Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
7

on 10 June 2014
Shame it's out of print so the only way to get it is second hand. Bought several singles to top up a slightly short class set. The kids loved the book j. Good!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2016
I first read The Otterbury Incident when I was about 8 years old and was so chuffed to find it for sale on Amazon as it's been out of print for yonks. It turned up within a couple of days and is in the kind of nick I would expect. I'm even glad it's not brand new and has been read before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2013
read this many years ago, never forgot it, now my son and I read it together, now he enjoys it as well, even though some of the language in it is a bit old fashioned, but probably fits the time the story is set in.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2017
Well received in very good condition, much better than expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2017
The book arrived within a week of my order. This was excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2017
This book is a good, old fashioned yarn set just after the war. The writing is a good as you would expect from someone as illustrious as C Day Lewis. Of course it's dated now, but for me that's part of its charm.

Don't settle for anything less than this version with the Edward Ardizzone cover illustration. An unbeatable combination: a great book by a poet laureate with pictures by the best children's illustrator ever!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2003
The Otterbury Incident was a favourite book of mine as a child. But that was 30 years ago when the games the heroes played, and their freedom to roam the streets, all made sense. Life has changed so much since then that the story now seems like a historical novel, but really the key elements - adventure, friendship, and a sense of community - are still relevant today. The story can grip and affect a new generation of readers - my children - just as it affected me all that time ago.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)