Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
1,232
4.0 out of 5 stars
Price:£11.14+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2011
I've been plagued by fungal nail infections on both feet since I was a teenager. I was told, once in the nail the infection is systemic and that no topical medication will treat it. Unfortunately for me, the two GPs I've had have refused to treat them. The first citing possible kidney damage, the other called it a "cosmetic concern." This has lead to 15 years of athlete's foot, despite every measure I've taken, as the lightest damp has caused my nails to reinfected my feet. It's cost me a fortune over the years in hot laundry,athlete's foot creams and powders,disinfectants for the shower after every bath, frequent shoe replacements, etc.

So, when the good reviews started to appear for this product, I decided to give it a go. This was back in July.

I bought a bottle, and as I opened it, my heart sank. My nails were much more far gone than the photos in the accompanying leaflet with the big, fat, red X on it. Having spent the money, I thought I'd nothing to lose by trying it, and I'm so glad I did.

Aside from beginning with a more serious infection than recommended I followed the instructions to the letter, and then, on another recommendation on here, carried on with the first 4-week regime for another month before stepping it back to twice weekly applications.

For the first 5 weeks I saw no improvement at all, however, as yet, my feet have not become reinfected. Then, gradually, the yellow left my nails. They are now pink and thinner, though still with heavy white ridges. In fact, they now look like the photo in the accompanying leaflet with the blue tick next to them! To me, that's a vast improvement. More encouragingly, for the first time since my teens there is healthy new growth at the base of my nails. If this continues, I will have normal, healthy, toenails by this time next year.

I have high hopes, but am willing to be patient.
5858 comments| 491 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2012
I normally don't have time to write reviews, but feel compelled to do so for this product. I am quite amazed with the results I'm seeing after only 3 weeks of treatment! I've struggled with a nasty fungal nail infection on my toe for the last 5 years. I've tried 4 different medications and none of them managed to completely clear it. The reaction to this Scholl treatment is very impressive - the infected area had been consistently drying up and after filing it once a week for the last 3 weeks, it reduced already by about 60%. Although the treatment needs to continue for the next 8 months, the nail already looks nicer than at any point in the last 5 years. When applied to the nail, I feel a tingling sensation for a bit and this reassures me that the product does penetrate deep. I haven't experienced this with any other brand I tried before. I know the ultimate test will come in a while, when the infection hopefully disappears permanently, but I still give it 5 stars today, because no other product has had such a major effect so far.
33 comments| 139 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2011
after just 1 month i can clearly see a difference, well cchuffed with this one, tried a few now and this was going to be my last attempt, so thank god its working :-)
44 comments| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2011
Arrived quickly following order. Best treatment I've used so far - seems to be doing the trick but time will tell!
44 comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2011
This product seems to have worked. When I purchased it in February 2011, I had been treating an infected toenail with Loceryl prescribed by my G.P. for 9 months. This did not control the infection entirely and my G.P. admitted that a failing of Loceryl varnish is that it does not penetrate through the nail. I bought this product because it did claim to penetrate through the nail and the results with this one toenail do not contradict that claim. So I would recommend that anyone with stubborn nail infections should try this product for a month or two. The instructions say apply daily for four weeks, but I kept up daily application (but not weekly filing) for eight weeks, until the nail was completely clear and re-grown. The only let down on this product is the quality of the nail files supplied in the fancy dispenser. The nail files in the simple book that came with the Loceryl are far better. Carefully pull off the dispenser and just keep the little bottle of lotion. There would be enough lotion in the bottle to treat several infected nails. Also, unlike Loceryl, slight spillage into the surrounding skin did not cause any irritation. Thank you, Scholl. Update 2016: Over five years later, all my toenails are still clear. The nail was fully infected when I was started on Loceryl in summer 2010, but it was a relatively recent infection.
33 comments| 151 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2011
I am 2 1/2 month into treatment with this, with a mild initial infection. I have followed the treatment to the letter, not missing a day. So far I'm not seeing any change in the nail whatsoever. Keeping fingers crossed but if there is no improvement after 6 months I will give this a thumbs down and move on to something else.

Edited 7 Jan 2012
OK I'm 7 months in and it does seem to be working... Quite exciting!! You can now see the healthy nail slowly growing through. I'm now using neat Tea tree oil 6 days a week and painting this stuff on once a week. Looks like it will take a year for the infected nail to grow out completely, either that or I chop the end of my toe off!! I'm 49 and it takes longer for nails to grow if you are older.

Edited 7 June 2012
Sooo, it worked!! I now have just a couple of mm of bad nail remaining and that will grow out in a month or two. Any of these other reviews that say they can see an improvement in days or weeks is deluded. The infection has to be stopped at the nail bed before you'll really see any permanent results. That takes (many) months not weeks.
33 comments| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
I've tried ClearZal, Curanail, and Scholl (the last one seemed the best to me). But I still wasn't fixed. So after some internet research and a bit of thinking, I made a solution of 50% Listerine and 50% vinegar. I then soaked my feet for 5 hours in the bowl, making sure my toes were under the whole time (I actually did 5 hours one night and 3 the next, but I think the first night did the trick). I reckoned whatever was soaking down to the base layer of my skin would have a good amount of time to kill whatever needed killing there. Sure enough, within 24 hours I had black areas around the base of my nails (which I took for the dead fungus). Yes, my feet were blue for a bit (cue my Mum's nail polish remover, a vodka foot bath and an old toothbrush head on my leccy toothbrush). My nails are miles better, and may be totally cured (too early to be sure).

One other point I'd add, I had verrucas years back. I have a strong feeling this would have worked on them too.

And good luck with getting your feet right everyone reading this!

Update. My treatment cured it. :o)
2323 comments| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
Fungal nails require persistence (6 months) to cure I'm told. This product is well presented, easy to use properly - nice little touches like tough disposable nailfiles that you can't (easily) replace in the dispenser & inadvisedly attempt to re-use.

I've used the stuff all up now & think it has done its job - looks like it - just got to keep using athletes foot cream (bought from the poundshop) to hopefully prevent regression (daily for 3 months as advised by GP).
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
bought this @ the advice of a pharmacist..works ok..just remember to buy enough for at least 3 months..takes a while to completely get rid of nail problems..price about average..
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
For many years (15?) I didn't realise the problem with one of my big toe nails was fungal infection. I thought a blow to the nail had caused the damage. I wasn't aware of a fungus attacking nails until relatively and I then tried Scholl athletes foot cream. This gave a slight improvement, but when this was used I couldn't find any more in the shops and the nail became very much worse. The reason I bought this product was because it was claimed to penetrate the nail, which seemed to me to be essential. My infection was looking worse than the mild infections shown on the product leaflet. I have now been using the treatment for about 8 weeks and there is a vast improvement; the new lower half of the nail looks normal and the remainder has not become worse. I used the daily treatment for 5 weeks rather 4 as advised on the leaflet and am now continuing with application once or twice a week. The product is relatively expensive, but as it seems to be working it's worth it, and it comes complete with 5 effective nail files. 3.8ml may seem a small amount but the amount you need for each application is minute, even for a large toe nail. Nails grow very slowly so like all other reviewers it'll be a few more months to find the final result, but it's looking good so far!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 14 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)