Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
270
4.1 out of 5 stars
Owl USB CM160 Electricity Monitor Compatible with Windows 10
Price:£49.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 January 2014
Keeps me knowing what I'm spending.

I was on a prepayment metre since moving in but switching to a credit metre, I do budgeting a lot as I'm out of work so need to watch all my spending. This is useful.

However it's not 5 stars as, although I'm going on a tarrif with no standing charge, at the moment I have to overestimate by the calculation in the instructions I found online, as there is no option for a standing charge. Surely the company could add a "daily charge" option.

My tariff is a set unit price that doesn't change. And as I live alone, it saves me over £67 a year on standing charges. So this will work well, however if I change to one with a standing charge.. It will show the electric charges but not standing charges which are usually 27p a day.

Would have been 5 stars if I could put a daily charge so it can estimate the real costs more accurately.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
Thanks to all who've thrown light on the mechanism employed by the device. One point - many have commented that it tends to read 'high' compared to consumption as reported by the household meter; on the assumption that the device measures current and performs the familiar 'watts = amps X volts' calculation, the device's reading can be nicely tweaked by setting the voltage parameter somewhat less than the (optimistic) 230 - mine works nicely at 220.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Works very well, Having it in my living room is very handy to see what i'm using live.
The software on pc is a bit hit and miss, takes a few attempts at closing and restarting it before it picks up the connected transmitter but got there in the end.
Overall i'm very pleased with it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
The previous model we had lasted about ten years so happy to replace with this model
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Excellent product better then earlier version
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2011
We bought this because with 4 teenagers in the house, our energy bill was spiralling out of control. We wanted to get everyone involved in trying to reduce costs and thought that this might help. Well it most certainly does! Took only 10 minutes or so to set up and could instantly see the cost of what was on in the house. We left it running for a week and carried on as usual, noticing when the monitor was particularly high (electric shower, double oven, tumble dryer). We then went around the house switching off all the TVs on standby, lights in unoccupied rooms, computers not being used etc to get the baseline cost as low as possible. As we switched things back on we watched the monitor to see which appliances made the cost jump. We've been able to work out the cost of leaving lights on or a computer all day when no-one is even in the house. After the second week we downloaded the data to the PC and bingo second week's cost was quite a bit less than the first! All the kids have been suggesting ways of reducing costs so it's been really helpful.
55 Comments| 116 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
Excellent product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2017
The software doesn't work and, despite protracted exchanges with support@theowl.zendesk.com, I have not had a satisfactory response. Windows 10 users beware!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
I'd give it 5 starts except I can't get the software to work under win7. Fortunately I'm mainly linux and found the "eagle-owl" sources from github.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 32 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)