Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 May 2013
This is not the cheapest powered USB 2 hub, but it is a very well made one, with a substantial 3 Amp power supply that delivers the goods even with heavy loads - a couple of USB-powered Hard Drives, for example, and the more-than-the-USB-hub-spec Raspberry Pi. Provided cables and connectors look to be of good quality.
One can use this hub to connect USB things to the Pi as well as providing adequate power, we need 2 ports for keyboard and mouse, often a third port for HDD, and the others feed a slew of other miscellaneous items such as card readers and the like.
We had it driving both the Pi, with its keyboard and mouse plus two USB-powered HDDs as a test, which it passed.
Unlike some other hubs, the power supply has the proper UK mains plug on it.
USB performance seems fine, there are 5 ports on the sides, and 2 more on the top underneath a sliding panel.
Strongly recommended.
11 Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
Ok i am gonna have to review my original review with this one as i might just have had a dud machine but the guys sent me a another hub and i tried it out with all my external drives attached to see if it was problematic. But all is good so far and it is early days. But for FYI i am gonna add their blurb as to why you need to attach the power cable on the hub because it may be the problem some other low teckkies like me may have so here is the explaination by them and it may help you guys out there:
"One possibility is that these hubs are not meant to be operated without
connection to the power supply, especially with multiple external disks. This is
because the USB port on the computer that the hub is plugged into is (by the USB
2.0 specification) only allowed to offer a maximum of 500mA of power to whatever
device is attached to it. In this case, that would be the hub. If the hub's
power source is not plugged in, then the hub uses part of that 500mA to power
itself, and offers the rest to divided among whatever devices are connected to
it. The problem happens because external drives pretty much expect the full 500mA
each, because they need it to spin up the motors that rotate the disks. When the
hub sees a demand for power greater than it can provide, it shuts down to avoid
causing problems that might happen in a device (like a head crash in a disk
because the platter was not rotating fast enough)."
so back to giving it the 4 stars only gripe is that it is a little slow but then we are on 2.0 tech here.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
I bought this hub for my Raspberry Pi, with which it works fine, but it's also a good way of having access to a few USB ports if, like me, you have a PC that lives on the floor under the desk.

The unit itself is about the size of a pack of playing cards, making it pretty compact. It has a solid feel and that, together with the little rubber feet, mean it doesn't float around once you have a few things plugged in.

In terms of its use with a Pi, it works out of the box and I get excellent reception from a wireless dongle plugged into one of the side ports. The Pi still needs its own power supply but the hub doesn't back-feed it so when you shut the Pi down the hub's USB lights go off which is helpful.

A great buy and I'd recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2016
Excellent piece of kit - 7 usb ports enough for most, the two facing up ones with a clever slide-back dust cover. No problems in use, recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Does exactly what it said on the tin. Am using it Mon to Fri every week and its easily one of the best IT products I have ever bought to help me in my job. If you need a 7 plug USP Hub, then I fully recommend this one. Great price too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
Bought it to use with a Raspberry Pi, works great. The 3A power adapter is more than enough for hard drives and anything you may want to connect to it. Very recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Saved space and all cables are neat when plugedd into the hub
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
Used every day in office been going strong over year now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
This hub is very well made, reliable too; allowing numerous usb powered devices to connect either individually or en-mass.

Its Function as a usb port is excellent its operation and transfer speeds are good, USB 2.0 data transfer speed is averaging 200mbps. It doesn't get hot either as the trust TYPE regularly did!

Unlike Some generic hubs for less than £10 this product is both useable and solid.

Ideal bit of kit that has so far proved itself as a reliable work horse.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
My monitor with a USB hub included gave up on me, and the cheap replacement had no hub. Consequently I needed a reliable hub quickly with a minimum of 6 outlets.
This does the job ideally. It's a pity the wires project in all directions, makes cable routing difficult, and uses more desk space than I expected. But I like the lights to show which ones are active.
Recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)