Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 6 April 2017
Crusader must have been listening to the reviews and have engaged in product development. All three 13A sockets are now rotated by 90 degrees such that the standard UK plugs and trailing leads don't interfere with each other. (see attached photo) The whole unit is still slightly bulky but you do get a full 20m of cable.
review image
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2015
I bought this in April for a trip at Easter but didn’t end up using it. Being such an apparently simple product I didn’t think to try it at that time and stored it away for future use. It’s now August and the cable has now been used for the first time. Had I have tested it at the time of purchase I’d have sent it straight back. Too late now though due to the passage of time and the fact that I had little alternative but to use it once I was on holiday.
I’ve noticed that other reviewers have commented on the poor design of this item. Each socket has a cover. Unfortunately when you plug in a typical modern moulded plug the moulding overlaps the flap on the adjacent socket and prevents you using it.

In a nutshell, we could only use 2 of the 3 sockets at a time unless you decide to snap the covers off. It would be such a simple thing to orientate the flaps more sensibly.

The more I write the more I'm inclined to give it 2 stars! The frustration it caused on holiday is coming back to me!

I've noticed that the covers on the Maypole version are arranged the other way.
review image
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2017
The item did not work on the first use. Luckily the campsite owner said that we get a lot of these from this manufacturer that don't work; let's open it up and see what the problem is. Sure enough one of the mains wires was floating about in mid air. I put it back in the connector, tightened the screw, and hey presto all fine.
For those interested, the unit consists or an RCD, a separate breaker, 3 UK sockets and some loose wires to join them up.
The unit is far bulkier than expected and I suspect the plastic would probably crack if dropped from a small height onto concrete, i.e. wrong type of plastic used.
This is all my fault for leaving it to the last minute and buying on-line with one day delivery rather than go to a camping shop and inspecting the product - I would never have bought this had I seen it up close.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 February 2017
Item arrived well packaged and fast.

We changed from a touring caravan to a large ISO standard hook-up compatible tent. We ordered this item to allow us to have some essentials like cooler box, kettle, straighteners, hair dryer etc.

We have used it for several seasons now and the item has performed flawlessly. It has taken all the loads we have thrown at it. If anything blew, it was the low rating of the caravan pitch.

The cable os long enough to reach a fair distance, and the plugs, covers and trips are well made and sturdy.

Overall I have no complains about this item. The item and bag have been of great use.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2015
Thank you to all the Amazon buyers that took the time to advise me about this item before I purchased it.

We used this during a week of (tent) camping. The covers on the unit do prevent 3 plugs being used (despite it having three sockets). We got round this by running two household multi-socket extension leads from it ... one we ran into the bedroom area (to charge phones and the tab) and one we had in the kitchen area (to use for the toaster & kettle ... both low amp versions that we didn't use at the same time). I also ran a heat pad from this. I also had an electric icebox that ran from this the entire week.

I have marked it down one star for the poor placement of the sockets and covers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2018
This sucker is BIG!! We'd bought this with a view to take it with us on a fortnights camping/touring around England, whenever the box arrived we were shocked at just how big this thing is, but after unboxing it we discovered that it fits nicely under the back/rear of the drivers seat in my car.

As for the product itself, it worked well and kept our devices charged, what more could you ask for.

Oh and the lead was super long, which came in handy for some pitches.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2015
Recently purchased for a camping holiday.
The camp site provided power by way of site sockets and we thought it would be a worthwhile investment to buy this supply unit. We weren't mistaken!
The unit is of strong build, and I have no doubts that it would stand up to a good bit of camping-basking-around.
I tested the breaker's ability on arrival, both with it's test button, and an external tester - no worries there.
While camping we had nothing happen to cause a trip, but the highest load on the unit would have been a travel kettle running the same time as a powered cooler.
The flex is superbly long and robust. The unit has a couple of options to secure it during use, such as clips to clip onto a tent pole, or a wire hanger to suspend it from a hook.
Hopefully it will stand the test of time, but I've let the family know it's there should they want to borrow it, as it is very handy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2016
Bought this for a recent camping trip and it was brilliant. Long lead means that hook-up point is easily reached without having over-stretched wires. I note that some reviews commented on the plug sockets being vertically rather than horizontally positioned, making it impossible to use all sockets at once. This has obviously been rectified by the manufacturers who have listened to the feedback. Handy, sprung socket-covers prevent water/objects from getting into the sockets. Also very sturdy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2014
I have now used this product several times and it has proved to be very reliable. The components are all of high quality, from the very visible cord to the three sockets with trip switch control.

Only downsides are that you really need to find a bag or box to store / carry it in (it is really quite heavy) and large plugs / adapters can be a little tricky, but not impossible to fit in. On the latter point, it would have been better if the sockets had been installed a further 90 degrees around. This way, the leads from each socket would not all go over each other and the flaps of the lower two sockets would not be restricted by the flaps, plugs and leads of the socket above. This is a simple design change that would make the product much easier to use - really not sure why the manufacturer didn't do this in the first place. May be a reason I am missing! However, in practice, this inconvenience has never been a problem and with nothing else on the market, I would make the same purchase again at this price, from this supplier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2016
The unit arrived tightly packed into the product box, which had to be discarded as there was no way we could fit it all back in again after use. The cable was plenty long enough. The fixings on the back of the socket unit allowed it to be attached to the kitchen storage unit, keeping everything nicely off the ground. We had problems using some of our plugs as the lid covering the sockets only lift to 90 degrees, but with a little manipulation we were able to remove the cover without damaging anything.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 42 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)