Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2012
This fits my requirements. Ideal for nipping down the shop, local club and so forth. It fits the bill in respect of its weight being light. Other bikes of this type can be rather heavy and not suitable for carrying too far. The bike ride does take a bit of getting used to, but one soon settles in. Very good value when compared to similar products. Do watch the cable runs when unfolding the bike. Patience is required until one is familiar with the setting up. It might be handy to carry in the car all of the time in case one gets stuck in a traffic jam and needs to do the last bit of the journey right away. I contacted the seller regarding an adjustment and they were quick to respond with the right advice.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Bought two of these bikes direct from Buy Buy Bikes who gave good service and kept to their stated delivery time, which was very quick and over a bank holiday weekend. Have yet to try them out fully but a brief ride indicates no problems: gear change via the twist grip is smooth, all gears engage quickly though the highest is a little noisy however adjusted, but I can live with that. Brakes are efficient though needed adjusting more tightly to reduce lever travel. The saddle is well padded and sprung so should prove comfortable. Folding mechanism is a little fiddly at first and the pivot on the centre frame fold of one bike was very difficult to lock/unlock (it is necessary to lift the cam lever to unlock and to push it down to lock and this was very stiff, this may well improve with use. Fitting the folded bike in the carry bag is a little awkward and there is no shoulder strap for the bag although there are rings for its attachment. There is a replaceable drop-out for the rear wheels which is a useful feature to have. My one complaint is that the weight of each of the bikes was over 12Kg (confirmed with 2 sets of scales) and only slightly less when I removed the rear luggage rack. Given that much is made of the lightness of the model (stated as 10.5kg) this is disappointing; removing the stand would lose less than 1kg. Even allowing for possible material variability in frame manufacture this is a big discrepancy. Nevertheless, at this stage, the bikes seem to offer good value for money.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2012
This bike arrived the day after I bought it on Amazon! It was really well packaged and in immaculate condition. I thought I would have to put the bike together but it came fully assembled and all I had to do was unfold it. The mud guard, rack, kick stand and bag are nice extras (the lock is totally useless!)

It feels really sturdy and the wheels are a decent size but it folds down small enough to take on the bus and is very light for it's class. Brilliant for zipping downhill and peddling on the flat or slight hills - not so good on the steep uphills (but that could be more down to my fitness!)

All in all a good bike. I'm sure there are better ones but maybe not at this price.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
Main quibble had to have bike serviced by dealer to validate warranty,this cost £29.99 from Halfords but included Halfords 12 month Bike Care Plan ! So I have this plus Sellers 12 month warranty

It has 6 gears -some folding bikes are 7 gears, but generally you pay for this. But the bike is light and nippy so 6 gears most of the time is fine

I would have liked a detailed diagram of my bike, but bike came out of box and assembled very easily. It was just remembering how to fold it up to get it back in the bag took a bit of practice-but it does go into the bag provided . It seems well made and folds up and down well.

I am very pleased with the bike.

If you've ridden larger wheeled bikes it may take an hour or two to get used to .
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
I made a mistake and bought this bike directly from the website [...]
It was delivered promptly this time (initially I waited 3 months before getting a refund), but as the warranty required initial service, I took it to a certified specialist bike workshop.
I had to wait a week for appointment. And the next day I learned that the bike cannot be safely used.
The pictures that I am going to upload will show the problem. There is an angle between the front fork stem and the handlebar pole, which means the handlebar are not horizontal.
Also the seat pole clamp has a screw/bolt that cannot be properly tightened.
I reported those problems to the seller to hear in response unreasonable accusations and demands.
The bike is relatively cheap but you are taking a roulette chance if you get a working model.
If not - don't count on the seller to try and solve the issue.
One of her ridiculous demands was that I pack it back exactly as it was and send back at my cost in the original box.
I could not know that she sold me a faulty bike until it was assembled.
Well, you are warned.
review image review image review image review image
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
Purchased with some trepidation because of one or two less than glowing reviews from others, but I love it. Exactly what we wanted, bike itself was fine and well wrapped. Relatively easy to set up. If you are not mechanical I get the servicing / warranty point made by others but this is a bike for goodness sake, and if you are used to doing your own maintenance & adjustment etc it's fine. I'm very happy to take it on myself when given a reasonably decent bike in the first place! In my opinion this is.
This was actually for my wife & I am tempted to get another for myself - would now have no hesitation buying one again!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
I bought one of these directly from buybuybicycles's website and the bike was delivered the next day - great service.

With the bike itself, however, there are certain things:

- there is no standards sticker; typically new bikes will have one to reassure you that it conforms to british or european bike standards

- the chain rubs against the chain guard when in top gear so it's a bit noisy

- the rear wheel isn't exactly round, it's slightly oval

It's cheap and the quality of the components aren't surprising but the bike is very light which is why I chose it.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
I bought the bike from buy buy bicycles & everything was OK until the moulded plastic bike caliper (might not be correct word for it) broke. It sheared off 1 morning under light pressure as I applied the rear brake near the bottom of a small hill. I was not going fast so slowed the bike with the front brake. I took photos of the broken part (attaches the rear brake to the handle bars) & e-mailed buybuybikes. The situation is still unresolved. They say they have forwarded a replacement part but it hasn't arrived. I shall have to take it somewhere to have it fitted. That firm is bound to charge me for the work & buybuybikes have said they will not reimburse me. I have said I consider that defective goods were supplied in the 1st place as I had had the bike less than a fortnight & ridden it roughly 10 times (each journey appox 1 mile) when the breakage occurred. There has been no reply to my suggestion. I am still using the bike & being v. careful over speed so as not to risk an accident.
I've also had a slight gears problem as twice now the chain has "jumped" off the gear wheel & had to be put back, but this is a minor issue that I have resolved without much inconvenience.
Other than that the bike is OK & the wobbly rider is getting back into the hang of cycling after 30 years of not doing so.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
Arrived on item and came with all accessories. Excellent condition. Happy with as expected. Will recommend to others. Not suitable for long journey.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
Lovely bike, easy to fold fit's lovely in my Fiat Panda, & very light.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)