freshen up. Then there are the rest of us ordinary blokes with ordinary facial hair and this shaver might just be the best thing since sliced bread.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My boyfriend tested out this product. He was previously using a Phillips Philishave Speed XL. He didn't have any specific problems with the Speed XL shaver, but obviously wasn't going to turn down the offer of a free upgrade to a swish new model!

I assume that men are probably less fussy than women about how electrical grooming appliances look but regardless of whether you're picky about appearance, the SensoTouch RQ1250 is aesthetically pleasing (and let's face it, a lot of men will be sharing a bathroom with a woman so it's a plus point that it looks nice). It's a sleek mixture of smart gloss black plastic and grip-friendly matte rubber with an anti-slip contoured texture for ease of handling; presumably handy if indulging in a wet shave.
For a shaver, even when sat in the charging cradle, it's very compact so is generally fine to keep in the bathroom rather than putting it away each time you use it - the old Philishave used to regularly get knocked off the shelf because it was bulkier and sometimes got in the way. It's slightly more slimline than other shavers, but thankfully not to the detriment of its functionality, due to its ergonomic shape which apparently sits nicely in your hand during use.

My boyfriend says that this shaver gives him a noticeably closer shave because due to its design it glides, with ease, into every contour of his face and neck with a bit less friction than other shavers he's used. He also says that shaving with this is a quicker experience that it's been with previous shavers, which is a plus for anyone because shaving isn't exactly a task many people relish. The "precision trimmer" is a pretty standard attachment on most shavers and this one does the job cleanly and tidily (having used this myself on the back of his neck to tidy up his hairline and sideburns). Using a trimmer like this is never the quickest job in the world but it's a plus point that this one is slightly smaller than some clunkier models that can be large and therefore very difficult to trim areas precisely. It's also handy to use when he's neglected his shaving for a few days and needs to trim the longer hair before getting down to a full shave (apparently this is easier than just trying to shave long hair with the standard head).

The hairs from the shaver are easily tapped into the bin, and the occasional rinse empties it completely. It charges pretty quickly (1 hour) and does not need charging very often at all as I hardly ever see my boyfriend's one plugged into the charger (though obviously this is going to depend on your frequency of use).
I have noticed less frequently the missed hairs on his neck in difficult to reach places that I used to see, only when he's shaved in a real hurry.
Just checked on Amazon (May 2012) and replacement heads come in at £37.99, so certainly not cheap but he's been using this shaver for 18 months, 1-2x per week and still going strong, so who knows when it will need replacing.

The soft-touch matte black travel pouch that's included is an added extra, which compliments the shaver nicely and serves its purpose, and protected his shaver sufficiently on a 6 week travelling holiday around Australia so I'm sure it can survive most things (and he says he forgot the charger and the shaver only ran out at the end of the last week!!)

He says that if he would be just as happy with it if he had paid for it, slightly more expensive than what he might have chosen himself but feels that it will actually last longer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)