Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
50
4.2 out of 5 stars
Price:£107.03+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2014
I bought two of these to go with a sideboard for our living room as we already have two pieces of the corona range and love it. I was initially really pleased with these as they look good and it didn't take too long for my boyfriend to put them together.

However if you want to actually use these as bookshelves they are useless. We put a row of books on four of the shelves and the rest were for trinkets and photos. All the shelves that had books on have all fallen down. The pegs that are put in the sides are made out of plastic and have bent and snapped under the weight. We've tried using metal pegs with it too with no luck as the wood around the peg hole gives and the pegs fall out! The shelves are also too narrow so the weight of the books goes on the very edge of the pegs.

Next time I'll save my money and spend a bit more on something from IKEA that's been tried and tested! I'm surprised hardly anyone else has had this issue!

We've currently a living room full of books with no where to put them!
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
I would have liked to have given these three and a half stars., I bought six of them and, overall, I am reasonably happy with the purchase but they take time to put together - a lot of time! This is mainly because things don't fit. The front part of the frame, which gives the unit its rigidity, is fastened to the sides and top with dowels. The dowels don't always fit the holes, even when you swap them around to try to match sizes. In some cases, they are too large for any hole and have to be trimmed down before they can be driven in; in other cases, they are too small to give a tight fit in any hole and have to be glued in. The holes in the front frame are sometimes also misaligned with the holes in the sides and top so that they are difficult, and sometimes impossible, to line up. There are eight dowels to each unit and it is not the end of the world if a couple of them have to be left out, provided that they are not adjacent to each other. In one case, however, so many were misaligned that the unit had to be sent back. The price was refunded promptly and without quibble so the customer service cannot be faulted. It is true, as other people have said, that the shelves will not support the weight of a shelfful of books. This is easily cured by screwing through from the outside of the bookcase into the sides of the shelf. Two 25mm or 30mm wood screws on each side of each shelf will do the trick and they will then support any weight you care to put on them. Drill through the indents that have been provided to take the pegs of the shelf supports and then get someone to hold the shelf in place while you screw through from the outside. I have the units in a line along one wall so the screws in the sides don't show but if you have a free-standing unit you could use the decorative circles that are supplied for the front of the unit to hide the screw heads, fixing them in place with Super-glue. The units are quite deep and stand steadily on the floor, so they don't really need to be screwed to the wall behind, although I have done so as a precaution. To sum up, at the end of the day you get what you pay for and, although these are tricky to assemble, they look, when finished, as though they cost a lot more than they did.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
These arrived within two days of order, all well packed and whatnot. My dad assembled three of them in about two and a half hours, found it very straightforward (he tells me) and I'm really pleased with the result. I didn't think they were too expensive so was a bit concerned about the quality - I needn't have worried, they are totally solid, the front finish is nice and they are lovely and deep so hold pretty much all sizes of book. Because they are quite heavy, I'd try to build them in the room they are made for, just for ease (but they are moveable so no great worry).
44 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
We already own some of the furniture in this set so when we moved and needed more stuff we wanted it to match, very sturdy, looks great very happy
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
The book case arrived promptly - it took 3 days from order to delivery. The product itself looks great, however there are some signs of poor build quality (but then again I have to keep telling myself "what do you expect for £100?"). It took about an hour for one person to set up and these are the issues I found;

1) The holes for the plastic pegs were not big enough for the pegs so we had to drill them slightly bigger
2) Once we did get the pegs in and put the shelf on, we found the holes on one side of the bookcase didn't line up with the other....queue the drill again
3) One of the shelves hadn't been cut straight so one side is only just sitting one of the pegs (had to pull the plastic peg out slightly - we'll see how it holds up)
4) The corners of the outer frame was unstuck so we had to glue these back

Other than that, it looks pretty good once its up and seems pretty sturdy. We've almost filled most of the shelves with cooking books and some small story books and they haven't fallen (yet!) although a couple of the plastic pegs have started to bend. If you are planning to store large books, consider replacing the plastic pegs with either metal ones or screw some small beams of pine to the inside of the bookcase for the shelves to sit on.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
This is a beautiful bookcase, and looks far more expensive than it is. However, the supports for each shelf are made of a flimsy plastic, and even with just a few paperbacks on each shelf (as I was loading it), they bent and failed to hold the shelf. It is a shame that such tiny pieces can undermine a product so entirely, but it simply does not function as a bookshelf with these supports! This is disappointing, but not insurmountable. I will replace these with metal supports if possible, to avoid this problem recurring.

Aside from this, I would recommend this bookshelf. The quality is good, and the details transform it from basic storage to a lovely feature piece of furniture. My friends were amazed by the price. This matches well with other furniture in the Corona range, and is easy to assemble, though much easier with two people!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
I love my new bookcase. I have other pieces of corona furniture in my living room and this matches in very well. It is actually deeper than I had expected which was a wonderful surprise. As with the rest of the corona furniture, the instructions are not fantastic but it is pretty self explanatory. A good solid feeling new home for all of my books
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
I bought this because I wanted a bookcase that would be really solid and feel like it would last a long time. I'm very pleased with this - I put it up on my own and that was fine (it would have been slightly easier with two people, but doing it alone really isn't a problem). Now that it's together I'm really happy with it. It feels very sturdy, the finish is good, and the quality of the wood is everything that I hoped it would be. All the pieces fitted perfectly, the instructions were fine, and generally I'm very pleased. Would order another one if I ever needed something similar again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
Bought three of these units in December 2014 having bought similar from other Amazon suppliers in the past. As other reviewers have said they look good and are easy to assemble, but they are let down by the flimsy plastic pegs that support the shelves. Over eight months every single shelf has collapsed causing damage to the objects below it. Extremely disappointed. An otherwise great looking product let down by the fact that it fails to accomplish it's primary purpose - what's the use of a book case that won't hold books ?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
Arrived quickly, and it took me under an hour to fit together, by myself.
Large item, very deep and holds plenty. However, three of the four shelves collapsed under the weight of my books, and the very small shelf pegs supplied are too small. I had to replace them with 4" screws. Since then, the shelves have been fine, and held.
The finish of the wood is very dry and dull, so I have used a stain/ wax polish in rustic oak to improve the look, much better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)