Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2012
received this heater 2 days ago.

day 1. Ran the heater as a stand alone to make sure all worked well. It did.

Day 2. Installed the heater onto a wall in my conservatory. Turn to the wall mounting installation page and cross out the dimensions - they are simply wrong. Everything else is fine (finding the middle of the wall where you want the unit to go, drawing lines and so on - its just the distances which are incorrect). Perhaps I got the manual for a shorter heater.

It does look good on the wall, which is classed as a "dwarf wall" and is long from left to right but short from top to bottom - the heater looks like it was bought as part of the conservatory rather than an add-on. The power cable is only 1M long which may be a problem for some if the power outlet is some distance away.

The addition of a 24hr timer is great - went out today and came back to a nice warm room.

The heater itself is lovely, works like a charm and is silent apart from when the thermostat switches off and you get the little clicks of contracting metal. Any heater will do this, and I've tried quite a few before getting this one.

I so wish I had seen this heater a few years ago. I have now a nice collection of 1Kw, 2Kw and 3Kw heaters in my garage (both convection and fan types) but this 2Kw unit is simply brilliant.

I have a wall mounted thermostat in the conservatory and this morning it read 7.2c - I put the heater on and made myself some breakfast. 50 minutes later I returned to find the temperature at 22.3c, which I find quite warm.

The room is a 3M x 3M square, the roof peaks at 3M - so you get an idea of how much cubic capacity this little gem can heat.
As I write this, the outside static air tem is 1c whilst the conservatory is at 22.9c.

It does not heat the air rapidly like a fan assisted unit but I can say that it does the job, very well, is simple to operate, quiet and looks good when mounted on a wall.

Just wish I had discovered this a few years ago.
0Comment| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
This is the first time I have ever written a review but, like a similar reviewer, I felt compelled to share my experiences of buying the 2000 Homefront Heater. To summarise poor quality product and dreadful service!

To be fair things started off well. I bought the heater in November and was happy with the price as well as the delivery. It was a good looking product that was easy to fit and heated up the room really well. I couldn't have been happier (5 stars all round) especially in light of the price of similar products on the market.

In March the heater started to burn, evidenced through the smell as well as the glowing wires you could see through its grills. Disappointed I contacted the company who agreed to provide a refund. They arranged a courier to collect the heater which went to plan. However, form this point things really went down hill. Direct sells had my heater and my money and unfortunately a refund was not forthcoming!! I chased this up three times. I received apologies and reassurances after the first two emails and then was ignored after my thrid. I then had to involve Amazon, even then It still took a week for me to receive the refund which was minus around £7.00 for delivery. I have sent numerous emails regarding the deduction of postage and packing given that this was a faulty product. I have not received a single response. I am thinking about involving Amazon for a second time but to honest I am exhausted with the process!
Reading a couple of other reviews I think I am lucky to have received most of my money back and I wish I had taken notice of the commnets around the longevity of the product. I know my review focuses mostly on the service I received, but I am also really shocked at the quality of the product as it was such an obvious fire risk. I was lucky that I was actually sitting next to it when it started to smell, otherwise it might have caught fire.
22 comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
I am a frequent online purchaser and have never left a negative review before, however, unfortunately my experience with this seller regarding a faulty heater has compelled me to do so..

I did a lot of research before purchasing this heater.. it got great reviews so thought this was going to do the job.. how wrong I was.. Following the instructions on how to use the item, I realised the switch on the side was on the wrong way and was infact upside down.. this would not have been an issue if the heater actually gave out some heat.. it just about heated up at each end, but remained cold in the middle and very quickly the themostat would kick in and turn the heater off!! The room remained cold.

I contacted the seller... getting information regarding the return and refund of the item was difficult and frustrating.. questions I asked were avoided and not answered.. For example, I had forwarded the seller a copy of the receipt to return the faulty item and explained it had been the cheapest recorded method.. I had stated in a mail that I would expect the amount to be refunded.. the seller ignored this.

After sending numerous emails in relation to the return of the heater I then had to chase up the refund..
The seller agreed to refund the item.. but did not refund any postage until I questioned this.. the postage I initailly paid for the item to be sent to me was then refunded but not the return postage.. Again I queried this as it cost £17 to return the item.. Eventually I was advised I would not be receiving any further refund.. I received no further response to any following mails.. so having had the inconvenience of receiving a faulty item, repackaging it and having to take it to the post office I am now left without a heater and am down £17!?

No apology, no explanation of the faults found with the heater.. Where was the customer service and after sales care?? My advice would be to THINK TWICE BEFORE PURCHASING FROM THIS SELLER
44 comments| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2011
After reading many reviews before purchase, I decided to buy 3 of these heaters to heat up my new 1 bed flat (one for each room) as it doesn't have central heating. I was concerned an electric heater may not heat up the rooms well enough as a lot of reviews talk about these only really being used in conservatories etc-i can confirm that they heat up the rooms beautifully-quick and easy to install and takes almost no time to warm up. The timer's a fab feature too-our electrician even asked where we got them from as they're one of the best he's seen-wont disappoint!
11 comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
I was very pleased with the heater until, after 7 months, it sparked, 'popped' then stopped working. I emailed Direct Sales via Amazon and they offered to collect it and either repair or replace it. This could only be between Monday - Friday, 9am - 5pm. I arranged to take my day off on the Friday, waited all day, no collection. Great waste of my one day off. Now no response to emails. Would not recommend buying from this company, I.e. Direct Sales.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2010
Excellent attractive space-saving heater easy to install with the fittings provided and the instructions are easy to follow. The timer system is great being able to set it to come on and off automatically and the heat output is brilliant for such a slimline design.Economical to run as well. All in all this is a great heater for any house or flat where space is an issue. Well worth it no worries.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
This has been absolutely ideal for my Barber shop! I don't have central heating installed & was running a convector heater, an oil heater & a halogen heater in the coldest months when it was snowy earlier this year, & it was still cold! This little gem works fantastically well all on its own! The other 3 are now redundant, I use the timer for it to come on an hour before I'm due into the salon,& oooo the toasty warmness greets you!! I can't say enough good things about it. Well worth the investment as it will save loads on electric in the long run. So pleased with it!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2010
I bought this because my flat has only the one heater in the living room, so my bedroom was freezing. I'm very pleased with this purchase - it wasn't too hard to wall-mount (although the instructions weren't the most helpful I've ever seen), but it warms the place up really quickly and the timer works well and is easy to use. It's quite long but narrow and slim so doesn't take up too much space. I would recommend this.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2010
Got this to help out with the heating in my large conservatory as I find my central heating not able to heat high enough in the real cold weather. This was great to put on and straight away you can feel the diffrence . Left it for a while and the whole conservatory was very warm . I then switch it on and off as required.In the morning it is very good to boost the heat in there as well . Very light easy to move around and slim enough and light enough to pack back in the box and put in loft during the summer months. Also may fit to the wall of the conservatory as it is small enough to fit between the floor and window sill. I feel this is a good buy for the price and was thinking of getting a smaller one as well. but this is better than I thought it would be and do not require another one as think is good enough on its own.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2011
I purchased this and wall mounted it in my livingroom and this baby heats the room up very easily,This unit is on the thermostat set to around half way mark as running this at max would be just abit much for my living room which is no small room.Very light if not wall mounted for moving.Next day delivery which was impressive. I would recommend this as I am very pleased with my purchase,I also have the 1500w and the 400w units and all are very cheap to run using the thermostat.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)